We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, pleasant staff, central location”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, pleasant staff, central location”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in St. Moritz by train from Zurich. The hotel advertises that they will pick you up at the train station so when we arrived I was looking for a phone to call the hotel. I found the Monopol van and driver who apparently meets trains every day to pick up hotel guests. He put our luggage in the van and off we went up the hill to the hotel. That's a nice service for someone who has never been to St. Moritz before.
We were greeted by a young man who told us our room number and gave the key to the bellman (he was the van driver) who took us and our luggage to room 506. See my photos of the room. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the bar man informative as to the local economy and the effect the strong Swiss Franc was having on their tourist business.
The morning breakfast (included) was offered on the lower level. The selection of items was sufficient to nourish one for the start of the day. We didn't use the spa but did tour the area and the outside deck on the top floor. On a sunny, warm day, it would be a pleasant place to sit and relax ovelooking the lake. The exercise area was in one small room next to the Spa (we didn't use it either). Although others have commented about the church bell tower across the street, we noticed the bells didn't ring after 8PM or before 8AM, so we weren't bothered by their ringing and slept well. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel but didn't find St. Moritz very interesting or beautiful as we later found Zermatt to be. We would return to the Monopol were we to travel to St. Moritz again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    64
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
88
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just back after spending 3 nights at the Monopol. Found the hotel to be both welcoming and bright. Reception staff we on the ball from the moment we called them from the station and we were picked up within 5 minutes. When we got there they gave us all the information we needed and arranged to have our luggage picked up as soon as it arrived the next morning ( we had used fly-rail baggage system and as we arrived in the early evening our bags we not gonna make it till the morning. A great tip for fellow travellers using this system is to take a change of clothes and their toilet bags separately from their main luggage. If I had done that I would not have had to sit in the beautiful restaurant, eating wonderful food whilst wearing a pair of shorts and a football top. Our room was compact but excellent. We were on the bell tower side but the bell ceases between the hours of 7pm and 8am so it was not a problem. We had a thoughtful and tasty welcome fruit basket, a mini bar and all the other things you would expect apart from tea and coffee making facilities ( but this is the norm I think as none of our 3 Swiss hotels had this). The view from the roof was fantastic and we even watched a late night thunderstorm from there which was a sight to behold.

The Restuarant staff were both friendly and professional, and the food, as I said, was top class with a varied and fresh Ala Carte menu. Breakfast was also excellent. As is the case all over Switzerland it was a buffet Breakfast and I felt I wanted for nothing. Never really used the bar area but it looked clean and bright. All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Monopol and would highly reccommend it to anyone travelling to St.Moritz

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi,Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My 13-year-old son and I stayed one night at this hotel on June 2011. The room was small but clean. The bed, toilet were fairly good. There were two things I didn't like:
1. We didn't have WiFi in the room.
2. Our room was near a bell tower. The chime sounds good from distant, but may become annoying if it's close to your bedroom.

Room Tip: book the room that locate far from bell tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Probably the best 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in. From the pickup at the station, to the welcome at reception and inviting hotel bar, the staff were an mixture of warmth, friendliness and efficiency. Downstairs restaurant missed out on the views afforded the top floor sauna and lounge area, otherwise this hotel was perfect. Food was excellent and 5 course meal included with my stay was a bargain. All the small touches expected from a top hotel are provided. Interior is new, modern and kept clinically clean. Loved it.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is a very convenient hotel for skiing at Corviglia – a 5 minute walk to cable car. Very noisy at night with revellers returning from bars at 3 am underneath our window. Expensive even with a 20% discount for off season. Didn’t try the restaurant in the evening as the menu looked overly complicated and rich. There are plenty of other options in the town. However, the skiing was fantastic, so we will come back to St Moritz – but not to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This Hotel is typical of a 4 star Swiss hotel it is clean, tastefully decorated, the rooms are comfortable and it is efficiently run with the exception of the restaurant. I would especially mention the courteous and helpful reception staff and the hotel bar which is run exceptionally well.
However, the restaurant rates about 2 stars the food lacks taste, imagination and quite obviously there is nobody in the kitchen with a modicum of creative ability. On our first night we were served chicken which which was not cooked properly, gnocchi which was tasteless and resembled kitty litter and deserts which were simply awful. No improvement was evident our second night and in fact it took the disinterested and indifferent staff 90 minutes to realise that they had forgotten our main courses - I had words with the restaurant manager who did not seem to care.
Breakfast was an experience, the 3 minute boiled eggs were raw and the 5 minute eggs could be used in an artillery barrage. The scrambled eggs would have been ideal for filling our many potholes and the coffee was undrinkable.
Needless to say we did not frequent this restaurant again although we had paid for half board.
So be warned I would recommend this hotel for drinking and sleeping only, eat at your peril.
Also you cannot swing a cat in the ski room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDRICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

About one week prior to checking in, I contacted the hotel to confirm our reservation and to inquire about a transfer from the train station. The staff at reception responded quickly and mentioned that they do have a transfer service and indicated that if I knew what time we were arriving, they would have a car waiting. I wasn't exactly sure what time we were arriving , opted to call the hotel from the train when we were about 1 hour away from St. Moritz.

The driver met us at the station and was polite. The reception staff was fluent in English and answered all of our questions before taking us to our room.

We booked a deluxe room with a queen bed. The room overlooked the street and was fairly large by European standards. Some of the furnishing in the room looked a little tired, but the bed was comfortable. A word of caution, the hotel is right across from a church and the bell rings from about 8am to 8pm every 15 minutes, 15 and 45 after the hours it's a very short chime (the hammer will strike the bell once or twice).

For breakfast, they offered the typical eggs, sausage, bacon, cold cuts, breads, cereal, juices, coffee etc...

The staff made a couple of dinner reservations for us and gave us a lot information on the town and were to rent skiis.

Overall, we had a nice stay at Hotel Monopol

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#11 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing