We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been this summer in Arosa and stayed 2 days in the Kulm Hotel. We had a lovely weekend. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The massage in the nice SPA area is great, the concierge service has good recommendations for hiking and dinner. We borrowed two bikes from the hotel and explored Arosa. Breakfast buffet is excellent with a lot of choices. Free wireless in the hotel room with great view to the opposite mountain from the balcony. The bed was so what from comfortable, could sleep the entire day... I can very much recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    38
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
113
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The end of an era! I used to call the Kulm in arosa the last bastion of civilization..... NO MORE! not bad, but just like anywhere else. OUT is the gala dinner, in is the Neckerman group tour. OUT is the very special civility, IN is the pool table, right where the grand piano used to be. It pained me more than I can admit to see this pace that I have known for 40 years sink into mediocracy. If I could only undo my most recent trip in April of 2013, I would have been able to believe that it all was still there. alas... No more. Please save your memories; if you used to know the old KUlm, do yourself a favor, and DO NOT go back....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarthageMcLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Cool location near foot of the hills. Close to lifts. Pleasant environment, clean rooms. Wonderful menu for lunch and dinner (vegetarians, bit difficult, but okay). Over all wonderful experience, but expensive

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chakradhara Rao U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for a Skiing holiday and took the dog she was as spoilt as us.
The food in all the restaurants was excellent, the staff helpful and a lovely resort.
We have stayed here before and every time had a good experience.
The hotel is relaxing and would recommend this hotel.
We have stayed at others in Arosa but this is undoubtedly the best.

Room Tip: We had a suite ...lots of room especially for the dog and a sunny south facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just came back from a wonderful week at the Kulm. Fantastic location - we had a south-facing room with balcony and an amazing view across a valley...we could see extreme skiers coming down an umarked track lying comfortably in our bed...Service is outstanding, the staff is extremely gracious and the management (Mr. Salamin) extremely competent and omni-present. Lovely spa with great pool and countless saunas, steam bath, kneipp parcours etc...We travelled with a three-year old, who did not want to leave the awesome (supervised) kid's club. Slopes right opposite the hotel, free ski-school for our little one...Excellent food in all restaurants (choice of more formal dining room, family-style restaurant, Thai or Stuva Kulmn across the road). Comparing it to the Tchuggen (where we also stayed a few years back), the atmosphere here seems to be more relaxed and family-minded. Can only recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Pinto_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel beginning of March 2013 and it was just perfect. The rooms are big and have a small balcony, the view is just gorgious. Service and staff are very friendly. Lifts and ski school are just across the street, the SPA is a blast. Food quality (as always in Switzerland) is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starshine8274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is our favourite mountain resort hotel. The experience of our recent stay however was somewhat tainted by the disappointing dining experience, both in terms of food and services. The new management (this is the third management team we experienced) introduced a “dine around concept” and claimed that it offers more options, we felt the contrary. While there is a different menu each evening, guests have only one other option for the main course if they don’t like what’s on the menu. Except for Friday when the main course is fish, the a-la-carte menu only offers one fish and one vegetarian dish. Further, all main courses (whether meat or fish) are served with the same side dish. I felt that the new concept is to limit the workload in the kitchen.
The service personnel in the restaurant seems untrained and dis-organised to us. Different servers asked us the same questions in numerous occasions. The worst is that many of them like to ask us questions when our mouth was full of food. Also, the servers are not familiar with the menu. They didn’t know what kind of vegetables would come with the dish, or the sort of sorbet / ice-creams available. I think this is quiet unusual for a restaurant of a five star hotel. I believe the management of the restaurant need serious improvement.

Also, we wanted to have fondue at the Piz Kulm which was advertised on their website. We were however told that the restaurant is only open when they have reservation for six guests or more. We found out from the management team that it was due to staffing constraints and hence they don’t really want to promote this restaurant. I noticed that this restaurant is not mentioned in their daily “Morning Post”. I wonder why they mention Piz Kulm at all!
The service at the bar could also be improved. The barmen seem not familiar with the drinks they offer and there were a few times when I had to show them the ingredients of a drink from the drink list.

We enjoyed the previous dining experience much more, it was more refined and elegant and more appropriate for a grand resort. That said, we continue to enjoy our experience at Ahaan Thai and Stuva Cuolm very much.

During our stay, there was a “fashion show” on one of the evenings at the bar / lounge area. We were “forced” to sit among the crowds in order to have a drink, as the Nosti-Bar was not manned. I felt that this is just another example of management trying to minimise effort, or perhaps there is really a staffing issue.

I still believe that Arosa Kulm is a comfortable resort overall. I hope that the management of the restaurant / bar will improve when we return next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
308 reviews
21.4 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 34 in Arosa
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#15 of 34 in Arosa
23 reviews
20.8 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa

Property: Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Address: Innere Poststrasse 1, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arosa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa:charming. Since 1882 - Welcome homeThe charming Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa lies 1,850 metres above sea level, surrounded by the impressive Swiss mountain landscape in Arosa, Graubunden/Grisons. In its prime location on a slight elevation in the quiet inner part of the village and with its stylish diversity, the Hotel offers a unique Alpine atmosphere and is ideal for romantic weekends, family holidays or exceptional corporate events alike. 119 Rooms and suites, six different restaurants, two bars and six function rooms are inviting places for cosy moments, interesting meetings and culinary pleasures. There is plenty of sensuality and relaxation to be found in the alpinspa, a holistic place that embodies a unique and inspiring world of water and Alpine wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosa Kulm Hotel And Alpin Spa
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing