We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Probably the best 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in. From the pickup at the station, to the welcome at reception and inviting hotel bar, the staff were an mixture of warmth, friendliness and efficiency. Downstairs restaurant missed out on the views afforded the top floor sauna and lounge area, otherwise this hotel was perfect. Food was excellent and 5 course meal included with my stay was a bargain. All the small touches expected from a top hotel are provided. Interior is new, modern and kept clinically clean. Loved it.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    64
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
88
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is a very convenient hotel for skiing at Corviglia – a 5 minute walk to cable car. Very noisy at night with revellers returning from bars at 3 am underneath our window. Expensive even with a 20% discount for off season. Didn’t try the restaurant in the evening as the menu looked overly complicated and rich. There are plenty of other options in the town. However, the skiing was fantastic, so we will come back to St Moritz – but not to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This Hotel is typical of a 4 star Swiss hotel it is clean, tastefully decorated, the rooms are comfortable and it is efficiently run with the exception of the restaurant. I would especially mention the courteous and helpful reception staff and the hotel bar which is run exceptionally well.
However, the restaurant rates about 2 stars the food lacks taste, imagination and quite obviously there is nobody in the kitchen with a modicum of creative ability. On our first night we were served chicken which which was not cooked properly, gnocchi which was tasteless and resembled kitty litter and deserts which were simply awful. No improvement was evident our second night and in fact it took the disinterested and indifferent staff 90 minutes to realise that they had forgotten our main courses - I had words with the restaurant manager who did not seem to care.
Breakfast was an experience, the 3 minute boiled eggs were raw and the 5 minute eggs could be used in an artillery barrage. The scrambled eggs would have been ideal for filling our many potholes and the coffee was undrinkable.
Needless to say we did not frequent this restaurant again although we had paid for half board.
So be warned I would recommend this hotel for drinking and sleeping only, eat at your peril.
Also you cannot swing a cat in the ski room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

About one week prior to checking in, I contacted the hotel to confirm our reservation and to inquire about a transfer from the train station. The staff at reception responded quickly and mentioned that they do have a transfer service and indicated that if I knew what time we were arriving, they would have a car waiting. I wasn't exactly sure what time we were arriving , opted to call the hotel from the train when we were about 1 hour away from St. Moritz.

The driver met us at the station and was polite. The reception staff was fluent in English and answered all of our questions before taking us to our room.

We booked a deluxe room with a queen bed. The room overlooked the street and was fairly large by European standards. Some of the furnishing in the room looked a little tired, but the bed was comfortable. A word of caution, the hotel is right across from a church and the bell rings from about 8am to 8pm every 15 minutes, 15 and 45 after the hours it's a very short chime (the hammer will strike the bell once or twice).

For breakfast, they offered the typical eggs, sausage, bacon, cold cuts, breads, cereal, juices, coffee etc...

The staff made a couple of dinner reservations for us and gave us a lot information on the town and were to rent skiis.

Overall, we had a nice stay at Hotel Monopol

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I had a great time in St. Moritz for the Polo World Cup and Hotel Monopol definitely played a part in my enjoyment of this great town. The service was impeccable and friendly, the hotel was in a very convenient location and our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was especially luxurious.
The complimentary fruit basket was also very thoughtful. Breakfast was superb and the sauna/steam and jacuzzi were excellent also. Just a little surprised at their nude only policy! (Apparently the norm in Germany and Austria!) All in all, a great stay! Thank you! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocodemer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The ladies at the reception are the politest I have ever seen and they are knowledgeable
about the area and keen to help. Another recruitment company must be used for employing male members of the staff.
Hotel is not the cleanest, but well-located, at the heart of St Moritz Dorf, close to ski hire and Corviglia lift.
Breakfast mediocre, don’t drink the freshly squeezed orange juice. I’d recommend the bread though and the coffee is good. That is what matters to me.
Would I go back? The bath system is lovely and so is the large walk-in wardrobe. It was a choice between Steffani and Monopol for me, and I went for Monopol. I will try Steffani next time, may be better… or not. But, yes, I'll try Steffani next time. Monopol is a bit squeezed in between large buildings. Steffani is overlooking a large round about.
I recommend with caution, because it woul dnot be fair to say "never go".

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheerstoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Very convenient location but quite noisy. Excellent restaurant with great service.
Wi-Fi is problematic - functions only in the lobby and because
of low speed almost non-existent.
Some rooms are small and poorly furnished.
Front desk is sometimes unfriendly.
Late check-out is not possible and front desk will not even discuss it.
Quality-price: below average.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing