We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Expensive and basic”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is essentially a backpacker type hotel, which are very common in Switzerland. This obviously catered for skiers mainly because of the location. The family room was large, on two levels but basic. The breakfast was somewhat limited in comparison to other hotels that we stayed in, in Switzerland. The dinners were expensive, if you strayed from the set evening menu. Note however that all restaurants in the area are very expensive. Parking was included in the price, if I recall correctly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Basic but spacious, clean and comfortable room with en-suite. Very good buffet breakfast. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, delivering good service. Convenient location: about 6 min walk from train station and a five minute train ride from St Moritz. Recommendable and we will stay there again. One of the more 'affordable' hotels in a very expensive region.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_lover350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night Mid May, Off Season but hotel busy. We used this hotel as an overnight stop after travelling on the Glacier Express. Found it clean, comfortable and convenient for Celarina Train Station (10 min walk) and much better value than hotels in St Moritz. Evening meal in the hotel was good and reasonably priced ( there appeared to be nowhere else open to eat in the town). Breakfast included was self serve and adequate with a good range (cooked food extra). The hotel was used by local contractor workers at this time but this was no problem and you could eat in a separate area if you wanted. Our room was a good size, on the top floor and comfortable with tv , Table & Chairs ,Wardrobes , bathroom with shower. Lift to all floors and unique shaped bar. We would recommend this hotel as value in an expensive area.

Room Tip: Recommend top floor for views and quiet, use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pros:
This hotel has a very good location just a couple miles outside of St. Moritz, in a town called Celerina. It appears to be very new and the rooms were nicely appointed and modern. It was very clean, comfortable beds, and had a large bathroom and large closets. There was also a table and two chairs in the room. There is a restaurant, and breakfast is included in the cost. Parking is 6 CHF per night and is in an adjacent covered parking garage. Our rate was 134 CHF (at the time of our visit, the exchange rate was poor: 1 CHF = 0.87 USD). The staff was very friendly and spoke English well. There is free wi-fi in the common areas, and computer use (if you don’t have your own) is available at 10 CHF per hour. The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced by Swiss standards. There is an elevator to all floors. There was a sauna in the basement (we did not use) and an area for ski and bike storage.
Cons:
There was no mirror outside of the bathroom and no plug in socket in the bathroom. The bathroom did have a wired in hairdryer.
Recommendation:
I would definitely recommend this hotel – for the pricey St. Moritz area, it seemed reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizkitnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We arrived at this hotel after traveling all day on the “Glaciers Express” from Zermatt, through some of the most beautiful country in the world.
We were shown to our room by staff that were reasonably pleasant although a bit off hand. Our room was fairly small but had the most incredible views, all from the bathroom window. The room was very clean, the same can be said of the ensuite and the beds reasonably comfortable. The room was a little noisy at nights as there is no air-conditioning and opening the windows to let in a little cool air invites late-night revelers. As Celerina is a skiing town there is a lot of building construction going on in the summer months without the snow, and our hotel seemed to take a large number of the workers overnight.
This was obvious at breakfast time with a number in attendance. The food was unadverturous but adequate for our needs.
The location of the hotel is very pleasant on a hill overlooking a typical alpine valley, and the cost of staying here was fairly reasonable, afterall you are in Switzerland and because of this a stay in St Moritz two kilometers away was completely out of the question. The hotel is within walking distance of St Moritz which we did taking some 45 minutes. The train station is some ten minutes away by foot and the trains run on a very regular basis.
We stayed here three nights and each night we had dinner here as well because the prices charged in restaurants in the area are prohibitive, as was the WIFI which was the most expensive in Europe and in Zermatt WIFI was free, it was hard to believe.
I would recommend a stay here if you are in the area as anywhere else is very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eberbach96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was really disapointed about this hotel. It costed 130 CHF, and was by far the most expensive hotel of my holidays through whole Switzerland, but also the WORST!!
for this money you expect more than what you're getting!
The room didn't smell nice, the whole hotel didn't smell nice in a way. And the room wasn't really clean, eap. the shower. Towels only get changed 2x a week.
And at breakfast you'll find the local streetworkers having breakfast with you too, before going to work in a small van all together... It's a kid friendly hotel, but when you're without kids it's really noisy inbetween all the families...not my cup of tea.
The location is the only thing good about this place, close to the trainstation.
Would definitely don't recommend to go here, no value for your money!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotterdamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Celerina hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Stayed at this hotel in Celerina since staying in St. Moritz was a "little" out of our price range....Hotel was a max 10 min. walk from the train station. Friendly tourist info desk at train station directed us right to the hotel. Got to the hoteland made an easy check-in. Hotel has a quirky down the up staircase to an elevator
kind of access to the rooms. Room was pretty spartan but cozy enough for a 2 night stay. No ammenities in the bathroom so if you don't like washing your hair with the same soap dispenser you use for you body it should be ok. Oh, ops, hair dryer included. Since it was -14C outside was looking forward to nice hot breakfast...didn't happen. Buffet style restaurant. It seemed that the hotel also doubles as a walk in self serve restaurant too. One side for guests the other for others. Breakfast included various sliced meats, a couple cheeses, canned fruits, yogurt, breads.. the only hot thing offered was the tea/coffee,cocoa. They had a juice machine but that wasn't working...
There is a sauna a small gym "available" but you have to pay to get in. I thought that was very cheesy.

Overall the hotel was ok but low on ammenities.

  • Liked — Close to rail station
  • Disliked — No gratis access to sauna/gym
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauikeiki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celerina hotels
0.2 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotelino Petit Chalet
Hotelino Petit Chalet
#4 of 9 in Celerina
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arturo
Hotel Arturo
#9 of 9 in Celerina
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saluver
Hotel Saluver
#6 of 9 in Celerina
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cresta Palace Hotel
Cresta Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Celerina
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Via Maistra 60 | 7505 Celerina, Celerina 7505, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Celerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing