We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, OK hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Hotel Davos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Hotel Davos
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, OK hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked one night at this hotel and paid 240 CHF. Looking at the price of other hotels in the area, this is probably average. Compared to other hotels we've stayed in across Switzerland for the same price, the Clubhotel is a bit expensive for what it offers.

On the plus side, the location is good (close to gondola, about 5 minutes to the train station), the staff were friendly, our room was available as early as 10.30 the morning we arrived, and the rooms are spacious and clean.

On the downside, the breakfast was average, the hotel itself is a bit dated, and we found it quite expensive (we were there right at the end of ski season, so we expect prices to be a bit lower). It's only for these reasons that I've given it 3 out of 5. Other than that, I think if you're looking at staying in Davos for a night or two, and don't mind paying what they're charging, you could do a lot worse than this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ww-wef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    74
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
63
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We got this hotel on a last-minute reservation so rates were higher than usual (>200 euros per night). It was my first time in Davos so am not really sure what normal rates are, but I believe this one was quite expensive.

Good points:
- Helpful staff
- Fairly close to Jacobshorn
- Easy check-in, check-out process
- Clean room
- They have an indoor pool and sauna

Downside:
- You need to travel ~20 minutes to get to better pistes
- If you arrive past 21.30, reception is closed. They left our room key in an envelope stuck by tape on the hotel door (they are resourceful, but this is quite strange for me)
- You will have the exact same breakfast spread everyday
- There seems to be no thermostat in the room

Room Tip: We paid extra for a balcony, but since we were assigned to one of the lower floors, we didn't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pale_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Good location, clean, warm room with large windows and balcony (superior room). There were also a fridge and a kettle in the room, so after a long day of skiing you don't have to walk out and find a restaurant. To fill your fridge you have only a 5 min walk to the supermarket Coop. The nearest bus stop is right outside the hotel and with 5min walk you reach the Postplatz (more buses) and the Davos Platz station also.

The breakfast was good and the service at the reception was good. Nothing to complain about. Good choice for a skier. It's not cheap but not too bad comparing to the local price level.

Room Tip: I'd probably go for the superior again. Because of the windows and the balcony. And definitely i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maijju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Positive : Walking distance to Jakobshorn and train station , good price, 4 course menu only 22CHF, simple to find, on the main street , shuttle bus stops just in front of the hotel
Negative, small / narrow garage for longer cars ( I have Peugeot 407 break and struggled in the garage a lot.... ), swimming pool is kind of boring despite on the pictures it looked amasing. Missing the apline ambience - just dormitory. But it will be probably a lot of cases in Davos.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cepi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very nice place to stay in: neat rooms (btw, their blankets are something), very good location and girls at the reception - Peggy and Melanie - are so friendly! Many thanks for staying there and keep going!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd of 3d floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

we booked 2 rooms for christmas 2012, one room comfortable, warm, clean, but next to the lift engine on the 8th floor very noisy. other room stinks on cigarettes, cold, very old, not renovated. we complained and got offered room next to the kitchen on the ground floor and room next to the lift also on the ground floor. all other guests run in ski boots on the groundfloor. We refused both and got offered air purifier and a heater!?! food is very basic and not tasteful. breakfast is below avarage 2 stars hotels breakfast. lobby is smells on kitchen all day long, not pleasant place to enjoy your evening drink. I would not recommend this hotel, you better pay bit more and enjoy your well diserved holidays.I will not come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: not on the 8th floor, not next to the lift, not on the ground floor because you will have hundereds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorsstak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed at Club Hotel Davos on a pre-season package (incl. breakfast, dinner) early December 2012. Convenient for us travelling by train as it is a mere 250 m from Davos Platz train station. If advised, the hotel picks up travellers with heavy luggage at the station. The local bus stop is in front of the bus giving easy access an extensive network of public transport (the guest card included with the stay in a Davos hotel entitles to the use of buses and trains in the Davos / Klosters area).

We stayed in one of the “With Extras” rooms, which are a bit dearer. It is reached through a long tunnel to Northern part of the complex. It had no balcony, was facing North with good views towards the center of Davos. It seems the rooms have recently been refurbished and they have lots of space for two peaople. Some of the plumbing has apparently been omitted from this facelift with some challenging to use water taps left in place. The lighting in the rooms was a bit scarce, particularly in the entrance area. We also found the rooms heated to a very high temperature (underfloor heating) without the possibility to adjust it. We left thus windows open the whole night with sub-zero temperatures and driving snow outside. Parents should watch the dangerously low windowsill (only about 1m high) when travelling with younger children.

I found the restaurant and lobby area downstairs definitely one of the least appealing parts of the hotels. It seems like from another era, dark and gloomy. It lacks lighting and so it is difficult to see what is presented on the plates. Having said this, one cannot really complain about the quality of the food though the breakfast buffet is perhaps at the lower end of a 3-Star standard.

What really lets this hotel down is its lacking culture of hospitality. I observed several instances where customers asked for little specials, like an elderly lady asking for a simple pot of hot tea on her breakfast table, just to be made feeling guilty for asking. The tea, for instance, is supposed to be picked up from the breakfast buffet and unless you present a medical certificate, as it seems, they are unable to provide it to the table. One gets the impression they cater mostly to large unruly groups of coach and package tourists and have adjusted their treatment of guests accordingly. Like the sign in all elevators saying that one should not dare to supplement the lunch from the breakfast buffet. I have seen such notes in youth hostels before.

Based on my experience at Club Hotel Davos, it does not surprise me that Swiss mountain hotel industry is losing market share to more hospitable Austria. It cannot just be the strong Swiss franc but Swiss hoteliers seem to have forgotten the 101 of their business. In summary, I suggest one should book into the Davos Club Hotel if the price is right and one does not really care about being treated like just another of these bloody tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos
0.1 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
0.3 mi away
Morosani Posthotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Davos

Property: Club Hotel Davos
Address: Promenade 23, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Davos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***star hotel offers an attractive infrastructure for families and sports fans, in a cosy and uncomplicated atmosphere. Our hotel is situated on the southern side of Davos Platz in a sunny and quiet area, just minutes away from the centre of Davos and the well known Jakobshorn cable car. The public bus which runs to all other cable cars stops directly in front of the hotel. The hotel features 145 spacious double rooms (partially), some with fold away beds, with or without balcony. All rooms are equipped with bath, hairdryer, flat screen-tv, radio, telephone safe, a fridge and free Wifi. Wooden fittings combined with natural colour tones provide a warm and secure atmosphere. The Club Hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, a table tennis room, an internet corner, free WiFi in the lobby and all rooms, which are all free to use. For use of a variety of massages and the garage, fees are applied. In our cosy restaurant we serve our classic Swiss breakfast and a variety of 4 course menus (half board). On Wednesday we serve Fondue, with the choice between cheese Fondue or Fondue Chinoise (meat). Sundays we serve our popular Farmers buffet. A drink at the hotel bar is the perfect way to end an eventful day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Club Hotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing