We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very good facilities”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Recently returned from a one week stay at the Sunstar Park. It is a very good hotel, not as far from the centre of Arosa as it at first seems and there is a hotel minibus if you need transport. We had a very large corner room and our teenagers had good sized singles. A real bonus of this hotel is the free minibar which is replenished daily.The food was very good, particularly the breakfast buffet, which had a wide selection of both hot and cold items. The hotel has many facilities, including a good sized swimming pool and a bowling alley - the bowling alley cost extra but it operated well. There are also spa facilities and some exercise classes, neither of which we used. Our one complaint is that occasionally there were meetings/events held in the bar area, which made access to the dining-room very difficult (we had to wait for a break in proceedings before we could get in). Otherwise the hotel was good.

  • Liked — Free minibar
  • Disliked — Access to the dining- room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    43
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Sunstar Park Hotel in Arosa for two weeks up to 9th March. It is a lovely hotel that catches most of the glorious sunshine of this excellent ski resort. The staff are - as one would expect in Switzerland - highly professional and welcoming. The bedroom that we were in was spacious and well equipped with a splendid south facing balcony and excellent bath accommodation. The restaurant was well laid out, tables not too close for comfort and the meals varied and always good, sometimes (as with our Italian buffet) ecellent. An extensive wine list included reasonably priced and very drinkable house wines Attentive staff ensured we were never kept waiting long and they always made one feel welcome. The swimming pool is an outstanding facility, far bigger than expected and immaculately maintained.
There is a not to be missed ski guide/teacher based in the hotel who is said to be the best teacher in Arosa and who is a delight to ski with.
Transport was the one factor that could be better, we were not met as our agent had promised on our arrival, and the bus from the hotel to the town centre is inadequate to cope with the demand, but, provided you did not have to carry your skis and boots, it was not too far to walk, even if the seven minute climb to the main road was breathless at that altitude.

  • Liked — professional taff
  • Disliked — transport
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tuggieEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

I stayed at The Sunstar this August for the sceond time, having had such a good experience here 2 years previously (booking with Kuoni both times). The location is excellent - very quiet (as it's tucked away off the main road) and with views either of the mountains or the lakes. One of my other reasons for choosing the hotel was that there was no single supplement during the summer, although this does mean haing a single room rather than sole occupancy of a double room.

On my previous visit I had paid a £50 supplement to have a "superior" room for the week, which is basically a room with a balcony, facing the mountains. That time the weather had not been good enough to use it so this time I had not paid the supplement. However, the hotel had allocated me a superior room anyway at no extra cost (maybe it was a Kuoni thing) which was marvellous this year as the weather was beautiful. The rooms had been refurbished since my last visit and although mine was small the bed was comfortable (pillow useless though) and there was a also a reasonably comfortable chair, plenty of storage space, good lighting and mirrors. There was a TV , which I didn't use much, which received BBC Prime and BBC World amongst other channels. The bathroom was great with a powerful shower and a full size bath (perfect for a soak after hiking all day). This year there was also bathrobe and slippers provided which were handy for getting down to the pool in. The complimentary minibar contained still and carbonated water, beer, juice and some other carbonated drinks. I definitely enjoyed a cold beer on the balcony after hiking but thought the brand of still water they provided tasted quite weird - I preferred the stuff from the tap. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a bit of a shame when you want that cup of tea first thing.

Breakfast was a good spread including healthy options (home baked breads and interesting cereals) as well as the usual pastries and cooked items. I would recommmend getting there earlier rather than later if you want a guarantee of croissants though. I was on a half board deal which I would recommend in the summer as there are not many independent restaurants in the village and not a great deal of evening activities. This consisted of a salad bar, a soup, a main course with choice of meat, fish or vegetarian option, then either dessert or cheese board. I found the evening meals to be of a high standard if sometimes overwhelming. If you're drinking wine by the glass I would recommend the Swiss wines on the menu as being most affordable and very pleasant. If you're not holidaying with children I would advise getting to dinner later in the evening, say 8pm, as it's quieter in the dining room. There was a large lounge outside the dining room, with a bar, and this was pleasant for sitting and reading (or whatever takes your fancy) after dinner. There was musical entertainment provided, although to be honest it was a little "bontempi" for my liking. The chap was very happy to do requests, however, and plenty of older guests seemed to enjoy it and were waltzing away on the dance floor.

I used the pool (large enough for laps) and the steam room several times as these did not cost extra. Had the weather not been as glorious as it was I probably would have paid for some treatments. The quietest time to swim for adults seemed to around 6pm as most families had gone up to dinner as early as they could. I usually had the pool to myself. There are also pleasant grounds around the hotel if you want to sit out during the day. The hotel do organise several activites each day (you receive a newsletter each evening when your bed is turned down) although I was happy to hike each day instead. All in all, I found the staff to be extremely helpful, polite and friendly - right down to rescuing my suitcase when the railway station had checked it in under the wrong flight number!

A great experience. I will certainly return for a third trip.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigs_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

My family and friends stayed at the 4* Sunstar Park and 3* Sunstar Family hotels in Davos for Christmas. The hotel was situated in the Platz area of the town 100 yards from the main shopping "promenade" The hotel's rooms were very comfortable with a free mini bar restocked daily, The Spa and well being centre together with an attractive pool based on the ground floor with the daily sunshine pouring in is to be recommended for the non skiers. Continual mini buses were provided to transport skiers to the foot of all ski area lifts and collected at set times but happy to telephone time requests. The staff were all 101% and were happy to organise anything required. Ski room with enough boot warmers for all, ski shop on site, pleasant evening lounge entertainment- piano etc. Breakfast superb, 4/5 course dinners, a la carte available, excellent wine list. The only crticism - we all missed our Roast Turkey lunch on Christmas Day ! Will return and/or frequent another Sunstar Hotel in other Swiss resorts . Flowers were sent on our return from the hotel, thanking us for staying at the Sunstar Hotels - a nice touch I thought

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank xandraSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We stayed at the Sunstar Park in the Feb half term. We were very lucky because we left it so late to book that Kuoni sent back the remainder of their room allocation and we got the rooms at a very reasonable rate.

We do like luxury hotels, but as we did not want to dress up for supper after a full day skiing this hotel seemed ideal. We lowered our expectations a little but were generally suprised as the rooms were not too bad. I liked the free mini-bar, even though I only drink water, and the bubble bath. The kids loved the rubber ducks left in the bathroom, but none of us could figure out how to use the bottom warming feature on our toilet - perhaps someone can enlighten us.

We loved the bowling alley (I normally hate bowling), and the fact that the pool was nearly always empty, even during high season.
My Lomi Lomu nui hawaiin massage was lovely, but I wasn't overly happy with completely stipping off for the male masseur, but some people might love that sort of thing.

We hired toboggans one morning which was lovely, and contrary to what another reviewer has written we found the staff at reception very good.

Our little gripes were that there was not a huge selection at breakfast - I put that down to the fact that it was a 4* and I didn't like being sat in the same place every night for supper. Beware they are not totally au-fait with the meaning of the word vegetarian!

The evening entertainment was a bit Oom Pah Pah! and the room was very smokey, so my 6 and 7 year olds refused to stay in there for more than a couple of minutes.

We found the bus service brilliant and punctual, and loved the fact that we could hire our ski stuff from the hotel shop.

You may prefer to leave it in the ABC ski school for a small fee, as it saves having to schlepp it back at the end of the day.

Finally, the hotel claimed that we had not paid in advance for our rooms, and made us pay again. When we got home we confirmed that we had in fact paid in advance, but strangely they never returned my emails or phone calls. Luckily we had paid on American Express and stopped the payment immediately. I want to go back next Feb half term, but I would like an explanation and perhaps an apology.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2006

The Sunstar Parkhotel, Arosa, provided a wonderful base for a relaxing weeks vacation. The service and staff were excellent as were the facilities and food. A small but interesting town providing a very relaxed atmosphere for the week. The ski-ing was a bit limited but ideal for beginners or nervous intermediates. If there isn,t enough steep and deep to ski then teach yourself how to snowboard for a couple of days, or learn to telemark, as the slopes are ideal.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
american in switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2006

The service at the Sunstar stinks!!! Most of the front staff at the hotel are rude, inflexible and not helpful. We will not stay at a Sunstar hotel again. It's a shame because the rooms, breakfast and facilities at the hotel are nice, but cannot make up for the poor service. For example:
- The hotel runs a complementary van service from the train station and to the lifts. We reserved the pick-up from the train station before we arrived, and we still had to wait almost a half-hour for the van.
- After skiing, the van went past us 3 times with a half-empty bus to take people to the train station. Our suggestion: Get another van for high-season or do not claim to offer the service!!!
- We had to switch rooms during our stay, and the front staff was unresponsive when we asked to be able to either check out of our first room later or to check in to the new room earlier. Considering I was not skiing and had a 5-week old to care for, this posed a difficulty.
- Roomrates now include ski passes, which are not transferable -- even to a family member sharing your room.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank baseltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.6 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#20 of 34 in Arosa
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 34 in Arosa
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#14 of 34 in Arosa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Address: Seewaldweg, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#7 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#9 Family Hotel in Arosa
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa is idyllically located on the edge of the forest, 5 minutes' walk from the village centre.. Recently extensively renovated, the building is stylish and modern. The rooms are tastefully and comfortably decorated with light-coloured wooden furniture. Those on the south side are somewhat larger, and most of them have balconies. In the inviting dining room, with its open-plan kitchen, you can eat in a very stylish setting. After an enjoyable meal, the bar, Davidoff Lounge and spacious lobby with open fire are pleasant places to round off the day. For when you need to relax and unwind, there's also the spa centre, with a large swimming pool, steam bath and sauna. If you feel like some exercise, you can choose between the fitness centre, tennis courts, sports hall, gymnastics hall and bowling alley. With 1800 hours of sunshine a year, Arosa is a dream holiday destination that is always on the sunny side. Its numerous sporting, leisure and cultural opportunities and the magnificent scenery will enhance your relaxing stay in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Park Hotel Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing