We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exclusive boutique hotel”
Review of Giardino Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Giardino Mountain
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“exclusive boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at Giardino mountain in autumn and winter and became a fan. A true 5 star experience, yet relaxed and without dress code and pomp as other 5 star grandhotels around St. Moritz do. This is an exclusive boutique hotel with style, a cozy atmosphere and a pefect service. Especially in winter its very romantic with candles everywhere in the hotel and the fire place lounge. But also autumn was nice with the outdoor terrasse and lounge to hang around. We had a junior suite in autumn and a double room large in winter. Both rooms had the same style whiel the junior suite had a bathtube in the room and was slightly bigger. I even prefered our double room. The spa is devided in one section with the pool (many kids and families) while in the sauna/steamroom were only adults so very relaxed an calm. The 2 saunas had a good size and the relaxing zone did not feel crowded although it was high season. I had a massage which was good. The hotel guests were mixed about 70% couples all ages and around 30% families which were not disturbing if you are looking for a quiet holiday. We will come again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
146
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Superb service - from the very beginning, the staff was very attentive and made us feel very special.

Gourmet food - starting with breakfast, lunch and dinner. I had my best dinner in Switzerland here.

Great spa, pool and very practical ski rental all within the premises of the hotel. Hotel's shuttle will take you to the slops and bring you back.

The kids area looks very cool. Saying that we have not seen many toddlers and we left ours at home. We will definitely come back with our toddler.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at GM between 2/2 to 5/2 2014. The hotel is located around 10 minutes from St. Moritz station by car. On our arrival we were picked up by the hotel without any hassle. The staff were very curteous and greeted us well. Our room was located on the 3rd floor #324 and we had an amazing view of the snow.

The experience over all was amazing. We hope to see you again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 47ayusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel surprised us -very modern style and decor combined with perfect service. Special thanks to the concierge work, it was highly professional and kindhearted. The spa area is nice,though the swimming is only indoor. The location of this hotel is not in downtown st.moritz dorf, but its only 8min by car, and besides the hotel provides transer to the nearest litf

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rebekka026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not much to add to the other reviews. We stayed 3-nights over Christmas and had a great time at the hotel and in St. Moritz (Hotel is actually in Chamfer) The property is beautiful, but the service is not up to par. The service at reception is outstanding starting with the the transport from the train station, followed by fireside check in. After that, it is just not 5 star worthy. A few of the staff were just not friendly or helpful and seem more interested in sales (spa, restaurants, lift tickets) than in customer service. We had issues with arranging a day of skiing through the front desk. We told them we needed to rent equipment and scheduled a transport to the ski area. When the hotel driver dropped us off at the lift, I inquired about where to rent equipment and he said he didn't know. I asked the lift operator, and they directed us to a nearby hotel. When I asked the driver to transport us, he said that that was unusual because most people get equipment from the shop at the hotel (Giardino)! No mention of this by the front desk staff in 3 different conversations re: skiing and no mention by the driver who took us to the mountain to drop us off without one piece of ski equipment. This could easily be a 5 star destination with a little more work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were staying at the Crystal Hotel which is situated in the heart of St Moritz and celebrated our daughters 20th birthday at Giardino Mountains Restaurant "Guardalej". We arrived by private car and the fairy lights were awesome the trip took about 10 mins. The hotel itself had a great ambience with candles lit everywhere and gorgeous Christmas decorations. It was a Thursday night and we were fortunate to have Resident DJ of Jockey Club Ibiza "Lorenzo Al Dino" spinning some tunes in the lounge bar he is there during th winter season. Chef Markus Rose cooked us an amazing dinner of Pappardelle with duck, tuna tartare, Vitello (beef carpaccio with a tuna sauce), ravioli stuffed with brown onion, Wiener schnitzel, beef cheek, crispy cod and Rosti with salmon. All the meals were sensational we had local beer and Pinot Noir wine. The total bill for our group of 6 was 481chf which for St Moritz is great value. It was a fantastic night for the 3 generations of our family even the teenagers thought the place was cool!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveStarTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Outstanding hospitality during our stay and through out our stay from Dec 8 to 13. We were a group of 5 adults n 3 active kids.
6 stars service from reservation, front desk, concierge, especially Lucas, who are always there to assist us. F&B, housekeeping n drivers.
Food from the restaurants and snacks from bar are excellence, very international.
Daily free shutter service, with friendly drivers are plus.
Resort is in a small, quite village of Champfer. A short distance away is Lake Champher, which is so magical during winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
636 reviews
2.0 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
302 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Gian Hotel
San Gian Hotel
#5 of 33 in St. Moritz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Mountain

Property: Giardino Mountain
Address: Via Maistra 3, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Giardino Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Giardino Mountain combines a characterful design, a high level of service and a laid-back ambience, creating a place where you can recharge your batteries in summer, and enjoy cosy comfort in winter. Cycling, hiking, yoga, golf or skiing, tobogganing and ice skating - as a Breakout Retreat in Champfèr near St. Moritz, the Giardino Mountain provides new energy and relaxation with character. The three restaurants seduce with culinary surprises: from Mediterranean delicacies with an Asian influence at the Guardalej restaurant, and regional specialties from the Engadin in a rustic ambience at the Stüva to the art of star-cuisine at Ecco ST. Moritz. The dipiù Spa with its ample space and elegant design ensures that body and mind will gain strength and promises a world of equilibrium and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Giardino Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing