We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlton Hotel St Moritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels , but this one is by far the most efficient , fabulous service I have ever received .
From the moment you enter you are treated like royalty , nothing is too much trouble for them , from lending you money for taxis , organising sleigh rides ,trains etc etc .
The food ( we were on half board ) was fantastic , every day was a new gastronomic experience , and all very very good .
The butler was always on hand to fetch you any thing at all ..
The views of course were stunning and to sit out on the balcony of our Junior Suite was a dream , to look out onto the frozen lake ..
The spa and pool area was stunning , with outdoor and indoor areas .
A fantastic hotel where I would love to return to soon .
Thank you to all the staff at the Carlton Hotel ...every single one of you made our holiday so very special .

Room Tip: Lake view with balcony ..
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothappy54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear nothappy54321

We are very glad to hear that you had memorable days at the Carlton Hotel and thank you very much for your excellent feedback about the hotel and our staff. We hope welcoming you back soon again.

Sunny greetings from St. Moritz

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very accommodating and friendly staff, very good service and suites are roomy and clean.nice spa and pools . Overall rating of this property is very high, perfect location, butler is remarkably good and car service is helpful. Will revisit this lovely relaxing hotel with extremely comfortable suites with amazing interior .

Room Tip: All suites are with a view, except if on lower floor and on the side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tahani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Tahani E

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback and we passed it on to all of our staff.

We look forward welcoming you and your friends back soon again!

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Second stay at the Carlton - simply the best hotel in St. Moritz. The spacious suites, generous hall and fabulous terrace overlooking the lake. Fabulous service throughout the hotel. Great spa facilities and very comfotable butler & chauffeur services.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michael_zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear michael_zrh

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback. We look forward welcoming you back soon for the third time!

Let your dreams come true again....

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stunning panoramic view of St Moritz, perfect location, amazing interior!!! Junior suites are of high standart, very large extremely comfortable. Overwhelming leading in the world Spa aria with a heated otside pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Irina B

Thank you very much for your review which we also passed on to all our staff. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon that you can enjoy again our spa including our heated outdoor jacuzzi with panorama view on St. Moritz.

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I spent three fabulous nights at this hotel and it exceeded my expectations. Everything was perfect, the staff informative and friendly and the atmosphere relaxed and refined. Can't wait to revisit. The hotel also has a fantastic event space with views of the lake and mountains, I can't wait to use it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazeyhazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Dazeyhazey

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback and we passed it on to all of our staff.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again maybe with a big event in our great Empire Ballroom, which stands out by virtue of its unique atmosphere and stunning views of the lake of St. Moritz and the Engadine mountainscape!

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were a group of 5 people and stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. From the moment of our arrival and throughout our stay the staff of the hotel couldn't be more helpful.

It started with us being met at the train station, to having all the amenities of the hotel explained so that we could make the most of our stay. We also liked that they had a ski hire shop within their own premises. They even greeted us by name from the second day onwards.

The location is also fantastic and with the free shuttle bus from the hotel to all the lift stations, making the most of the various ski areas couldn't have been any easier.

Finally, the breakfast buffet is very varied with something to suit all tastes. Everything is fresh and additional hot items can be ordered a la carte.

We also enjoyed having a drink in the bar (after of course first been to the spa) to unwind.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Andrea H

We are very glad to hear that you had memorable days with your group at the Carlton Hotel and thank you very much for your excellent feedback about the hotel and our staff. We hope welcoming you back soon again, maybe with a lot of new recommended guests.

Best regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked two suite rooms in the hotel via Booking.com four months ahead of my stay. Although I cancelled the reservation 1 week after, and after intensive email exchange 4 weeks before stay, the hotel still insisted that they did not receive any information from Booking.com and have been trying to charge my card for more than CHF 20 thousand!!!!
Hotel's employees even tried to intimidate me that they will black list me and will also spread this black list to other 4000 5-star hotels globally!!!!
Absolutely disgraceful and unacceptable!
I appeal to the senior management of the hotel as I believe such practice of hotel's employees can not be a general rule. But if management does not interfere, such situations can severe damage hotel's reputation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Vitalii M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mr. Vitalii N.

You may allow us to list the following facts:

1. You booked a suite for CHF 22.500,- via booking.com
2. You confirmed the cancellation and prepayment policy – so there was a binding contract between our company and you via booking.com
3. You never cancelled the room (this is confirmed by booking.com)
4. We held your suite the entire time and lost money, as we had to refuse other requests
5. We tried to charge the prepayment to your credit card (which was agreed with the terms & conditions from your side) but your credit card was invalid
6. After you informed us, that you already cancelled directly via booking.com, we asked you many times to send a cancellation confirmation – which you could not deliver but you still insisted that you cancelled, which was still not the case

Mr. Vitalii please do understand that under such circumstance we had to decide, whether we have to keep your booking or to release it. As we never received a written cancellation, and in the booking.com system the reservation was still active, we had to hold the suite until your booked arrival date.

After having had conversations for more than one month, we may ask you to understand that we have to protect us from such potential loses.

By today we still hold the open balance of CHF 22.500.

Regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel St. Moritz

Address: Via Johannes Badrutt 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: £548 - £1,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz represents a new dimension of self-assured luxury and boasts captivating views from all its 60 suites and junior suites. The location on the sun-soaked plateau above the lake of St. Moritz underscores the quirky and enduring spirit of the Carlton. The complete refurbishment brought to the fore the historical values of the property initially built in 1913, adding a modern, contemporary re-interpretation. The hotel owes its incomparable note to the unconventional style and colour palette. The high-standard of relaxed informality combines with authentic warm hospitality to create a lastingly memorable stay, one that guarantees complete privacy. The Romanoff Restaurant with fine authentic Swiss cuisine and the Italian gourmet restaurant 'Da Vittorio - St. Moritz' awarded with 1 Michelin star and 18 Gault&Millau Points offer two contrasting yet complementary dining experiences. The Carlton spa is the only facility of its kind in the Engadine, boasting a spacious, unique and elegant infrastructure. The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz is where people come from all over the world to enjoy the pleasures of delightful company or withdraw in peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carlton Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing