We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views from the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorell Hotel Asora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Asora
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful views from the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Both during the winter season and summer season, the restaurant in this hotel provides very good food. The views over the mountains and the lower lake of Arosa is a delight to view.
The service is always very helpful and attentive so you feel that you are getting good value for money. Children and dogs are no problem and they get their own menu (perhaps only the children, the dogs only get water).
I have not stayed at the hotel but is one of the better in Arosa and belongs to the ZFV group as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
32
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Super size rooms, with very comfortable sprung beds. Central convenient but fairly quiet location. Great food, welcoming cheerful staff. Kind chef substituted light dressing/gravy for dinner as we dont like strong flavours & this was without ourrequesting it, just considerationfortheir guests tastes. Our 4th hotel in Arosa over 12 years consequetive visits but now favourite! Free use of gym and sauna, no fuss. Hotel was full week on the week we stayed and we made new European friends. Overall complete relaxation, can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms have superb south-east views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had a conference in Zurich on a Friday and decided it would be a good idea to tag on a ski weekend. Arosa was recommended by a work colleague and was brilliant for a weekend getaway. Take the train from Zurich to Chur and then change for Arosa. The whole trip takes about 2hrs 30mins. The trains are on time and spacious if you have skis etc. Don't try to avoid paying for a ticket (no barriers) as i was checked on every journey I took. Book online and print off your ticket beforehand (SBB website).

The hotel was great. Cheap compared to most places. Me and a friend had a single room each. Mine did not have a shower (had a toilet and sink0 but there are clean communal ones downstairs. The staff were very friendly and when I had to leave early Monday morning (before breakfast) they sorted me out a takeaway the night before! very kind. The place is clean, warm and has a sauna and steam room which was great after skiing all day.

The hotel is perfectly positioned - about a 5min walk from the station and ski hire/cable car. They also sell lift passes which saves you time queuing at the cable car. The ski hire shop I used was Luiz Sports which was again awesome. Reasonably priced and good quality boots and skis. The staff were very helpful. It opens at 8am and I would get there early as it gets pretty busy between 9-10am.

For skiing, the resort was perfect. This was my 5th time and I would consider myself a strong intermediate. The 5 black runs were not particularly testing (no moguls etc) but overall there were plenty of runs to enjoy over the 2 days. I wouldn’t stay there all week as you will get a bit bored. Nice places to eat and drink on the mountain and surrounding villages too.

Evenings in Arosa aren't hugely lively. There are a couple of bars and some nice restaurants which I would book the day before as they are always packed! We struggled on our first night. If you want clubbing then go to Val D'isere but for a few chilled out beers and some decent skiing for a weekend then Arosa is good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had dinner in this hotel's restaurant during our stay and had an excellent meal there with very good, friendly service which is why we took the opportunity to look at room prices and location. If we were to go again, this is where we would stay. Good location, very good value and nice people. They also have a spa!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel is right in the center of town. Maybe 100 meters from 2 ski-lifts and ice ring. Grocery stores, restaurants, and bars are all within 1-3 minute walks. The hotel itself is excellent for a 3-star and would definitely stay here again. Very clean, big rooms, very modern, good breakfast buffet.. simply no complaints. We booked this through Aldi Reisen and paid about $700 per room for a 4 night stay with breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#19 of 34 in Arosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonnenhalde
Sonnenhalde
#26 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#16 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#21 of 34 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Asora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Asora

Property: Sorell Hotel Asora
Address: Postfach 288 | 7050 Asora, Arosa 7050, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Orelli)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Asora 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by one of the most spectacular mountain landscapes in Switzerland, it's hard to tell who shines brighter in Arosa: the sun or the holiday guests in the Sorell Hotel Asora. Now that's how holidays feel! Taking a cocktail in the Orelli bar, enjoying fine dining with a glass of wine in the Orelli restaurant, or relaxing in the peace of the wellness oasis, you can let yourself go and enjoy the time to your heart's desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Asora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing