We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable”
Review of Arosa Vetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arosa Vetter Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hospitable”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Was my second visit to Arosa and stayed for 2 nights in mid September.

Hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the train station. Excellent rooms with natural pine walls with aroma of wood when you enter the rooms. Modern lighting in the rooms and modern bathrooms. WIFI worked well in the room.

The staff is genuinely friendly and look after you well.

The restaurant had excellent food and was fairly busy. Ordered a cheese fondue the first night served with mushrooms, gherkins and onions. It was delicious and the staff recommended a nice local red wine. On the second night ordered the half board menu which was also upto the mark.

The breakfast serves locally produced cheese and meats. You can boil eggs to your liking.

Have stayed at many hotels in different resorts in Switzerland and this has been one of the better experiences.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramswiss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    26
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
64
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The hotel is close to the railway station and in a convenient location for the town, cable car and the local buses.

The room was large and just as it looks on the website. The wooden paneling on the walls made it feel like you were sleeping in a Swiss chalet and in winter I would imagine it adds a very cosy feel to the room.

The room had a balcony which ran all around the building and therefore can only be described as a shared balcony as there are no privacy dividers between the rooms. You can hear people walking on the balcony above and see & hear conversations to the side but its fine with the door shut and everyone seemed to retire to bed by 11pm.

The rooms had free Wi-Fi which worked well both inside the room and on the balcony.

Breakfast was served in a small salon. There was plenty to choose from such as breads; cereals; local cheeses etc. but only hard boiled eggs were available as hot food.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The restaurant had a very Swiss feel and was bright and airy. When booking we were offered the chance to make a reservation in the restaurant and it was apparent when we there that it’s a popular eating place for locals in Arosa, so take the offer of a reservation if it arises. Also, check out the menu on the website for a taster of what’s on offer.

The owners were very welcoming, making an effort to speak to the guests at dinner, offering tourist tips and generally making sure everyone was comfortable.

As we were staying in Summer, we received a free ticket for the cable cars, buses and train that was valid for the entire stay. A great saving compared to buying individual tickets.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Arosa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful evening in the restaurant. It's been remodelled in a very modern but still classy romantic style.

The food was superb and the owner did a great job helping us with the wine selection.

The staff is very friendly and treated us first class.

You will have to make a reservation days before during busy times in Arosa. You won't be the only ones trying to enjoy a great dinner out!

"I'll be back!"
-- Arnold Schwarzenegger

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LoveDeepSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

first let me quote that I love Arosa and travel there several times a year. I now stayed in Hotel Vetter and must say, it was one of the best experiences I have ever had in Arosa. Friendly staff, great food, modern but cosy rooms, perfect location to the ski area but also for a drink or dinner after a sunny day in the mountains. Highly recommended and value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was the first hotel on an impromtu autumn 2012 Switzerland trip, during which I wanted to see a few new places in the country. Arosa is in Eastern Switzerland, near Austrian and Italian borders, and one has to travel a bit up into the mountains to get there. The Arosa Vetter is a well situated, small 3 star with a very good restaurant, which appeared to be frequented by locals.
I was lucky enough to get a very reasonable price for one of the largest rooms, as it was between seasons, and much of the town was actually closed up. This was first two nights, so, being in the throes of jet-lag, that didn't bother me.
The room had large picture windows overlooking the mountains, a nice bed and an upgraded bathroom which featured a steam/'sauna' shower; I did not use-my hair still looked good at that point!
Everyone I encountered on staff was very freindly and helpful, and the Grisons-style food in their restaurant was as tasty as I encountered in the 5 stars I stayed at for rest of trip.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on top floor, although you pay more.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank zimmchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you go to Arosa, you must stay at this Hotel! I cannot point out enough how perfect it is in all ways! The moment you step in, as it has been newly renovated, there is a wow effect. You feel like you are in the Swiss Alps at the very best. It is so cozy! Inside the hotel, wether the restaurant or the rooms, you feel like in a modern Swiss Chalet, keeping the traditional feel of a wooden house as the walls and the floor were all wooden. We had 2 connecting rooms and everybody had their space to relax after skiing, which is nice. It is right next to the ski lift, which is very convenient. The service could not be any better, so friendly and the food was excellent too! The hotel was full as it was the week of Christmas, and we did not have the feeling of being crowded at any time, there was a great atmosphere but did not feel overwhelmed by the other guests at all. Usually, when hotels are full, it can be quite noisy, this one, only if you go to the bar around 5 pm, it might be a bit, but the moment, you step in your room, you have peace and quiet. Best of all, not even 3 minutes from the tiny very charming train station and the horse sleighs. Loved it! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is much more than you would expect in Switzerland. The friendliness and competence of the staff is amazing. I have rarely experienced such a high level of quality and familiar treatment. The rooms are newly renovated in a mix of classic wooden walls and modern flat top TV screens. There are different categories of rooms. I have beens staying in all three categories during the last two years and they are all great (different in size though). The kitchen is excellent with great food for all tastes, from vegetarian to meat eaters. I personally love the great and fairly priced wine list. The location is great for ski holidays because it is next to the ski schools and ski lifts. The ski slope ends next to the hotel.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms at the upper floors offer a great view over the lake and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danilo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.9 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.1 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#14 of 34 in Arosa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpensonne
Hotel Alpensonne
#10 of 34 in Arosa
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof Arosa
Hotel Seehof Arosa
#13 of 34 in Arosa
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosa Vetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosa Vetter Hotel

Property: Arosa Vetter Hotel
Address: Chalet Seeblick, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosa Vetter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Arosa Vetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing