We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home....”
Review of Hotel Casanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casanna
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A very good stay in davos. Place is very clean and well maintained. I love the views from the room. Breakfast was nice and tasty. Staffs were friendly and helpful. It's like a home away from home.... :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Syamil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the Casanna hotel in Davos based on the Trip Advisor's reviews--and we were not disappointed. The rooms are snug but very well appointed--new fixtures and a shower with a bath. The rest of the hotel is charming, bright, and very clean. The staff are excellent--very helpful and they speak English well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Having just stayed in the Casanna I can not express how impressed with both the hotel and its proprietor I am. We were greeted with a very warm welcome in what is a charming hotel. Staying in one superior double and one superior single room both were very well appointed, clean and with a lovely view and balcony. The covered car parking was an excellent option (and free). Breakfast was a good spread of cheeses, meats, cereals, breads, fruits and juices which were all (I tried them) excellent.
As for location you are about midway between Parsenn and Jakobshorn; the bus stop is just 1 - 2 mins walk (in full ski gear) from the hotel so it's in an ideal location if you like a bit of variety in your snow sport. It is old quite handy for bars and restaurants (about a 10 min walk to the main area). The hotel itself though is in a quite area and so a good nights sleep is easy to have.
All-in-all this is an excellent hotel and I would go back there again (and will go back) every time I go to Davos.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

it is a bit of a hunt to find this treasure but it s well worth it....the hotel casanna is a real gem...in fact my wife and i really could hardly believe it was for real.....and like brigadoon it would all just turn out to be a mirage.....we were there for one night as we went to the max raabe concert in the concert hall which was nearby.......hopefully we will return for a much longer stay next time.....as soon as we entered this hotel we knew we would be satisfied and the most friendly welcome confirmed this..a very traditional swiss mountain hotel...everywhere spotlessly clean...we had a super room with lovely view.....it had a large balcony where we sat out and enjoyed a leisurely g and t.......the room was blissfully quiet...'installations sanitaires' were excellent.......we enjoyed the tv with its wide selection of channels.....the bed was very comfortable indeed ....breakfast was splendid.....a wide variety of goodies in the buffet....a major advantage of the hotel is its parking...part of which is covered...and at no extra charge....although we were there in august it was clear that this would be the ideal hotel for a ski holiday.....all in all a real treasure of a hotel!

Room Tip: a 'room with a view' is advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Casanna for a week with my father and brother and what a fantastic week it was :)

I stayed in a twin room with my brother and the beds were extremely comfortable and the room spacious and clean. The food was second to none - a great choice of continental breakfast and a 5 course meal every evening.....we certainly didn't need to buy lunch out, even though we did a great deal of walking!

The hotel owner, Philippe, was such a great help. Extremely pleasant and always around to wish you a good day and to make sure that everything is okay....he even passed us on a walk out that he had suggested! He has lived in Davos since he was small so he can recommend lots to do and he speaks about four languages, which was great as I don't speak any German!

I don't know if this is an all year round deal, but we got a travelcard in with the price of our room which covers all the cable cars and buses and the train route between Klosters and Filisur.

Fantastic hotel, excellent service and what a beautiful location. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Davos!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stay here when we come for the January conference and it's the best kept secret in town. It is three minutes from the Congress Center, the staff is lovely and the rooms --although small--are well heated and have pretty much everything you need (lashings of hot water, well functioning radiators, comfy duvets, bedside lamps, enough electrical outlets, speedy wifi and a chest of drawers for clothes). The breakfasts are Swiss which means lots of good breadsm cheeses and ham and yogurt and the dining room has a view of the mountains. We love sitting there with the paper and a cappucino. Also conveniently located for various shops and cafes. This is a fine example of a simple Northern European three-star hotel. And those are among the best mid-priced deals in the world. My only tip is to bring an eye mask if you need a really dark room to sleep in.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Just returned from a conference at Davos, Switzerland during which we stayed at the Hotel Casanna.

My stay was absolutely lovely. The room was tastefully furnished with a splendid view of the ski slopes. I was most impressed by the hospitality and the friendliness of all staff at the hotel. Every effort was made to cater to our needs and queries.

The breakfast was hearty ( loved the ham) and dinner was excellent in presentation and taste.

Definitely value for money..

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JSBKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.2 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
84 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
177 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casanna

Address: Alteinstrasse 6, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range: £195 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casanna 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casanna hotel is a small and individual 3-star hotel with 26 rooms. The owner, Philippe Rusch, runs the nice boutique hotel with deep passion and truthful gentleness. The guests enjoy a comfortable ambiance, a nice restaurant with local cusine and the central but quiet location of the hotel. The congress center, a public indoor pool, many sports facilities and the stop of the public bus are just around the corner. Wi-Fi internet and covered parking spaces are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing