We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet old, but good atmoshpere”
Review of Chalet-Hotel Larix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet-Hotel Larix
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've stayed there for just one night! A family hotel a little outside the centre, but within walking distance! The rooms are quiet small, and the building quiet old. But the bed really comfortable and the bathroom pretty nice! Booked it with breakfast! Good service with great coffee and service was excellent! Good price for the location! It is really quiet at night, had a good sleep!
Overall 7 out of 10!

Room Tip: No matter to which side you'll book your room! It's always really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kloisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Hotellarix, Manager at Chalet-Hotel Larix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Kloisli

Thank you so much for your Rating. I am happy that you enjoyed a good sleep. We are investing every year to make this beautiful old Chalet as comfortable and modern as it gets.

Would be great to welcome you again.

Best Wishes, Tamara Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

From the outside, the hotel looks quite charming. Unfortunately, it is not. When I arrived at 21:00, no one was at the reception and I had to look for the people in the bar, where they were chatting and doing everything else than paying attention to customers. Kitchen was already closed at 21:00 which is far too early for a "Guilde restaurant". They forgot to gave my the pass for public transport. The room had a horrible mix of old and modern furniture, there is no Minibar. Wellness area is only open at request (what is a joke as you often decide spontaneously). Breakfast buffet is poor, there are no Gipfeli and it is not filled up, when empty. At saturday, they closed the hotel bar at nine, althoug it was written at the internet, that it would be open until the last guest leaves. To close the bar at nine on a saturday is a no-go and not customer friendly at all. TV programms are not set up correctly. There is only one small towel in the bathroom and no real shampoo or conditioner. It is not worth the money, although cheap for Davos, you better pay more but feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zonkeydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Hotellarix, Manager at Chalet-Hotel Larix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Zonkeydonkey

Thanks for your reply. I am sorry, that you felt that way. Sometimes there is not everything going the way it should... but we are all humans and where People work, there are mistakes Happening.

If you would have told us directly we could have solved the Problems.

Best wishes,
Tamara Henderson, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Larix is warm and comfortable but the welcome is rather chilly. The rooms are pleasant although our bathroom was dated and equipment rather shabby. The owners are polite and helpful but there's something slightly, and rather charmingly, Fawlty about them.
Recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Hotellarix, Manager at Chalet-Hotel Larix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Charlie

Thank you so much for your good Rating.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to welcome you again in DAVOS.

Kind regards,
Tamara Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We booked a studio and were delighted to be given a one bedroom apartment for the week we stayed there. The kitchen was well equipped, although a microwave would have been useful. The dining room and lounge were comfortable and well furnished. The bedroom had a very comfortable superking sized bed and loads of wardrobes and storage space. The bathroom was very clean and there were lots of toilet rolls and towels. Everything was very clean. Free w-fi worked very well. The views from the window were beautiful.

It was a half a minute walk to the hotel and we were hoping to eat in the restaurant for some of the evenings but it was beginning of the low season so the restaurant was closed for evening meals.It would have been nicer to have known this in advance though. However, it was easy to walk a few minutes to nearby restaurants or to the bus stop to go closer to the centre of Davos.

The daughter of the owners was always very helpful and very friendly. We would definitely return to this hotel again for a walking holiday, but I'm not sure that I would want to use it for a skiing holiday as it is a good five minute walk down the hill to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Hotellarix, Manager at Chalet-Hotel Larix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Pat

Thank you soo much for you great Feedback. It is nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to welcome you again in our Hotel or Apartments.

Kind regards,
Tamara Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great little hotel. Walking distance (or easy free bus trip) to conference centre. Great food and hospitality. Food and wines superb. Warm and cosy rooms.

Would be excellent choice for family or couples ski break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have great views of the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalet-Hotellarix, Manager at Chalet-Hotel Larix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Sue

Thank you very much for your mail and your great Feedback.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed staying in our Hotel and it would be great welcoming you again!

Best wishes,
Tamara Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I spent four days in Davos with my wife in this small hotel we booked through Booking.com saving 100 € compared to direct booking
The hotel is nice, family owned and the ratio quality /price is very good taking into account the high level of price in this town. It's located few hundreds meters from the Promenade.
There is a fast free wireless.

Breakfast is probably a little bit poor since there are very few sweeties (no cakes, no croissants) but anyway sufficient.

Our room was very clean with a nice balcony and with a wonderful view
Service is very kind and we had no issues.

We paid with credit card without any problem.
there is also a wellness area we didn't use
ciao

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luglio3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Larix is a quaint, family-run hotel fitted in the typical Swiss style. The room was affordable (by Davos standards) and we were thrilled to be able to secure a room at the last minute.

The hotel is cute as a button from the outside, a bit dated on the inside. Clean, comfortable rooms which served their purpose for an impromptu trip.

It is a bit of a walk from the town and main train station, especially with ski gear. Rides to and from the train station were not offered (some hotels in Switzerland do this), but we did receive a free pass to use the bus system throughout Davos, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was a more sizeable spread than most Swiss hotels, and had the usual fare of cheese, muesli, cured meats, bread, yogurt, and juices.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutofRange331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.5 mi away
Morosani Schweizerhof Davos
1.9 mi away
Rixos Fluela Davos
Rixos Fluela Davos
#32 of 56 in Davos
61 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
3.5 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Larix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Larix

Address: Obere Albertistrasse 9, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range: £90 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Hotel Larix 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only Chalet-Hotel in Davos. Free Wifi, cosy lobby with fireplace, our bar, our winter garden restaurant and a small wellness area in a fabulous and familiar atmosphere next to the city center are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Larix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing