We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the Spa. I would say that this sets it apart from the other hotels in the same category in St Moritz. The swimming pool is wonderful but i think the best thing is the outdoor Jacuzzi with a view of the mountains:-).The room that i had was not big but decent size. You have a pillow menu in your room so you can choose the one you prefer to sleep with. Lovely! The location is very good, internet is free and good and the reception lounge are is very old worldly and charming.
The breakfast was very fine, plenty of staff to make your experience the best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have been going to the Kulm for over 10 years now, most of the time over Christmas and New Year and recently also often in January.
It is a treat to return to the Kulm on every occasion.
Its position and location mean that it is at the higher end of the village with marvelous views of the Lake.
The accomodation remains in all respects some of the best which I have ever come across, whilst not making one feel one is in a palace or museum - whether it be defined in terms of the comfort of the beds, the decor and the layout of the rooms, the wardrobe capacity or the high quality of the bathrooms.
The kitchen continues to exceed itself and should you wish to alternate, there is plenty of choice during your stay, whether it be rustic Italian, Japanese, Chalet Swiss, High end Gourmet, or even the choice to take your half board at lunchtime at one of the mountain side restaurants.
In fact, I would dare to suggest that if you are fond of good food, there is no better ski resort in the world than St Moritz. If you doubt the veracity of this assertion, I dare you to come at the end of January for the Gourmet Festival!
As for day time pursuits, St Moritz isn't the cradle of winter sports for nothing.
For skiers, a shuttle bus will have you within 5 minutes at the bottom station of the Chantarella cog railway from which it is merely a 15 minute ride into the Corviglia ski region.
If dolce farniente is more up your street, then either proceed down to the Sunny Bar terrace or wander a little way outside the hotel grounds to the sun terrace at the Chesa al Parc where on a fine day, you can soak up the Engadine sun.
Should the weather disappoint, then a box full of temptation awaits you. As of 2012, the Kulm has just completely renovated its pool and spa area. Professional staff provide a wide range of treatments from the obligatory classic and sports massages attuned to sports enthusiasts to the cosmetic and frivolous treatments which only the mind can dream up!
On that count more generally, the staff are very approachable and willing more often than not to do the impossible. For the size of the establishment and with the occupancy rate the hotel captures at times, this can only be applauded in the profoundest way possible and for this the management needs by definition to be extended the most profound congratulations for instilling the degree of harmony amongst the staff which there is.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Certainly there is no shortage of 5-star hotels in St. Moritz, but the Kulm is special. Firstly, its history founded by Johann Badrutts (he, of Badrutts Palace) the Kulm is one of the best-frequented hotels in the area. The walls of the Sunny Bar give witness to the great athletes, nobles and scions who have tried the Cresta Run with a display of marvelous vintage photos. The Dracula club is where the rich and famous of all nations gather to party like rock stars. The civilised Nito Restaurant has outstanding Japanese food - with 13 points Gault Millau. I travel often to Asia, so when I don't feel like those heavy cheesy Swiss meals, its definitely a good choice. Finally, walk along the long corridors to the Jazz bar, the Kindergarten, the Games room and you will quickly understand how a place of its grandeur has maintained its legendary status. In the main salon the curiously decorated columns and contemporary art give the space a fresh, modern feel missing in too many Swiss hotels, despite the exorbitant rates. I write occasionally for travel journals (on record, I was never hosted at the Kulm and they never paid for my stay or any PR), while the Kulm is very expensive if I could choose to stay in any hotel in St Moritz, this just might be it. I qualify that statement only because as a luxury travel journalist, there is no such thing as perfect. This comes close.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

So if you are like me you have been reading review after review trying to narrow down your best hotel in St Moritz. I spent like 3 months doing the same. Stop there and book the KULM. I had it narrowed down to either this or Badrutts. Badrutts was great. Actually had a slightly better location in town, but was a tad bit stuffy for us. We definitely did not feel very welcome walking thru in our hiking clothes after a long day. Not to say there is anything wrong with that, but the Kulm was also a true 5 star property that treated us very warmly every single day. The entire conceirge staff were tremendous. They went out of their way to help my girlfriend and I every day. We met several of the managers including the general manager, who greated us prior to our departure. Everyone was amazing and our entire trip to Switzerland was highlighted by St Moritz and this hotel. By the way the free breakfast that came with our room was to die for. They had the most amazing choices and the eggs were delicious. Book a room with a balcony over looking the lake. you definitely wont regret it. I loved sitting out there each evening before dinner and listening to some music, drinking my wine and eating some delicious local cheese. On another note, check out the Italian restaurant by the golf course next to the hotel. The food was incredible! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony. AMAZING VIEW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here late August during a hiking trip to St. Moritz. We had a great stay, the staff at the hotel was wonderful, warm and friendly. While it may seem $$$, we actually received a lot for our money, our cost included access to all the lifts/trams in the region and a wonderful breakfast each morning. The concierge team was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for some luxury each evening after hiking all day!

Room Tip: If available, book a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Booking.com has the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sxbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

very nice room, extremely comfortable bed and linen. very clean. it is a pure pleasure to stay in this junior suite. the service at check in was a bit slow due to the fact that we arrived after midnight. but check out was fast and smooth. we liked a lot the omlette for breakfast and the large bathroom. the size of the room was great and compared to normal hotel rooms it is worth it to stay in a junior suite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have been going to the Kulm for many years. Usually its a family vacation with my parents and this year we also took the kids so we were a lot of us! The service was outstanding as usual and there are many little perks that make your stay so pleasant, from the tiny bathrobe and slippers for my 3 year old to the fact that they went to buy goat's milk for my other son who is lactose intolerant. The rooms are nice and even the cheaper mountain view option still have a fabulous view. The only thing we were slightly disappointed in was the service at the dining room. We seemed to remember the food being a little better the previous years and on Saturday night we had to wait so long for out main course that my mother left the dining hall (she was getting tired). I am sure it was just a problem in the kitchen and pretty much a one off. Our kids were very happy to frequent the kids' club and our stay was fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: I actually like the mountain view rooms as they tend to be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lopalops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.4 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Gian Hotel
San Gian Hotel
#4 of 33 in St. Moritz
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulm Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulm Hotel St. Moritz

Address: Via Veglia 18, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: £329 - £1,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kulm Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the majestic mountain landscape of the Upper Engadine, Kulm Hotel St. Moritz is located in the heart of St. Moritz and offers breathtaking views over the lake. Awarded with the prize Hotel of the Year 2018 by GaultMillau Switzerland, the hotel offers 172 rooms, junior and luxury suites; everyone is a masterpiece decorated in uplifting colours, with real wood and fine fabrics. The Kulm Hotel has always practiced the high art of refined gourmet cuisine. The five restaurants offer various culinary delicacies, which range from carefully prepared local specialities to international haute cuisine. Kulm Spa St. Moritz (2000 m²) with whirlpool, children’s pool, open-air pool, Kneipp footpath, salt grotto, steam bath, Finnish sauna, bio sauna, resting lounge. Kulm sport: summer: own 9-hole golf course and three tennis courts. Winter: Ice skating and curling rink, Bob and Cresta run. Meeting rooms: 6 conference and seminar rooms (up to 500 persons). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kulm Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulm Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing