We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in historical Chur”
Review of Hotel Drei Konige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Drei Konige
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Reviewed 19 March 2014

On our way from Como to Zurich I wanted my friends to experience the history and tradition of Chur and this hotel was in the perfect location for a walk through the old town and yet close to plenty of good shops.

Room Tip: Rooms were a bit basic but this was easily compensated for by the friendly staff and excellent locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paluski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have stayed here before and my opinion still remains the same that it is a good quality hotel in a well positioned part of the old town with easy access to the bus and rail stations. Plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. My room was a double for single use: no view out of the window but the room itself was clean, light and airy with some nice furniture including two small armchairs, a desk and a full length mirror. The bathroom was small but functional, the bed was comfy and the duvet not too warm: the room was centrally heated. The main drawback for those with more than just a small suitcase is the fact that the reception is on the first floor with quite a few stairs up and no lift till you get there. The hotel restaurant was good but of course Swiss prices and the breakfasts were fine.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, great breakfast and restaurant. Crapy internet. Really close to everything and short walk from train station. We only speak English and the staff was very Friendly and helpful, and they did speak a little English which was very helpful. There are a lot of local shops near by which has made the stay fun.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cbre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very good position in the centre of the old city. Nice staff, our double room was average size on the fourth floor with a Nice view on the mountains. Clean but no shampoo and very little -poor quality- soap/shower gel. Bathroom was very spacious. Nice big free breakfast. Free public parking during the night but no reservation allowed and you have to pay during the day (except on sunday). Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillPoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is well-located, in the middle of Chur and no more than 10 minutes' walk from the railway station. The staff are very friendly. The WiFi is free and reliable. Unfortunately, these are the only positive things I can say about this dreadful hotel.

The hotel is old and gloomy, and desperately in need of refurbishment. The walls are paper-thin, and it's possible to hear everything that goes on in the neighbouring rooms. You can hear your neighbours' conversations, you can tell which television channel they're watching, you can hear them walk about the room on the creaky floorboards, you can hear them trying to get the key in the lock when they come in late, you can hear them having sex. (And, of course, that means they can hear you, too). If your neighbour has booked a 5am alarm call then you will be woken up at that time too. The windows are old and the noise from the street can be considerable late into the night.

I had booked a room without private bathroom, as this had worked well at other hotels in Switzerland. However, at this hotel it was a mistake. Just one tiny shower room for the entire floor, a long way from my room, with no shower gel or shampoo.

On the night I stayed there was a large tour group staying for one night before taking the Bernina Express the following morning. They were extremely noisy in the corridors, showing no consideration for other guests. At breakfast they almost completely occupied the restaurant, meaning that there were very long lines for coffee, juice and the buffet. Other guests had to share tables: as it turned out, I shared my table with a very pleasant Canadian couple, but I would have preferred not to have to share a table at all.

The hotel was very cheap but I would not stay here again if it were free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped here for one night on a journey from Italy back to the UK. Arrived late at night - guy at reception was friendly and helpful. Hotel is a littel tired / old in the common parts - but room wasOK.Good, central location. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't forget to order the parking voucher at reception if you leave your car parked on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

There's no slopes or lifts to the reception but the receptionist was helpful to carry the luggages up the stairs for me. The lift to the rooms were too small & the room was facing the staircase which was strange. Breakfast was good and filling. Overall was an okay stay except for the facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhi X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#2 of 13 in Chur
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Stern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chur
Hotel Chur
#8 of 13 in Chur
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Konige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Konige

Address: Reichsgasse 18, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Drei Konige 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drei Konige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Konige Hotel
Drei Konige Chur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing