We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great and interesting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Great and interesting.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This month I had the opportunity to stay in this great hotel for 8 nights. It was a business trip of a very large group of colleagues from all around the world. The hotel service did all what was possible to make us feel at home. Food and service where best of the best. It is also a place full of history. The location is different and incredible in winter. I love the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    58
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
36
101
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Must be the most unique hotel I have ever stayed in. From the funicular used to access the hotel, to the clinical appearance of some rooms in this old sanatorium, this is a one off! Oh, not forgetting the ski runs out the back of the hotel.
We stayed for a conference - best conference venue ever. Nothing like a couple of runs before the morning session or at lunchtime!
Sun-basking on the terrace is the norm at lunch time taking advantage of the restorative mountain air. Our front-facing room has an enormous balcony/terrace with fab views right down the valley.
Check in staff were as clinical as some of the rooms! Otherwise staff were really helpful - especially the cleaner who has my shirt ironed within 10 mins of me asking!
Don't expect modern rooms - much of the style and furnishing is retained from the hotel's previous life which adds to the charm. Showers are a bit hard for a 6ft2 guy to get under!
WiFi was free - hooray!
Breakfast was great - huge elegant dining room and fantastic selection. Tip - request a cappucino or espresso if you like to avoid thermos-style coffee. Staff will oblige at no extra cost.
This is Switzerland so just remember to close your eyes at checkout so you don't see the cost!

Room Tip: Front facing is a must to appreciate the views and get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Schatzalp Hotel is still what its name means in German: a treasure (literally "treasure alp" as opposed to Treasure Island). But be warned: dating back to the turn of the century (no, not the last) it is old, very old and - in some places - it cries out for a (gentle, please!) renovation. However, if you are not fixed on new boutique stile hotels and on cool interiours, it has the charm and fascination of a fairy tale. It is no use, describing it, just have a look at the photos! If I had 20 millions to spare, this is where I would invest them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2togo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great mountain hotel in an amazing location with many many opportunities around, hiking, schittelbahn, biking, relaxing, botanical garden..... Something for every age!!!

Room Tip: If u can take a room with a balcony and mountain view!!! Breathtaking views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcat4mjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family stayed at the Schatzalp Mountain Resort in Davos for three nights and we had a wonderfull time. We occupied the private Chalet which was absolutely top class and totally private with panoramic views of the mountains and Davosamd located just next to the hotel. The Chalet counts 225 sqm with three bedrooms and a huge living dining area and fully equipped luxury kitchen. The bathroom are great with very luxury fixtures (rain forest showers) and marble finish. The TV is about 70-90 inch from Pioneer and it felt like watching a movie in the cinema. The hotel provided a very good breakfast (they also provided extra servings if asked) served in the chalet and the service was VERY friendly and effiecient. The Schatzalp also offers lots of activities such as walkin/hiking trails, mountain bike trails, a mountain botanic garden exhibit including the famous Edelweis flower as well as a summer "bob track" which was a LOT OF FUN to use. They have two restaurants and a mountain Alp chalet (15 minutes walk from the hotel) where you find good food. We had dinner in the Panorama Schatzalp Restaurant and the food was excellent and the views of Davos breathtaking! The wellness area is also very nice and newly renovated with a number of nice saunas. The hotel bar is cozy and they have a real big screen to show movies etc in the adjacent TV lounge. To get from Davos to the Hotel (and back) you must take the hotel owned and operated "Schatzalp Bahn/ train" which takes you straight up to the hotel for free in just a few minutes. The Schatzalp Hotel sets you back in time and it feels like a "time-gone-by-place" where nothing matters except fresh mountain air and breathtaking views complimented by warm as well as friendly Swiss hospitality. Overall we can only recommend the Schatzalp Hotel as well as the Chalet and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Chalet with 225 sqm is the ultimate experience but maybe too big for some travellers so book a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived to a hotel expected to be a four star in Switzerland. We had booked a room with a mountain view. The view was towards the backside of the mountain and not the view one would expect. We upgraded the room to a sunny side, which was the real mountain view. The room we got was a tiny one with a small double bed and the bed was nothing for anyone over 180cm tall. Next to a bed, taking the rest of the space of the room was a closet, which was totally broken one and from 60s. We felt like cheated. Then the bathroom! That was maybe two squaremeters together with a shower and wc. Totally ugly, probably also from 1960's and not renovated since then. After that we checked the balcony, a green fake grass covering the place, partially broken filled with white plastic and having old ugly and broen furniture. The price of this glory room is above 400 chf per night. If one takes half pension like we did the disappointment is beoynd understanding. We ordered a Greek sald. We got mashed Greek salad that looked and tasted that someone had bited it before putting it on the plate. We will never ever go to this hotel again. SAC huts are better class in Switzerland than this hotel with a better food and beds than this hotel, but a lower price with a same or better view.

Room Tip: not in this hotel, rather go to SAC hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBuhrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern - Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you want to feel like 100 years ago? Visit this Hotel, it is like a museum. Me and my friend vistited it while we got a Groupon-Offer so that's why we stayed, assumedly, in a room which was not renovated or got a slight touch of renovation, altough the basic (Shower, toilet and bed) where fine (no television). You could say that If the owner just does only a fresh up by colour and a bit interior decoration the rooms could be very trendy while retro style is inn now. We enjoyed Schatzalp's beautifull Jugendstil decoration, the Salon was impressive and everthing has it's Jugendstil-like details. Dinner and breakfast where fine and Unfortunately we could not visit the renovated Sauna area. The private balcony is very big and has two (original!!) reclining seats which also appears on some old pictures of the time Schatzalp was a Sanatorium. Hotel Schatzalp has it's own mountain train which takes you up or down in 5 minutes to the city of Davos. And a 3 minute walk to the first lift which takes you to Schatzalp's ski-area is ideal für winter hiking, sledding and families with small childeren.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.4 mi away
Waldhotel Davos
Waldhotel Davos
#1 of 56 in Davos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morosani Posthotel Davos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.1 mi away
Morosani Schweizerhof Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Property: Berghotel Schatzalp
Address: Promenade 62 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing