We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum alten Zollhaus

Zum alten Zollhaus
Ranked #14 of 106 Restaurants in Chur
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had a great dinner with my girlfriend there. the service was excenllent. We had to wait a little for our reserved table, therefore we got a free apéro down at the cosy bar.

the restaurant has a very nice ambiente. Traditional "Bündner Stube".

The meals are delicous and the servings are sumptuous. The price is a little high but you get the right value for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere but there are three!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I am surprised that some of the previous reviews have been poor. Based on TA reviews I would not have gone but went on the recommendation of a local and really enjoyed it. It is possible that there is confusion over which of the three restaurants is actually the Zollhaus. The problem is that under this name there are 3 restaurants: one Thai (the Mandarin), one Italian (Verdi) and one local (Bundnerstube). I wanted the Bundnerstube and it took a while to find the right door! Personally I think it is a mistake to bundle these three restaurants under the single "Zollhaus" name. Once inside the atmosphere was great, the service good and almost entertaining. I was served by two ladies, one elegant, helpful and speaking English to help my lack of French or German. The other was brusque and seemed at first to be quite blunt and over-keen to get my plate on the table but we both got a smile later with a chance to exchange a few words. The waitress suggested I start with a local starter whose name I forget but seemed to consist of green pasta, leaves, cheese and local dried beef. Delicious! The food was very tasty and plentiful and I left very satisfied. I would go there again without hesitation. On price, I learnt by this time that food in Switzerland is almost twice the price of the UK. It is very expensive eating out, so my value scores relate to this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A ok/good place to sit on the balcony and have dinner/wine/beer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Its a beautifull view from the balcony over the mountain of the back of Chur.
The food is ok, a steak with some greens, sauce and fries. A bottel of swiss wine, two icecreams, dinner and two beer 120e.
It could be better, but go anyway :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“May be the best in Graubünden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The whole canton of Graubünden is very touristic, and they know how to receive.
You think you will find the best restaurant in St Moritz or Davos or eslewhere, but Chur has a fantastic address! It's a place we definitely appreciate "zum Alten Zollhaus".
We took the "flambiertes Spiessli" and this was high cuisine on top of the art.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Poor food, weak service and high prices : stay away from this restaurant, there're much better places to go in Chur !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoElyMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum alten Zollhaus also viewed

Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Zum alten Zollhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing