We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in St. Moritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in St. Moritz”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

What an experience! The suite-only hotel is blessed with the best location (or at least the best views) in St. Moritz. A short stroll to the village, ok, but then again you benefit from full privacy in the nicest lounge of all 5-star hotels in St. Moritz, a spa which is very spacious on three floors, and wonderfully appointed hotel suites with all you can ask for. The butler & free limousine service within the village are further plus to make this the destination of choice in Oberengadin.

Room Tip: Different color schemes of rooms - from rather "loud" and to elegant and bohemian. Inquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
77
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

There was actually nothing one can fault. Everything met or exceeded expectation. The hotel condition is excellenet, the staff are extremely helpful, and everthing else was just perfect. I have never stayed at its competitors in St Moritz but having stayed at the Carlton once I wouldnt think twice about staying there again on my next visit

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at many other hotels in St Moritz before, but the Carlton is the most beautiful place to stay at!! Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff at the Concierge / front desk!! Beautiful spacious rooms with a breathtaking view to St Moritz lake and the mountains! Thank you very much for this unforgettable stay and we assure you that we will be back at the Carlton very soon!!

Wir waren schon in vielen anderen Hotels in St. Moritz, aber das Carlton ist mit Abstand das beste Hotel in dieser Region!! Ausgezeichneter Service, freundliche und hilfreiche Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption und Concierge! Wunderschöne und grosse Zimmer mit Balkon und Blick auf St. Moritz, See und die Region! Vielen Dank für den wunderbaren Aufenthalt!! Wir kommen bald wieder zurück.

Room Tip: All rooms are south facing and have a beautiful view to the lake, St Moritz and the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diecoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to dine at the Carlton just before NYE, in the lounge area of the first floor in front of the fire place. Service, food, ambience, everything was perfect and could not be faulted even if you tried.

Even if you cannot stay a night, do yourself a favour and stop in for a meal or a drink.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake is a once in a lifetime experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiaan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

General manager & all staffs gave us warm welcome at arrival.

The room was wide, luxurious and classic decor, Beds & pillows were so comfortable.
The bathroom was wide, clean and all amenties were enough and luxury.

Romanoff, the restaurant, was so nice and had good view, every dishes had a own special flavor, all waiters were very kind, helpful and professional. there were good singer & musics in the bar at every evening.

The spa was wonderful. especially, out-door jacuzzi was fantastic and so nice to relieve fatigue.

The concierge managers were very knowledgeable and helpful, he kindly checked sledge-slope availability & condition for us.

Most of all, pick-up & transport service by Benz was excellent and the dirver was so kind & professional. Because our train was delay, we arrived lately about 1 hour, but the driver still waited for us!!!, It was very impressive & moved my heart.

We were very happy to stay in this hotel.

Thank you very much to all staffs of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MD_Kwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Newly refurbished hotel. The hotel style is a mix of timeless classic and modern. The rooms give a good impression of quality. The colors and furnitures are very cozy and comfortable.
The service was great except the room service waiter who had an attitude. However the hotel manager who greeted us during check in and wished good bye when we left compensated for it.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I've been in this hotel for a small week-end of 3 nights. I was with my husband and 2 children 3 y.o. and 5 months. We had 2 interconnections Junior suites 55 sqh each. The rooms are quit big and very nice with a wonderful view. The spa is just wihtout comments - really the best! Everybody was very friendly (special thanks to all concierges!). Due to my job I travel a lot in 5* hotels and this one is the best!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback and we passed it on to all of our staff, especially the ones mentioned by you. Thank you very much for judging us to be one of the best 5* Hotels in your critical view as a frequent traveller. We look forward welcoming you and your family back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Johannes Badrutt 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz represents a new dimension of self-assured luxury and boasts captivating views from all its 60 suites and junior suites. The location on the sun-soaked plateau above the lake of St. Moritz underscores the quirky and enduring spirit of the Carlton. The complete refurbishment brought to the fore the historical values of the property initially built in 1913, adding a modern, contemporary re-interpretation. The hotel owes its incomparable note to the unconventional style and colour palette. The high-standard of relaxed informality combines with authentic warm hospitality to create a lastingly memorable stay, one that guarantees complete privacy. The Romanoff Restaurant with fine authentic Swiss cuisine and the Italian gourmet restaurant 'Da Vittorio - St. Moritz' awarded with 1 Michelin star and 18 Gault&Millau Points offer two contrasting yet complementary dining experiences. The Carlton spa is the only facility of its kind in the Engadine, boasting a spacious, unique and elegant infrastructure. The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz is where people come from all over the world to enjoy the pleasures of delightful company or withdraw in peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing