We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views and Great Food”
Review of Muottas Muragl

Muottas Muragl
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Views and Great Food”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Ride the funicular to the top and have lunch and a glass of wine overlooking St. Moritz! If you go up on a clear day, the views are beautiful!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camiro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    124
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Snow storm in August”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great views despite the cold and stormy wind and snow. Walking back to Languard lift, the sky cleared and we had occasional superb views of the Bianco Ridge on Bernina

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and hike !”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in St Moritz at Badrutts Palace and are active folks. We found bus 2 to the base and took the vernacular to the top of Muottas Muragl. The views of the valley and lakes are breathtaking. After many photos we started our hike over to the chairlift back down to Pontresina. The 1st part of the trail is easy to hike and mostly downhill. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch and beers at a cute hut just off the trail midway. The last part of the trail is more difficult and climbing but very doable. Enjoy the waterfalls and be sure to take the higher trail as it leads directly to the top of the chairlift and the 2nd hut. Enjoy...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FocusFactor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The playground at the top was an unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were traveling with our one year old and didn't anticipate the playground we found at the peak of the mountain. This was so much fun playing on the swing and the slide with the amazing backdrop of the Swiss Alps behind. The view is not as stunning as some of the other surrounding peaks, but it is a "must" if you are traveling with a little one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelers804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice view, enjoyable walk --- go there while in St. Moritz!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It all starts with an outstanding train ride up to the Muottas Muragl.Try to get a in to the front part of the train as it is just faboulous to see the engineering capabilities that was put in place while building this train infrastructure. On top, you have a great view over the Engadine lakes and mountains and if the weather is good, you may even see the mountains far back in the Valais. The hiking trail (Panoramaweg) is easy to handle assuming you are wearing good and solid shoes (balerinas and stocking definitely a no go!). The time estimation of 2 3/4 hours is very generous, normally you should be able to do it much faster while hiking in a easy going speed.

Don't miss this. I fully recommend this trip to everyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muottas Muragl also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Muottas Muragl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing