We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious hotel with exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A luxurious hotel with exceptional service.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A luxurious hotel that provides an exceptional service. The suite was modern, luxurious and beautiful with a butler service at your disposal. Extensive spa and pool area to enjoy after a long day on the slopes. The Romanoff restaurant food and service is simply amazing. Complimentary shuttle service to the Corviglia mountain railway. Very friendly and helpful staff. All round a superb and luxurious winter ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Dazeyhazey

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback and looking forward to welcome you soon back. Maybe with an event in our Empire Ball Room, which stands out by virtue of its unique atmosphere and stunning views of the lake of St. Moritz and the Engadine mountainscape.

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
79
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

this is the 2nd time i stay in this hotel and i am so amazed of the level of service. It is just so nice to see so many professional and friendly crew. The price is not the cheapest but you can not find cheap hotel in St Moritz any way.
The breakfast is great but the food at Romanov restaurant is pretty boring:-(

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchyouout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Carlton has the perfect location with an amazing view of the lake, quiet area and yet only a short walk to the center of town. Rooms, Spa and restaurant are fantastic. All the little details and comfort have been thought after (hot towels in the spa, personalised business cards in the room...). The service has been exceptional too; warm, friendly and highly professional.
An excellent value for that amount of luxury and care.

I happened to have had an accident during my stay requiring 2 nights spent in hospital - I couldn't have wished for better help & support from the hotel (they looked after my luggages and sent them home, offered extra time, transportation, they even sent me flowers while in hospital!).

Really the best hotel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel has one of the best services i have experienced.

Restaurants: Especially the Romanoff restaurant team belongs to the world class star team. Polite, qualified, experienced these are the three words that can describe this team shortly. The dinner menu has potential to be a 3 star Michelin menu. We have dined also at Badrutt Hotel and we were shocked by the quality of the service and also of the food there. Romanoff at Carlton was much better. In Romanoff restaurant you have to wear a jacket for the dinner. Tie is not necessary. For the breakfast you can wear less formal cloth.

There is also another restaurant Da Vittorio – run this winter by michelin star chefs. The dinner was more than delicious. Top of the top. On the other side i must confess that the waiters are on a higher level in Romanoff. But on the other site Da Vittoria is less formal.

Ski Rental: it is very convenient to rent the ski in the hotel directly. The manager there is very customer friendly and takes time to give you recommendations. The ski you can leave at the Corviglia station and thats very convenient. They have lockers for your shoes there also on the hill so after skiing you can stay in town if you want and have a drink or little shopping before going back to hotel.

Transfers: you will be picked up by a Mercedes Benz by your arrival with train. The driver was waiting for us at the train platform and helped with the luggage. Top service.
Spa: whirlpool nice – with warm water. The swimming pool was nice but the water could be warmer.

Room and location: very spacious and very modern. More modern than expected. Every room has an excellent view on the lake. It has the best location – it is more close to the city center than expected. It is just 5 minutes walking to the city center with many shops, bars and restaurants. It is actually in the center, but in the more quite part. You cannot wish more for your winter holiday here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kompanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

What an experience! The suite-only hotel is blessed with the best location (or at least the best views) in St. Moritz. A short stroll to the village, ok, but then again you benefit from full privacy in the nicest lounge of all 5-star hotels in St. Moritz, a spa which is very spacious on three floors, and wonderfully appointed hotel suites with all you can ask for. The butler & free limousine service within the village are further plus to make this the destination of choice in Oberengadin.

Room Tip: Different color schemes of rooms - from rather "loud" and to elegant and bohemian. Inquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

There was actually nothing one can fault. Everything met or exceeded expectation. The hotel condition is excellenet, the staff are extremely helpful, and everthing else was just perfect. I have never stayed at its competitors in St Moritz but having stayed at the Carlton once I wouldnt think twice about staying there again on my next visit

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at many other hotels in St Moritz before, but the Carlton is the most beautiful place to stay at!! Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff at the Concierge / front desk!! Beautiful spacious rooms with a breathtaking view to St Moritz lake and the mountains! Thank you very much for this unforgettable stay and we assure you that we will be back at the Carlton very soon!!

Wir waren schon in vielen anderen Hotels in St. Moritz, aber das Carlton ist mit Abstand das beste Hotel in dieser Region!! Ausgezeichneter Service, freundliche und hilfreiche Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption und Concierge! Wunderschöne und grosse Zimmer mit Balkon und Blick auf St. Moritz, See und die Region! Vielen Dank für den wunderbaren Aufenthalt!! Wir kommen bald wieder zurück.

Room Tip: All rooms are south facing and have a beautiful view to the lake, St Moritz and the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diecoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Johannes Badrutt 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz represents a new dimension of self-assured luxury and boasts captivating views from all its 60 suites and junior suites. The location on the sun-soaked plateau above the lake of St. Moritz underscores the quirky and enduring spirit of the Carlton. The complete refurbishment brought to the fore the historical values of the property initially built in 1913, adding a modern, contemporary re-interpretation. The hotel owes its incomparable note to the unconventional style and colour palette. The high-standard of relaxed informality combines with authentic warm hospitality to create a lastingly memorable stay, one that guarantees complete privacy. The Romanoff Restaurant with fine authentic Swiss cuisine and the Italian gourmet restaurant 'Da Vittorio - St. Moritz' awarded with 1 Michelin star and 18 Gault&Millau Points offer two contrasting yet complementary dining experiences. The Carlton spa is the only facility of its kind in the Engadine, boasting a spacious, unique and elegant infrastructure. The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz is where people come from all over the world to enjoy the pleasures of delightful company or withdraw in peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing