We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cresta Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
All in One Hotel Inn Lodge(Celerina)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Saluver(Celerina)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arturo(Celerina)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Baeren(St. Moritz)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
168
36
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
36
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardvery nice hotelbreakfast buffetshort walkst moritztrain stationspasnowskiingslopesswisshairdryerswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hotel is old, charming, elegant, breakfast is very good, spa area is nice and clean. Position of the hotel is good for skiing and visiting St. Moritz by bus or train.
Hotel is expensive, but not extremely, so it is a good solution, in winter time you can come back on skies to 50 meters distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanK436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

The Cresta Palace is simply a great hotel in a great region. The old-style building is charming and full of atmosphere. The rooms are huge and well furnished. The wellness area with sauna and steam bath is what you need after a day on the snow.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We wished to ski St Moritz and chose Celerina and the Cresta Palace for our lodging. We enjoy hotels with a bit of historical and/or local character. The Cresta Palace – at over 100 years old -- fills that wish. The hotel had old school elegance with wide halls, high ceilings, three foot thick exterior walls, grand staircase, chandeliers, and classic Swiss sun room. Complementing the Cresta’s Palace heritage were modern rooms, spa, and other facilities.

Some trip advisor reports have complained that Cresta Palace staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. We found those complaints totally unfounded. Our arrival at the front desk was the first of many friendly, positive, and helpful encounters. Never did we detect any distaste for our english-only limitation. We arrived before noon and were delighted to learn that our room was ready for us to occupy. During check-in, all our questions about the neighborhood and the skiing were answered. Porters took our bags to the room and the same front desk staff member took us on a quick tour of the property and the amenities before personally bringing us to our room. We saw her several times more as we enjoyed various amenities and she remembered our name and always asked how we were doing. In a similar way, the maître d made special effort be friendly, share anecdotes from his past, and ensure that our five-course fixed menu dinner was too our liking. Elsewhere any time we pass by a staff member they said hello. If they happened to hear us speaking English, they altered their greeting to the same language. When it was time for check-out, the porter staff came to our room to collect luggage and place in storage for the day [while we went skiing]. The luggage re-appeared at the proper time along with an invitation to take it to the train station, which while not far away is up a small hill. We gladly accepted the offer.

For most of my Trip Advisor reviews, I am only able to comment on the condition of the room rented to us. With the Cresta Palace there are many finer points worthy of comment. There is live piano music in the grand room during the pre-dinner & post-dinner hours. It made for very pleasant sitting enjoyment. There was a welcome drink reception on Monday night. Each night there is a fixed menu five-course dinner with a special theme. The night we decided to partake was Swiss theme. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. The Cresta Palace has a large wellness center complete with services for hire as well as a variety of complimentary textile-free sauna rooms. The hotel provided bathrobes, slippers, and towels. The Cresta Palace along with most lodging alternatives in the St Moritz region seem to offer discounted ski passes [33% of regular price]. I suppose the price is built into what one pays for a night’s lodging. However, it’s hard to beat the convenience of charging lift tickets to your room right at the front desk. And when the day was done, we simply left our skis in the gear room and placed our boots on the heated boot racks. I’m certain there are some other fine surprises at the Cresta Palace, but the ones mentioned are all that time permitted.

Our room was spacious and delightfully furnished in modern style and convenience. There was lots of hanging close and shelf space so we did not feel like we were living out of a suitcase. There was a nice desk with granite top where we kept up on email [using tethered cell phone rather than purchased internet]. Two leather chairs, a flat panel TV, and a mini fridge completed the furniture. Our room had a pair of single beds pushed together as is often the custom. There was turn-down service each night that also included fresh towels. The floor in our room was raised about 10 cm in order to accommodate radiant heating coils in both the bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was luxuriously large with tub shower, toilet & bidet, dual sinks, hairdryer, monogrammed towels, and a variety of toiletries. Everything was modern and spotlessly clean.

The included breakfast was a buffet in grand style. There is no way for one to try all the fruits, meats, yoghurts, vegetables, breads, jellies, cheeses, etc. In addition, eggs were cooked to order and served by the waiter staff. Dinner was similarly sumptuous. It should be noted that most guests dress for dinner.

It’s difficult to find fault with Cresta Palace. And it was impossible to find serious fault with Cresta Palace. About all we noticed was a small drip from one sink drain, towels could have been plusher, one morning the over-easy eggs we ordered came out scrambled. If items of this nature cause one concern …. well maybe it’s best they stay at home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The Cresta Palace is an old time resort hotel that has been updated to accommodate modern expectations. The rooms overlooking the mountain frequently see but never here the Swiss narrow gauge trains. Across the street is a huge outdoor ice complex for figure skating, hockey, and curling. The hotel is within walking distance of the Olympic bobsled run that hosts frequent events.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We just returned from a one week ski trip to St. Moritz with our two children, ages 6 and 8. We stayed in the Cresta Palace for a week as part of a Family Ski promotion from the Engadin Valley (St. Moritz) tourist association. We were upgraded upon arrival into a two room suite which was perfect for our family. We found all the staff to be extremely friendly (we were the only Americans there the entire week), from the front desk, to the general managers, to the dining room staff, and also the pool/spa staff. Breakfast was included in our package, and was delicious, with a huge fresh selection. Did not feel insitutional at all, with excellent local cheeses and other foods. Located a short walk from the Celerina gondola, with a great ski storage room, and also a short walk to the train station. The pool was very welcoming of our children, and there was also a great game room for them. And the huge lounge, which served tea, as well as the cigar room, were fabulous. A great find in a great location. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWSFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews