We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in St. Merits”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our journey through Switzerland. This hotel has superb location, close to shopping, restaurants and some of the major sites. Our room was wonderful with large windows, good size bathroom, great beds and had good amenities. Eventhough it was in center of the town, it was very quiet. The hotel staff at the front desk as well as the bar tender were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good, centrally located hotel in St. Moritz.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, inside room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Monopol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed in Hotel three nights earlier this month. Street noise was excessive to the point that sleep was impossible. When i visited with the hotel manager at 2:00 a.m. he told me that he had already called the police. He stated this is a common problem in all seasons with many of the local hotels and the police do nothing but drive by. Very nice hotel but one with a huge noise problem. This is not an isolated incidence from college students. This is a common problem caused by rich, young, kids who have had too much to drink and who don't care whom they disturb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here July 2013 as part of a Great Railways Tour. Rooms were well appointed with the exception of A/C - there was none in rooms so leaving windows open was only option. (Even the Brits are complaining about the lack of A/C.) Lots of noise from vehicles, tourists, and locals. It's midnight and the foot traffic and loud voices have not subsided and their is a diesel truck right outside our window. Breakfast buffet included watery scrambled eggs, link sausage that looked uncooked, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread, juice, coffee, or tea. May be a good value by St Moritz standards but not American. Scandinavia has no competition from the Swiss on breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you for your review of the Art Boutique Hotel Monopol.
Thank you for informing about the few items on our breakfast buffet which were not at your taste.
We do not provide AC in the Hotel as St. Moritz is situated at an elevation of 1850 meters above sea level and it is very rare, that temperatures go above 20 degrees in summer.
The location is ideal in St. Moritz in the middle of town, just a few steps away from all shops and mountain railway. Unfortunatly some nights are loud in town when people stroll around during mild nights. This particular saturday was busy as students had heir last days and all young college people were celebrating their graduation.
we are sorry, that you had an unconfortable night and would very much like to apologize.
Yours sincerely Lucas Merckaert, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived in St Moritz on the Glacier Express train. Outside the station there is a board showing pictures of the hotels. Press the appropriate button and speak to the hotel. They will send a car to fetch you from the station. What an excellent service.
The staff were charming, efficient and helpful.
The room was lovely, and the bathroom was, well luxurious. The duvet and pillows were the softest we have ever experienced.
We had dinner in the hotel each of our two nights' stay. Excellent, attentive service, perhaps a little over the top! The half board menu was extensive, much better choice available than is usually offered for half board arrangements. Breakfast buffet was very good, and the kitchen would cook anything you wanted.
We were a little alarmed when the church bell rang every 15 minutes! but this stopped at 8.00 pm and began again at 8.00. am. Altogether a pleasant stay and they drove us to the station at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Central , comfortable and good breakfast. Friendly staff and good security. Clean and tastefully decorated. Internet wireless but not free which is normally free at other hotels in the area. Positive the hotel is near the station and buss service. If you like night life then the area has a buzz for young people with cafe's and eating places all around the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRONNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for the Engadin Ski Marathon in March and chose it due to its reasonable pricing relative to other hotels and its central location - near the station, ski lifts and bus links as well as bars and restaurants. It was a hugely pleasant surprise - so much more impressive than I'd expected. The staff were exceptionally helpful - I had a stomach bug when we arrived (2 days before the marathon - not ideal) and the staff went out of their way to look after me - cooking me plain pasta for dinner and cleaning our room in the 1 hour window in which I was well enough to leave the room! They also helped us with all of the logistics in terms of getting to the marathon start etc. and started their breakfast at 5am that day so we could all eat before we went. In terms of alpine skiing they have a great offer whereby if you have a ski pass for as many days as you're staying with them you pay 25 CHF a day instead of 75, so well worth it. Their spa is lovely, as is their roof terrace. The restaurant's food is of a very high standard, as is their breakfast - huge choice and excellent quality food. All in all we could not have been more satisifed and will definitely stay here again for the marathon next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

centrally located, the hotel Monopol provides a very pleasant environment for a stay in St. Moritz.
Friendly service welcoming guests upon their arrival. Nicely refurbished rooms of decent size. Excellent breakfast buffet with a wide variety of food, served in a pastel colored setting. Which is also the restaurant Mono, which offers mediteranean food with some local colors for a reasonable price. Service also excellent. Decent wine selection available.

The wellness area does indeed offer great views on surrounding mountains. One nit-pick: too many noisy and bathing suits wearing teen-agers in the sauna and silence rooms....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlybrown65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: £191 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing