We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and beauty in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Davos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty in the Mountains”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. i came with my friend who had won a competition to stay there last weekend. Firstly, the staff are exceptional. They are warm and friendly, chatty and always smiling. They really put themselves out for us, opening the funicular early for example so that we could get to Davos to pick up the Bernina Express. They allowed us to use the computer to print out lots of itineraries that we had left at home by mistake. I saw them treating every other guest with the same attentive attitude. I was so impressed by the service at the hotel.



The room was spotless, large, elegant with a beautiful bathroom completely and fautlessly restored. The view was breath taking!! The balcony was large with sun loungers and a table and chairs and pretty turquoise shutters. Everything was so tranquil and the view over the mountains in the morning to the 'Davos Matterhorn' was wonderful!



In terms of the breakfast - excellent! Hot and cold offerings with a selection of gorgeous soft bread and really delicious jams. Very attentive waiting staff.



The bar area starts in a large marble room with a beautiful fireplace and huge soft white sofas and a wall of windows letting in lots of light during the day and leads through to a dignified old bar with a cinema at the back!



There was a pretty terrace bar the 'Snow beach' bar that looked out over the mountains and a little cute cosy restaurant with an outside terrace too. I recommend opting for the Half Board because you save a lot of money that way.



The gardens are lovingly maintained by a friendly German gardener and look so beautiful early in the morning. The whole area is so peaceful and the grounds of the hotel just stretch over the mountain so that you are free to roam around. Perfect for taking lots of photos!



You should definitely visit this hotel for its quirky old charm. It really feels like a piece of living history.



Thank you so much everyone at the Schatzalp for making our stay in Davos such a good one!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    58
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
36
101
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It is an amazing place with a beautiful view to the Alps! Coffee was great, what is not so common for Switzerland. But the waitress was ignoring me for 10 min, even thought te terrace was half ful and all the guests had their drinks already and were not eating! Thats a fail on my opinoin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBelasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The place is beautiful, the views are stunning the team headed by Martin Nowak is excellent, we had a great time, the food was fantastic and the Gala dinner was superb, definitely going back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Not a normal Hotel, it is member of "Classic Hotels", if you expect modern 4*- 5* confort in the rooms, don't visit this Hotel. But if you like Style, Designe and Archtectur it is sensationel world unic Hotel, like you never saw befor! If you like Designe, you must visit!
Bar and Reataurant and Breakfast and view is 5*. The Rooms are in the Style of a toberculosis Sanatroium of round 1900. Actualy Berghotel Schatzalp was inspiration for the very famous German writter Tomas Mann, for his world litteratur "Der Zauberberg".
I stayed one night 2 Days, made hiking and engoyed Davos and this sensationel Hotel.
I got special ofered Price, muche cheaper than cataloc Price. My advice is call them "last minute" and ask for best actual Price ( special offer").

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Have just spent along weekend skiing in Davos and stayed at theSchatzalp Hotel. Set high above the town with views across to the Jakobshorn, which are quite breathe taking. The hotel was built in 1900 as a TB sanotorium and whilst it retains a hint of this still in its layout the Art Deco features abound. The public spaces are large and very comfortable, the bar warm and cosy. What a treat to come back from a hard days skiing to a beer on the terrace (even at zero degrees), fear not blankets are on hand. Then wander through to warm yourself by the log fire. The food is lovely whether you eat in the main dining room or at the charming Panorama Restaurant (quite literally teetering over the hillside). The hotel is not about 21st century technology (but wifi is available) but big sofas and a good book, fabulous views, being able to ski from the front door (rather than yomlping for miles in ski boots or bussled on to a bus), coffee and a liqueur in front of the fire and charming staff (who remember you from one year to the next).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I can not praise the hotel enough. The location is excellent, picture card views from my room that were breath taking. Warm and comfortable rooms with wifi for the modern traveller. The hotel is not modern but the art deco adds to the charm and feeling of warmth that makes this a great place to stay. The staff are warm, friendly and the restaurant waiters provide really good service.

The resident piano player and large lounge area make for a relaxing place to read or drink with friends.

It offers an excellent location for skiing, is family friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contented_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This summer, my husband and I spent a lot of time traveling around Graubunden. One of the neatest hotels we came across was the Schatzalp.

The hotel dates back to Davos' heyday as a health resort for people with lung problems, but as the city evolved -- becoming a playground for skiers and boarders -- the Schatzalp decided to bypass the modern direction the resort was taking. No need for another uninspired, modern hotel with no character; the Schatzalp clung to the history that made it so desirable and famous in the first place.

The hotel itself sits stately on a sunny terrace 300 meters above Davos, presenting visitors and guests with the most amazing views you could want. The south-facing rooms have giant balconies, and the ground-floor bar and Panorama Restaurant also have stunning views. We made a point to sit out on the terrace with a drink, and catch the afternoon light every day we were there.

The hotel is accessed by a funicular (free for guests), located close to Davos Platz, and near to shops, restaurants, rental places, and the main bus line through town. It's very easy to get to Davos ... with the bonus that once the day is over, you can escape the city's crowds.

Restaurants: We had half-board, and ate in the Panorama Restaurant, which is large, airy and grand. Since it seats hundreds of people, I was worried that the food might suffer ... but no, it was fantastic. Exactly what you would expect to be served in such a beautiful location.

Hotel rooms: Yes, as other reviewers have said, they aren't furnished with the newest amenities. But personally, I can't imagine going to this hotel to sit inside and watch TV. The rooms evoke the charm & feel of turn-of-the-century Davos -- with the added pleasure of heating, showers, etc. (As an aside to the detractors: With its location & views, if the hotel were to upgrade from 3 to 5 stars, many people would struggle to afford it.))

Staff: Lovely. The main entrance was hectic at times, but the staff remained professional and got matters taken care of as quickly as possible.

Other: In the summer, the hotel has an Alpine slide, which was an absolute blast! ... In winter, the hotel has a lit sled run, as well as it's own ski slopes, which are included in a Davos ski pass.

All in all, I think this hotel is a great find and a good deal. As long as you know you are paying for the views and history, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GigettaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.4 mi away
Waldhotel Davos
Waldhotel Davos
#1 of 56 in Davos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morosani Posthotel Davos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.1 mi away
Morosani Schweizerhof Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Property: Berghotel Schatzalp
Address: Promenade 62 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing