We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Stern
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights whilst doing independent train travel. Less than 10 minutes walk from station on edge of old town. A very comfortable old world hotel, lots of wood and beams. Had an attic-type room with low beams that might not suit everyone but we loved it. Breakfast excellent. Pleasant helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank yorkshirelass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed with a tour group. We were made very welcome and were well looked after. Reception staff were always polite and helpful and the dining room staff worked very hard. The group had the use of a bar and a meeting area. The meals were good and my room was quiet and comfortable. The hotel was well placed for the rail station and for exploring the city.

Room Tip: My single room opened onto a flat roof where I could enjoy a little time on my own and catch the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here (February 21st-2014) for the third time on our way to Flims. We were a bit disappointed about the room we got this time, as it was not according to the standards you would expect when booking 'Romantic Accommodation'. It was looking out on the inner courtyard and was most likely used for visiting tour conductor or tour driver staff, instead for paying guests.
However, the service at the reception and the restaurant is outstanding and we concluded that we - this time - had bad luck with the allocated room. Next time we will be more assertive and ask for a change.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianChur, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Many thanks for your Feedback and my apology for obviously a less fortunate room allocation. Please do le me know of your next visit while passing through Chur - it would be my pleasure to personally ensure a very Special welcome back to the Stern,
best regards,
Adrian.mueller@stern-chur.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here with Great Rail Tour. Such a beautiful hotel with lots of character. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. Had a lovely room on the second floor so very clean. A ten minute walk to the station in a delightful town of Chur. Could so easily return again in the future.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the lowest floor because my partner will not go in a lift. ( I ticked swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights here as part of a Great Rail Tour. A bit of a trek from the station but worth the effort - if you come as an individual traveller you can ask to be collected in their splendid 1933 Buick!
A great deal of wood in the building, so it creaks gently - nice and quiet with a comfortable bed. We were well fed and the hotel restaurant next door is excellent and offers some tasty local specialities. Handy for the old part of Chur - all in all, a very welcoming and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageurAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stopped here for a short while whilst on a Glacier Express Trip with Great Rail Journeys. The room was fine although there was the occasional groan and creak from the panelled ceiling. This was, of course inevitable, and didn't present a problem. The food was wholesome and of good quality, although I have no idea how they manage to keep the breakfast soft boiled eggs soft in their sand bed!
The evening meals were also good and served by smiling efficient staff. We enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianChur, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks Dave for staying with us and your Feedback - as for the eggs.... it shall remain our secret ! Best regards from the Stern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing "romantic" in the room (224) we were given; it hasn't been renovated for at least 30 years except for very minor details such as a flat screen TV which was too small and set slightly askew!
The bed is placed on the wrong wall and my wife had the bottom of the curtains over her head, but of course if the bed had been placed on the other wall, a much larger TV would be required... Only two TV channels were in French, FR2 was shown on the list but was nowhere.
The main lighting was terrible and dazzling when in the bed; the two bedside lamps must be 40 years old.
The bathroom needs a total refurbishing, it is too small and a shower would be better than an old bathtub that takes up too much space.
It is a pity, since the first impression you get rom the entrance hall is very good.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you have been given before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saigaetmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianChur, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your observations. We are continously working on upgrading our Hotel and will soon habe adressed some of your highlighted concerns. For one I am happy to announce, that as of yesterday 17th of march Internet W-LAN is offered for free throughout the Hotel.
Best regards,
Adrian K. Mueller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#2 of 13 in Chur
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
0.2 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
321 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige
Hotel Drei Konige
#9 of 13 in Chur
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
City West Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Stern

Address: Reichsgasse 11, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range: £142 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and thank you for your interest in our Romantic Hotel Stern. We would like to take you on a tour, so you can experience living history as a guest. Discover our house and let yourself be inspired to come and stay with us. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Chur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing