We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Dorf (City Center) - easy access to ski area, shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location in Dorf (City Center) - easy access to ski area, shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

As other reviewers have stated, right in the center of the SM Dorf. Lots of pedestrian only walking available to the many, many high end shops. Any high end clothing/ fashion mnfg has a storefront in StM. Prices are HIGH! Hotel staff was very helpful with getting our late arriving luggage from train station. Free pickup and only 5 min drive(uphill). Staff also helpful answering our questions about local stuff. I only speak English and that was not an issue from anyone on the staff. Breakfast was included and very large variety of items or you could custom order from menu. Visited the fitness center but not the in-house spa. Primarily a ski trip. Steps away from grocery store, ski rental, surface tram to take you up to another station and then to the skiable areas. Bus line has stop right in the central square right outside the hotel. Room a bit on the small side, but very comfortable. Rooms were well attended to by maid service x2 daily. Was there for FIS World Cup races (women - Go Lindsey Vonn!) and the nightly bib drawing was right around the corner - very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoreline_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    120
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
83
115
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Enjoyed a glorious week ski-ing in St. Moritz Switzerland.
Organized with Switzerland Travel Centre of London who were excellent. Stayed in the Hotel Crystal a 4 star plus, Which are members of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world.
Everything that is written in the brochures about the hotel was true and more.
It was excellent! From the friendly Receptionist "Especially Angela & Tabathia" to the maitre de Michael and Angelo also the waiters. All very professional and relaxed.

The location of the hotel is very convenient in St. Moritz Dorf (centre of town) and only 5 mins walk to the ski funicular lift.
The hotel is also located in the middle of High End Shops etc.

The restaurant offers superb cuisine of the highest standards with very generous portions given.
The beds are very comy and bathrooms beautifull. "Turn down" nightly service is very welcomed and also the Wellness Fitness facilities are fabulous for relaxing after a hard days ski-ing.
I also joined the St. moritz ski school for the last day and our ski instructor Suzi was also excellent.


A E Bromley
Bolton
England
Jan 9th - 16th

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alecbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

While we spent Christmas vacation in St Moritz in a nearby condo, we visited the Crystal Hotel Grissini restaurant on several occasions. We had our Christmas Day luncheon there, as well as two other casual lunches on ski days. From traditional Swiss/Alpine dishes like Rosti, Wienerschnitzel to homemade tortellini, to more "exotic" choices (the veal curry was excellent, so was the fish), there was a choice for each of us. Even our children were thrilled with yummy spaghetti bolognese or wienershnitzel. We also spent some time in the bar/lounge area on our last evening, which had piano/singing entertainment. Overall, the service was friendly and attentive. At the Hotel Spa, my wife enjoyed a relaxing massage after a long ski day. The Hotel/restaurant is just steps away from the mountain shuttle/train that takes you to the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobX81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel as part of a 2 week tour of Switzerland, Italy, Germany and Austria by train. The hotel is convenient for the station ( we walked up with rucksacks but the hotel has complimentary transport if you need it), and pretty central (unless you want the Spa bit of the town down by the lake which is a bit of a hike, or else a short bus ride away).

The hotel lobby and rooms are nicely appointed and furnished, but we found it too hot for our comfort, not helped by the staff closing the metal shutters at our window whenever we were out (we opened the windows whenever we got the chance, but this seems to run counter to Swiss habits). Unfortunately, there was quite a lot of road noise with the window open, as our room looked out over the busy road, and the public car park/toilets opposite were more or less on a level with our bedroom, making privacy a little difficult. Our room wasn't massive (for the price), but adequate.

The staff were very attentive, and breakfasts were good and in pleasant surroundings. What we hadn't realised until we arrived, though, was that St Moritz was in closed season. So our plans to take cable cars or the funicular railway up into the mountains (the start of the latter being just a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel) came to nothing as everything was shut. A pity, as the hotel had given us complimentary passes for this as well as the other cable cars, and even the hotel staff didn't know that all of these were closed! We discovered that the day after we left, the first of the cable cars started running, but that most would remain closed for a few more weeks (best to be prepared if you're planning to visit in May, June or early July).

In fact, most of the hotels including the big ones were also closed, which meant that so were many shops and restaurants, leaving the whole town feeling rather forlorn and with very little choice for where to eat. We tried the hotel restaurant and have to say the food was very indifferent, despite being highly priced (£8 for a bottle of sparkling water!!). Pasta was soft, swimming in an undistinguished sauce, and we're sure was dried rather than fresh. The following week, we stayed at a lovely little 3 star hotel in Italy costing around a fifth of the price per night as the Hotel Crystal in St Moritz, where the food was head and shoulders better than our meal here. The second day, we bought food food from the supermarket opposite instead!

On the plus side, we had resigned ourselves to a dismal time in St Moritz with everything closed, but started walking up some steps next to houses climbing up above the funicular railway station. We kept on walking up, took a grassy path that followed and before we knew it found ourselves surrounded by stunning wild flower meadows which then opened up into magnifient panoramic views of the surrounding, still snow-clad mountains. Truly wonderful, with delights like black squirrels, nutcracker birds as well as more species of wild flower than we could count. Don't miss the experience, especially if you're visiting in spring/summer.

To be fair, we may have had a very different view of the hotel had we stayed there during a busier season, either winter or full summer (if the latter doesn't get hotter still!). And it's certainly much cheaper than many in St Moritz! The staff, too, were very friendly, although we did ask several times for pillows that never arrived...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughrigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

St.Moritz is definitely a excellent place to visit if you love skiing, luxury, nice food and wine.
Ski paradise, swiss feeling and hospitality.
Nice to visit with family and friends.
Crystal hotel is a great place to stay. Check out the fire place after skiing and order
a nice bottle of french or italian wine.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I was very disappointed with my experience at the Crystal Hotel. The accomodation is nothing special, the staff are unattentive, and it feels much more corporate than cozy. Feels like staying at an airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milanskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

+ Good location for skiers, about 80 meters away from the ski lift and right across a parking facility ( take note though that this is a rather compact village, and there are other hotels sharing this advantage as well ).

+ Breakfast was good, with a nice selection of marmelades and cheeses.

+ We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but ordered room service twice and the quality was good.

+ Wireless internet connection worked fine. The hotel also provides a terminal for guest use at the lobby.

+ We really enjoyed our nights out at the hotel bar, a place that felt both cozy and lively with some fine live singing.

+ Gym and wellness facilities were quite nice.

- The room was definitelly on the small side, with very little free space to move around. Comparably, the bathroom felt larger and better appointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: Traunter Plazzas, Via 1, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crystal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built in 1962 & re-opened in December, 1997 after $10 million renovation -1 km from train station & 7 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel St Moritz
Crystal St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing