We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and service in the middle of glitzy shopping in St. Moritz!”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

When I checked in with my dad for an overnight stay in St. Moritz (we did the Glacier Express to St. Moritz followed by the Bernina Express the following day), we had been on a train for 8 hour straight. Nothing beat coming to this plush hotel right smack in the middle of downtown St. Moritz - even more pleasant was the fact that we were upgraded to a Junior Suite to have a restful night in quiet St. Moritz (there were many luxury brand boutiques and massive holiday homes, but nobody seemed to be around - perhaps it was more lively in winter when ski season would be on?)

The service was excellent - the driver came down to the train station to pick us up and drop us off the next morning; the spa area on the last floor had an excellent view of St. Moritz (lake and mountains in the region - I spent the next morning alone in the jacuzzi living life before I had to run off to catch an entire day of trains and buses to finally end off in Milan)!

Of note was the constant contact that the staff at Hotel Monopol had with me prior to my check-in at the hotel. About 2/3 days before I arrived, they emailed me asking if I'd like to find a restaurant to have dinner at - something I didn't think of in the midst of all my keeping in touch with the smooth coordination of my mini-Europe trip. I asked them to give me recommendations, and they provided me with some excellent choices - even restaurants at rival hotels and their personal favourites as locals in the town of St. Moritz. The Veltliner-Keller served the best ribs we had ever tried and was a local favourite (it was filled with locals when we went there)! Excellent recommendation and the food was not that pricey for Swiss standards (especially given that we were in the glitzy town of St. Moritz)!

I would highly recommend staying here if you're looking for comfort, service and class in St. Moritz (especially if you had a long-day travelling like we did between cities in Switzerland).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Monopol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Monopol: a very nice hotel. Great service from very attentive, friendly staff - they could not have been more welcoming. Food was uniformly excellent at both breakfast and dinner. We stayed half board and the menu was entirely a la carte - the first time I have seen an a la carte menu when skiing half board. Nice facilities, including roof top spa with a view over the lake. A couple of downsides: firstly, the rooms are very hot at night and there is no aircon, secondly, the fit out of the hotel is really very good for a ski hotel but it is a little impersonal e.g. the bar has the slight feel of an airport club class lounge rather than an alpine hotel. That said, overall, a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomC294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Centrally located in the town centre, with comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and a light and airy roof top spa with great views, the Monopol is a reasonable quality functional lodging in St Moritz, more suited to a two night stay than a long vacation. Breakfast in the basement restaurant is adequate but not exceptional, the bar off the lobby comfortably modern but marred by a rather surly barman. Beds are a little too soft, and too low. Adverse comments about the adjacent clocktower appear overblown as it doesn't strike until 8am when any self respecting St Moritizen should be up and preparing to go about their business hitting the slopes or the shops.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here with a tour group. Good nice modern room, with view over the lovely laneways. I would certainly stay here again. Easy to walk around town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sawnbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monopol in St Moritz for a week, commencing 4th February 2012 as part of a ski package booked via Inghams. The hotel is in a good, central location; just a few minutes walk from the Chantarella funicular, which takes you to the Corviglia ski area. We found the staff to be very customer focused apart from one individual we encountered on our arrival when we arrived at 10pm after a 5 hour train transfer from Zurich airport. When we called the hotel to collect us from the station, as arranged by Inghams, they refused and instead sent a taxi, for which we were expected to pay. This cost was subsequently reimbursed by Inghams, but made for a very irritating start to our stay. The next time we encountered this individual his manner was much improved.

The hotel is clean, modern and tastefully decorated and has a large comfortable lounge. Our room (a superior double) was not huge but was comfortable and frequently serviced. There are no kettles in the rooms and the hotel does not loan irons to guests (but will iron clothes for a charge).

We stayed on a half board basis, which included a buffet breakfast and five course evening meal. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the evening meal was of excellent quality with a good choice of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes every day. Drinks prices were on a par with other 4 star hotels; around 7CHF for a glass of wine. The restaurant and bar staff were friendly, very helpful, flexible and extremely attentive throughout our stay. We would definitely eat in the restaurant again even if we weren't resident.

The hotel has a pleasant spa area, with a large hot tub but no swimming pool. A small but adequate ski room is available to store skis and boots (complete with boot dryers).

A range of languages are spoken by all staff.

We would certainly recommend a stay at the Monopol.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small - upgrade to a superior room as a minimum
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forty-somethingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Monopol for 3 nights and had wonderful experience!

Front desk was professional and helpful especially when we asked to change to a room that doesn't face the main roundabout downstairs. They did that for us immediately without any difficulty. Although I didn't use the spa service, but we took a tour on the 6/F where the facility is at. It was 10pm and we didn't expect anyone to be there, but there stood a cheerful spa receptionist ready to serve once the elevator door opened, we explained we just wanted to take a look and she was absolutely cheerful and welcoming and still introduced the facilities we could use. I've been to other so-called 5/6* resort where spa services charge in triple or more, but Monopol's service at the spa was exceptional at anytime of the day! Wish I had more time to use next time.

The hotel is conveniently located at the centre of the town, right next to the Burcherer shop. Though the reception area is smaller, but the suite / room is spacious, sufficiently equipped as a solid 4* property. Check out the floorplan pic I shared for the better view rooms, in fact, most rooms have good view, but just watch out for the ones facing the roundaround, which could be noisy for traffic. There were bottles of mineral water and a tasty choco cake prepared as treats in the room before we arrived, of coz all hotels in St. Moritz comes with a price, but little things like these tell you your money was well-spent.

Breakfast was good with many hot / cold items to choose from, again service at the hotel restaurant Grischuna was outstanding, I would share more at the restaurant page, but really want to call out the male server and the older lady server at the restaurant. Their dedication and passion to their jobs are hard to find in many 5* hotel, or in the job market these days. Of all the hotel selections in St. Moritz, I really think Monopol deserves higher ranking than the others (tried out restaurants at other higher-ranked hotel but wasn't sold at all!).

Room Tip: Pick higher floor, avoid the 3 rooms on the far right (see picture)
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beluvbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is nice hotel in the center of St Moritz. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the rooms nice and spacious and modern. Our only dislike about the hotel was the noise from the street as party goers left the local bars but the hotel does provide ear plugs in the bathroom for guests to use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentleysinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: £184 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing