We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old hotel with upto date fittings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambiente Hotel Freieck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel with upto date fittings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Good size attractive bedroom and bathroom. Comfortable bed and modern fittings. In November the hotel was kept at a very comfortable temperature. Excellent breakfast especially freshly baked rolls and croissants.All the staff we encountered were very welcoming. Chur is a very nice town to stay in, with lots of pedestranised roads with good shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank compassreaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    134
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
134
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The location is good and our room was spacious with a great bathroom and shower.
I have to agree with a previous reviewer in mentioning the attitude of the staff - in particular the bar staff - who were less than friendly. The director, on the other hand, was hospitable and professional.
Buffet breakfasts were good and evening meals fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having spent 3 nights in this hotel I can't believe the reviews that I have read to date. The only positive is the breakfast which is fine and location to old town. I found the staff to be miserable and unhelpful. It was as if they were doing us a favour by staying there. The rooms are as basic as a Travelodge, bare walls and almost open plan bathroom.
We had 2 evening meals as we were on a Great Railways holiday and both were very average.
On top of this, although the checkout time was given as 11.00am, we had a phone call at 10.45am asking us to checkout.
If you have any experience of decent hotels, give this one a miss.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th0mas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with Great Rail Journeys as part of a tour. Very good location in old town a short walk from station. This is a family owned and run hotel, the staff are very helpful. Good buffet breakfast and the two set evening meals we had were very good. Drinks in bar reasonable prices by Swiss standards. Free wi fi in reception and bed room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were here for only one night, but a really nice hotel. Huge room and the largest TV of any hotel we stayed at during our 11 nights in Europe. Great staff, excellent location in the old city and very charming place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WVUFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Located in the old town, it takes about 10 minutes walk to the train station. Yet with heavy luggages, taking a taxi is still necessary. It cost CHF 8 from the train station to the hotel. Quiet, spacious room with nice decor, good breakfast. Close to the major attractions in the city. It is a very good choice for the city of Chur.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the perfect little hotel to stay when visiting Chur. It is in old town but within a 10 min walk to the train station. You are surrounded by charming little restaurants, and historical sites down cobble stone streets. The rooms are newly refurbished with everything you need including ample closets, the most comfortable bed and bedding and if you ask for a view of the old church steeple you will be thrilled. (No coffee or tea in the room but this is par for Switzerland). Do not miss the breakfast buffet..it is without a doubt the best of any served anywhere. The staff is very friendly, eager to please and English speaking. I highly recommend this jewel.

Room Tip: Though I did not check out the other rooms the 4th floor with a steeple view cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
1.0 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#4 of 13 in Chur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Stern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige
Hotel Drei Konige
#9 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chur
Hotel Chur
#7 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiente Hotel Freieck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Hotel Freieck

Property: Ambiente Hotel Freieck
Address: Reichsgasse 44, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambiente Hotel Freieck 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambiente Hotel Freieck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Freieck
Minotel Chur
Minotel Hotel Chur
Chur Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing