We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pros and cons”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

What we liked about the hotel was, of course, the exceptional situation,but also the beautiful restaurant and the lounge with the open fire. Breakfast was good, but dinner was outstanding; our compliments to the chef.
We were not so enthusiastic about the bedrooms as the furniture was rather worn; you won't feel like relaxing in such a decrepit armchair. But worst of all was the dreadful out-of-date bathroom with its primitive shower, plastic curtain and leaking taps.In 2012 you can reasonably expect a more modern bathroom, even if the hotel boasts itself on its Jugendstil heritage. Finally the corridors are really depressing!
The hotel has great potential, which, however, is not made use of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    58
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
37
101
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, the Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our legal conference. We were really impressed by the beautiful location above the town - the hotel is accessible only by funicular rainway from Davos. The views from the hotel are splendid. Nice ski slopes are easily accessible from the hotel - slopes are nice, "blue" level and very well taken care of. You can also ride down to Davos on sledges.

The atmosphere of the hotel is very unique. Definitely no high luxury but everything very functional and comfortable preserving the old style of the beginning of 20th century. We really enjoyed our spacious corner room with view of the valley, spacious balcony, spacious and comfortable bathroom. Maybe, we would prefer if there could be a minibar in the room.

Dining in the hotel is above average but nothing really special.

The prices is little bit higher than I would expect (as the hotel does not offer any traditional "luxury") but this is probably expectable in generally expensive Switzerland.

In general, we just felt very well in this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very old house, bit above Davos, must use the cable car to reach the hotel. No traffic around the hotel and a sledging track behind the house - rather in the upper price corner but the service was poor - most we heard at the reception (two young lady's not from Switzerland) was "we can't, we don' know, we don't care" ... offered services where not available, times and promised not kept (promised sledges not available)

Absolute poor for a 700$/night hotel - our first and last trip to this hotel!

The food was ok not the hammer, the room was clean and we loved the simple and charming style but the bad service destroyed everything.

Be aware of the noisy bar if you get your room at the first floor.

Room Tip: don't get the first floor if you need your sleep, noisy bar below you - south side is the sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is a unique hotel, about 300 m above Davos. We planned some extensive autumn walks in the fresh, clear mountain air. However, we were surprise to experience the first snow in October there! All the same, we enjoyed our stay to the fullest, the great and friendly service, despite that they were having presently a great numer of guests who attended an important seminar (ETH). Also the food was exquisit, well cooked and and nicely presented.
As we booked for a prolonged weekend, but were faced with rain & snow, we were happy to be able to make use of the many amenities such as free ride on the cableways and above all, the free W-Lan access. We could even watch films on our iPad!
With this review, we wish to express our thanks to the management and staff of the hotel Schatzalp who made our short stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: We recommend to ask for an upper floor room with front view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A dream hotel for me - enchanting and peaceful and fascinating, wonderful views and pure air. We booked with Travelzoo for August so got a good deal - it gets a bit expensive in the winter. Built in 1910 as a luxury sanatorium and nearly all of it is in original condition, which I loved - original colours, slighty faded paintwork, but the dining room is beautiful with long windows looking towards the mountains and twinkling with candlelight in the evening. Eating out is expensive in Switzerland and dinner in the hotel for 35 Swiss francs for four courses was excellent. Somehow the site has a tremendous energy and you can see why they chose it for a sanatorium. Don't go if you want a soulless corporate hotel with wifi all over the place and the most important thing for you is the bathroom. I loved and I'll always remember it..

Room Tip: The views from the front of the hotel are stupendous and I think most of the front rooms have lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. i came with my friend who had won a competition to stay there last weekend. Firstly, the staff are exceptional. They are warm and friendly, chatty and always smiling. They really put themselves out for us, opening the funicular early for example so that we could get to Davos to pick up the Bernina Express. They allowed us to use the computer to print out lots of itineraries that we had left at home by mistake. I saw them treating every other guest with the same attentive attitude. I was so impressed by the service at the hotel.



The room was spotless, large, elegant with a beautiful bathroom completely and fautlessly restored. The view was breath taking!! The balcony was large with sun loungers and a table and chairs and pretty turquoise shutters. Everything was so tranquil and the view over the mountains in the morning to the 'Davos Matterhorn' was wonderful!



In terms of the breakfast - excellent! Hot and cold offerings with a selection of gorgeous soft bread and really delicious jams. Very attentive waiting staff.



The bar area starts in a large marble room with a beautiful fireplace and huge soft white sofas and a wall of windows letting in lots of light during the day and leads through to a dignified old bar with a cinema at the back!



There was a pretty terrace bar the 'Snow beach' bar that looked out over the mountains and a little cute cosy restaurant with an outside terrace too. I recommend opting for the Half Board because you save a lot of money that way.



The gardens are lovingly maintained by a friendly German gardener and look so beautiful early in the morning. The whole area is so peaceful and the grounds of the hotel just stretch over the mountain so that you are free to roam around. Perfect for taking lots of photos!



You should definitely visit this hotel for its quirky old charm. It really feels like a piece of living history.



Thank you so much everyone at the Schatzalp for making our stay in Davos such a good one!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It is an amazing place with a beautiful view to the Alps! Coffee was great, what is not so common for Switzerland. But the waitress was ignoring me for 10 min, even thought te terrace was half ful and all the guests had their drinks already and were not eating! Thats a fail on my opinoin!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBelasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.1 mi away
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
58 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
2.9 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
163 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Property: Berghotel Schatzalp
Address: Promenade 62 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing