We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
235
105
28
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
105
28
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whiskey bar guiness book view of the lake glacier express train station double comfort whisky drinkers massage therapist snow covered lake st the hotel sits wooden furniture bus service up hill classy hotel surrounding mountains minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We travelled on Glacier Express for 8 hrs across Switzerland to end at St Moritz Rail Station. The Hotel is located a short distance across a short footbridge. When we got off the train, we were delighted to find a noticeboard with all the hotels, each with a intercom button. we pressed the intercom for Waldhaus Am See and instantly the hotel staff verified us and sent a van to pick us up and the lugguages. The driver was kind enough to drive us for a quick tour of the city and gave us some pointers of the city.

The hotel's architecture and furniture seem to be of Italian influence as St Moritz is quite near to Italy. The hotel fittings and design seems like an art museum with lots of wood structures.
The bathroom wares seems dated. An interesting feature of our bedrooms is that each has a big window which opens out to a veranda which we walked out to view the Lake St Moritz. This gave us a panaromic view of the Alps. We enjoyed thoroughly capturing sunrise and sunset of the scenic view.

Breakfast was served as part of the deal while dinner was paid for separately. Meals were served in the big restaurant on the ground floor. The restaurant has a high ceiling and many big windows with view of the Lake. Breakfast was generous with many kinds of bread and good choice of cheese.

Room Tip: choose room which opens out with big windows to face the alps and St Moritz Lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glacierEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a wonderful find at a great price as I was travelling from Bellagio to Munich. I had forgotten about their "Guiness Book of Records" largest private collection of single malt scotches in the world (not to mention their 50,000 bottle wine seller), but it probably played a subliminal role in my choosing this hotel from my online search. Very affordable (apres saison) for a single room (which was very small with a single bed); however, the other amenities, from the wonderfully appointed bath to the onsite spa facilities, along with the incredible lakefront location with easy walking distance into town, made the overall experience wonderful. Incredible staff, from the front desk to the bar and restaurant. I had an excellent dinner with fresh "spargel" and a great Tuscan wine. Again, very affordable. Met some great folks from Mittnewald in the bar after dinner and just had a very fun time chatting and sipping on a rare lable (not expensive) single malt. Yes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

What a wonderful location overlooking the lake & walking distance to the train station. Excellent property, Great service with smile, very good breakfast and good food for dinner.
It is little up hill so may be difficult for old people, they provide free transfer service to the station. Our children had fun riding bicycle around the lake which are provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank always_helpfulMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

4 star quality family run with welcoming down to earth service, exceptional view and simple quality tasty food with affordable prices for St. Moritz. Free shuttle service from the train station to and from hotel, a nice 5 minute walk along the lake to elevator into town or 20 minutes along the lake and then walk up into the small town. Hotel offers free access to the mountain transport network with a 2 night stay. The sauna room and steam room are not accessible for wheelchair. This is the only hotel on the lake. The 5 star and other hotels are located above the lake or in the small village.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view. Also, we heard no noise even if our room was located next to the elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkwhale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

spent 2 nights stay here.

friendly staffs and always willing to help me whenever i ask for information.

nice cheese fondoue inside their restaurant.

great room with view looking at the st moritz lake although the lake is deeply frozen.

just 7mins walk to the train station but they still provide bus service to pick me up from station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews