We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For your winter endeavors....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Sporthotel Davos
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“For your winter endeavors....”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A friend recommended the Central Sports Hotel for lodging while skiing in Davos. There were three of us total, and overall we were very pleased with the apartment that we rented, so I will not comment on the hotel portion.

Checking in: the hostess was pleasant and patient, and she took the time to explain everything to us, to include tips on getting around to the various ski areas. We were also given a free bus pass to facilitate our travel around Davos. The bus stops are a 3-4 minute walk from the apartments. This bus pass gives you discounts on various endeavors as well. For example my wife purchased a Jacobshorn 1- day pass (non-skiing) and saved 20% off the price.

Location: we not only skied, but went ice skating outdoors, and also watched the Hockey Club Davos play Lausanne at the incredible Vaillant Arena, all within a 7 minute walk from our apartment. You could also walk to Jacobshorn ski area from here, but we opted to ride the bus (2 stops).

Gym/Sauna/Steam Room/Pool: while I did not try the gym, I soaked myself in one of the 2 saunas after a long day skiing. After the sauna I swam in the pool. Another reviewer commented that the pool was not heated, I can tell you that it is the first week in February, it is cold outside, and the pool is heated, and felt refreshing after spending some time in the sauna. The sauna/shower/steam room area was co-ed, and clothing seemed optional, so if you are uncomfortable with going au naturale, you could wrap a towel around you that are provided for guests using these areas. Everything was quaint and clean.

Value: our friend who lives in Zurich, and who arranged for the accommodations, said that the Central Sport Hotel was approximately 200 Swiss Francs less expensive for 4 nights than most other lodging in Davos (1186 Swiss Francs total).

Restaurant/Breakfast: we opted not to eat breakfast (22 Swiss Francs/person), and instead purchased food from a nearby supermarket and made our own breakfast. The apartments have a well appointed kitchen, that contains a refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, coffee maker, Lavazza espresso machine, utensils, plates, electric water heater for tea, pots and pans etc..

We did not dine in the restaurant so I can not review the food here. I can say there is a menu posted at the entrance to the apartments, and there seems to be a nice selection of food and beverages for purchase from the restaurant.

Parking: there is adequate parking if you choose to drive, we drove and had no problem finding a parking space.

Bottom line: if you are looking for clean accommodations in Davos that are an excellent value, where the staff are professional, pleasant, and helpful, and where the rooms are large and clean, look no further than the Central Sports Hotel Davos (apartments).

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    48
    23
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments situated downslope from the main hotel block. The slope can be quite a danger in snow or worse with icy conditions.
Apartment is large enough to accomodate 3 persons with a baby cot.
Lack of daily cleaning of apartment which is chargeable.
Even trash bags are chargeable and trash need to be emptied and carried to disposal point before check out! Bed sheets also need to be be removed before check out! Never heard of for a hotel apartment.
Despite the size of the apartment and stocked kitchenette, the many minuses will compel me not to book this hotel apartment again unless budget is an issue or I need a large apartment.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main block rather than the apartment block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the city center, the employee are friendly. The hotel is old and the spa is nothing special. There is a swimming pool not heated, the jacuzzi is old and each time you should wait 3 min for a session of six min. The fitness room is small. The breakfast is poor.
The quality price is really bad. I definitely not suggest this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank semvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The most useful feature, as far as we were concerned anyway, was that it was open! We had tried several hotels previously and all were closed. October is clearly not the high season in Davos!

The CEntral Sporthotel was very comfortable, clean and had pleasant rooms with stunning views over the mountains. Modern bathroom and decor, very hot shower. Wifi available although don't ask for the password over the phone, language difficulties resulted in a few false starts before heading down to reception to collect!

Excellent breakfast selection, catering well for both British and European tastes. A particularly good muesli and yoghurts.

We could also park our motorcycles out the front, although there is a car park at the rear as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportTours P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the appartment of the hotel. The appartment block is a little bit down the road towards tallstrasse. The size is perfect, since you will spent a lot of time outside in Davos! You have a couch, a chair and a dining table with three chairs. The flatscreen tv has a moveable arm, so you can watch tv from your bed as well. The beds are hidden in the closet. We moved the matrasses to the floor, because we didn't like the big separation between the two beds (>10 cm). In the kitchen you will find everything for three persons. The biggest glasses were wine glasses, so we asked for some bigger waterglasses as well. There is also an oven in the kitchen. The balcony has sun in the afternoon, until it disappears behind the mountains. We loved the floor in the appartment, really warm and soft. Wifi works perfect, although not always on the balcony.

Location: near Schatzalp, near busstop. You will find Coop Pronto on Promenade, or in talstrasse at the petrolstation. We rented bikes accross the sportsfield ( yellow building, great bikes and service!). You can buy fresh bread at Schneiders (right from the hotel at promenade). Parking is free if you have a card from the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The lobby is a bit down at the heels, but our room was excellent. We stayed in a junior suite which had been renovated in the not too distant past.

I felt a bit bad for the woman working at the check in desk when we arrived as she was receiving a bit of a lecture from a French speaking Swiss couple for her being able to speak English but not French. The front desk staff were all friendly, but not extremely forthcoming with information, like it would have been useful to know when I asked about the pool opening hours that they had bathrobes at the front desk, but not in the room.

Housekeeping staff also couldn't quite understand that we just wanted the linens to make up the sofa bed for our children to sleep on because we wanted to use the sofa as a sofa until evening, even though this was all explained in German.

The waiter at breakfast was excellent, very fun and helpful and seems to speak enough of about 10 languages to get by.

In the summer, you get the Davos card with the room, which gives you access to all the cablecars to go up hiking, etc. which is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are more expensive than village view rooms, but Davos is a small village surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have stayed in the 2 bedroom apartments adjoining this hotel . They are quite spacious but have very hard beds. We have woke up regularly with back ache ! The apartments could do with more utensils etc in the kitchen . We had to ask for a pan to cook on the hob but sadly no cups big enough to have a decent cup of tea !! The hotel is very central to the promenade in Davos . Davos is quite expensive but it is a resort so we expected this .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taloolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
0.0 mi away
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.4 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Sporthotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Sporthotel Davos

Property: Central Sporthotel Davos
Address: Tobelmuehlestrasse 1, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Sporthotel Davos 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Sporthotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Sporthotel Davos Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing