We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, outstanding food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, outstanding food”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is composed of 4 old Engadin houses connected something that gives the establishment a very special and unique touch. The rooms are rather small but very nicely decorated and functional. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect, 5 minutes from railway station and on the side of the Inn river. The real hit are however the two restaurants, in particular the Stüvas, offering local products and an amazing culinary experience. Why not 5 stars? Well, the room we stayed was just above the restaurant and suffered from the noise of the sliding door of the cuisine! Next time we will ask explicitly to avoid room 101 and increase the rating! It will be deserved!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    87
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
209
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A very lovely Swiss Hotal on the banks of a flowing river in the charming Engadina valley. There is so much to do here in summer - certainly not just a winter holiday place. The hotel is excellent, our room was a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and was wonderful given we were a family of 4.

The staff were marvellous - every one of them. From the wonderful welcome at check-in on arrival to the lunch/dinner/bar staff, we couldn't really have asked for anything more.

Food quality is excellent. Breakfast a vast assortment of freshly baked breads, croissants, fresh fruit, cold meats, smoked salmon, cereals, jams, freshly made smoothies and pressed juices as well as cooked food to order...

Dinner is also a treat with a large choice of different steak cuts, thin-base pizzas, pastas, hamburgers, salads...and all of excellent quality.

The hotel is a pleasant 2 1/2k walk along the river to St. Moritz as well as easy distance to the cable cars / trains which take you up the mountains for the many hiking trails / mountain bike routes in the area. The hotel provided us with lift-passes to use during our stay which was a wonderful added extra. The hotel also offers good advice on where to go, what to see and has a room for bike storage as well as providing an area to maintain your bikes after a good ride. There is a bike shop a short walk into Celerina for any urgent supplies.

Frankly, if you are looking for something of an active summer break close to St. Moritz then you won't go far wrong if you choose to stay here. The only "negative" point is the lack of swimming pool but there is a sauna / steam room located inside the hotel.

All in all wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Upon our arrival, the staff was very helpful. They showed us a map of the area with tips of what to do and see. The room was nice and clean. And, the breakfast was delicious. Lots of hot and cold items to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is located right by ski. It is a beautiful 5 minutes max walk. The ski is great, but expensive. The room is the best part. But staff is not flexible to answer customer demands.
The Hotel is a great deal for skiers wanting to experience St Moritz, but with a less classy staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teemu8, General Manager at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Mr. ...

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Compared to other premium Skiing Destinations in the European Alps, the value-for-money ratio at Engadin St. Moritz is absolutely fine. New in the 2012/13 winter season: Book two nights or more at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch and you can purchase a ski pass for just CHF 25.– per person/day for the duration of your stay.

Our staff usually is very flexible. Unfortunately we were not able confirm your wish of a free-of-charge early-departure for economic reasons. In this case we were not flexible to answer your demand.

We hope our tips and hints about the Engadin-Skiing paradise topped your expectations! We are glad to hear that you had great fun on the slopes.

Would be nice to have you back at our place for some more skiing soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Stutz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed out of season towards the end of October. Unfortunately the weather was bad, but the hotel on the Inn river is particularly charming. The staff both at the reception and in the breakfast room were very nice, helpful and friendly. We had a room with a balcony on the river. It also has a terrace from the breakfast room on the river. The room was small but fully furnished including a safe and satellite tv, free wi-fi on all the premises.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonbon55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Love this hotel, stay there every year in winter and hope to stay now in summer too. The location is splendid - just 5 minutes walk or a gratis bus to the slopes. Wonderful view on a small river from the windows. Comfortable two-floor rooms with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0_Shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teemu8, Manager at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear N0_Shu

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Have a great time.

Cordiels saluds

Michael Stutz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Situated in a quiet place on the Inn, lovely looking hotel in traditional and historical houses. Nice two-floor woody room. Good and pleasant restaurants. A little far from slopes by foot but direct transfer by bus and easy car parking. Lovely but expensive region.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smonnerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celerina
0.3 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
0.4 mi away
Hotelino Petit Chalet
Hotelino Petit Chalet
#4 of 9 in Celerina
52 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#2 of 5 in Samedan
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cresta Palace Hotel
Cresta Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Celerina
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food

Property: Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food
Address: Via San Gian 7, Celerina 7505, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Celerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The Hotel Chesa Rosatsch in Celerina is constantly gaining more friends, as it perfectly unites what guests love when they decide to spend vacations in the Upper Engadine. Hidden in the center of a world famous village, directly on the equally well known Inn River with an offer that leaves no wishes unanswered. As they work the hosts are mindful of the values which are highly appreciated by the guests: Authenticity and a guest-friendly ambience which amaze and create excitement. Each of the 37 rooms in the three historic houses and the ”Chesa al Flüm”, which has been added in 1996, is individually designed. Indigenous materials and love for details create a great sense of well-being. Small house – great kitchen! The restaurant “Uondas” and the restaurant “Stüvas Rosatsch” are receiving great praise from guests and reviewers alike. Home matured Engadine “madürà-meat” or surprising creations which are in accord with the principles of slow food – the choice is yours. Everything that is necessary to be all around happy. Small wellness, lounge with a fireplace and the InnBAR with smoker’s corner. An hommage to the U.S. “Speak Easy” – Bars during the prohibition of the 1920 and 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Celerina
Celerina Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing