We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canteen Service at the Price of Grantourismo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had experience some nice dining evenings at the a la carte restaurant at the Waldhaus before, with well prepared traditional food and an excellent wine selection at fair prices (the latter relates to the wine selection only). We therefore decided to try the hotel for a weekend in the summer. A bad idea, as we now know after the fact.

We booked the half board arrangement at 350 CHF per night for a double room. The room was nice at first sight, quite spacious with nicely smelling "Arvenholz" wooden fittings (but no view). However, the bathroom was exremely small, with no chance for 2 people to fit all their bath belongings. Simply uncorfortable, and on top of this, if you are looking for blings to darken the room in the morning for a long sleep, your search will be in vain.

The half board 5 course dinner turned out to be at a canteen level: Oversalted spinach, tasteless sea fish, no flexibility of the kitchen when announcing that one of us had lactose intolerance: instead of offering alternative dishes (all 5 courses were cream based), a salad-sauceless dry fish-fruit salad alternative was offerd with no substitutes for 2 of the 3 starters. And the size of the fish serving was reduced to 50%.

The day after, this rather impacting impression continued at breakfast: One has no choice where to sit, and if you voice that you would like another table, the answer is rather harsh. Then, whoever wishes to eat a fried egg has to prepare it oneself at the buffet. There is only one cooking plate for the whole breakfast room, entailing waiting queues. No towel around to wipe off the remnants of the raw egg after having fried the same (with people using their raw egg fingers to subsequently cut bread, whereas there is only one protective towel to grasp all bread loafs leading to people touching the bread with their raw egg fingers). As if this unsanitary impression were not enough, when you approach the fruit salad bowl, you find only canned fruit in it. Something we have not seen in decent hotels since the eighties. Nothing one finds at the rather spartanic breakfast buffet has been freshly made.

Generally, the service personnnel does not make the best of impressions. With few exceptions, the staff in the dining and breakfast room is not educated to interact politely, rather reminding of staff working at youth camps. Reception was correct, but not very cordial upon arrival with no offer to help with the luggage, and totally indifferent at departure - not even asking who the stay was.

Now the bitter pill: You get an overnight stay with a great lavish breakfast buffet at pretty much any grantourismo five star hotel in the vally at the same price as the half board arrangement at the Waldhaus. Gvien that the half board dinner and breakfast are canteen standard at best, the arrangement we had booked turned out to be a rip off. We therefore chose not to have dinner there the second evening. All in all, this is a deal for canteen level service in every respect at a Grantourismo price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Allegra!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short in many points. As our Hotel is over 120 years old, the space is given as they built it many years ago. Therefore are some bathrooms smaller then we would like to have them. While our renovations in 2013 we were able to optimize many of our premises. Your disappointment about the experience in our restaurant is understandable and do work on improvements to avoid this in the future. Please take our sincere apology for these circumstances. We do hope you had a nice stay in St. Moritz. For the future we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, S. Bernasconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldhaus Am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

A must do at this hotel. There are 2500 different whiskeys that you can choose from. They have a tasting choice where you choose 4 to sample, but at 45chf each, for tiny samples it's a better option to buy a 4cl portion from whiskeys you like. If you say the type you prefer, eg, smokey single malt, they will guide you. They have an extensive cellar where you can purchase by the bottle from their extensive collection

Stayed: June 2014
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Marie

Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel and aspecialy for our Whisky Bar! It was nice to have you here and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon again here in St. Moritz!
Kind Regards, S.Bernasconi and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stay 2 nights here. Friendly staff, bicyles are free to ride. Simple breakfast. Lake view room at 240CHF in non peak season, a bit expensive but location is just at the side of the lake. Free shuttle service is provided. When arrived the train station, there is a stand that you can find the hotel name , just press the the button ,you can talk to the hotel staff directly. They can reach the staion to pick you up within 5 minutes.
They also have spa n massage service, check the price list in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciaLEUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Lucia,

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here in St. Moritz. We whish you a nice journey and all the best.

Sincerely, S. Bernasconi and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having always heard of St. Moritz, Switzerland as the land of the rich & famous, I had been a bit apprehensive about going there, as we are neither of the above. However, I would have to say that the staff of the Waldhaus Am See Hotel could not have BEEN more welcoming! From the moment we checked in, everyone went out of their way to be friendly & as helpful as possible.

Our room, #303, felt, to us, like the best room in the house. We were a corner room, with two huge (I would estimate at 4 feet across and 5-6 feet top to bottom EACH) picture windows facing the length of the lake with mountains at the far end that we had eyed en route as true Swiss Alps, having no idea that we would get to know them well, along with mountains to the right of the hotel. Our side view, both from the bedroom AND the bathroom, was of MORE mountains both beside the hotel as well as behind the hotel. When we showered, we could actually look out the window at the mountains!

When eating dinner in the dining room, we again felt like we were given one of the best tables in the dining room, right along the window so that we were able to watch the mountains change as the sun was going down. It was unbelievable.

The Waldhaus was conveniently located near the train station, maybe a 10 minute walk, and once road construction is completed, maybe a 5 minute walk, though in either case, the hotel had a shuttle driver who would deliver you there. It was isolated from town noise, a definite plus. We took the train to Diavolezza cable car to view Piz Bernina, the tallest of the eastern Alps. We were not disappointed. The train ride was beautiful, both going and returning, the cable car ride took us up to give us views unseen from the road & train below, and the view of so many peaks from one spot was breathtaking. We were walking in snow at the top of the cable cars! Down below, we were able to go without jackets.

Waldhaus Am See, while not inexpensive, was certainly not one of the highest priced hotels in St. Moritz; but I would arguably venture a guess that it had the best view. During It also had a portion of the walking/biking path around the lake, so you could just go down the front steps to start a relatively flat walk with scenery to die for. They had bicycles available at no charge for guests.

Also, if you book two nights or more, you are given a pass that allows FREE access to all public transportation. This includes busses, the trains, and the cable cars. There are more than Diavolezza; but during our visit, it was the only one already open after winter. We found that for the train ride and cable car alone, this saved us at least 100 Euro, not an insignificant amount.

The dining room staff was very friendly and helpful in guiding us in our meal and wine selections. Vlado, our waiter, was so sweet and kind, and Luis Miguel, the sommelier, was spot on in helping my husband pick a wine best suited to his taste.

While only staying at Waldhaus Am See for two nights, we did find it most convenient to dine there both nights. Our first evening, we both had the Creamy Barley Soup as part of our meals. It was so wonderful that we both ordered it AGAIN our second evening. Upon checking out, we were given a bag of dry Creamy Barley Soup ingredients! It came as a total surprise and a much appreciated one. Also, they have a scrapbook in the lobby with postcards available for purchase---or so I thought. I handed reception my list of 10 double length postcards, fully expecting to pay for them. I would have expected no less. I was stunned when the young woman told me there would be no charge! She was so gracious and I was so grateful!

In order to get a relatively low price, I would suggest going to Waldhaus Am See before or after "the season". If you are a skier, this may be out of the question; but it's worth considering. Regardless, this was our favorite stop along a month-long trip touring 6 countries. That says a lot.

Room Tip: I would highly suggest requesting Room 303, as it was elevated enough to have a birds' eye view...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Melanie,

Wow, thank you for the great review of our hotel! It was so nice to have you here and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay that much. We hope to see you again and whish you all the best.

Sincerely, Sandro Bernasconi and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Am See has the most amazing views and we woke up to the lake right infront of our window. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and offered to run us to the train station. Our room was spacious and the bathroom lovely, but no shower gel or shampoo as the distributors in the bath had not been refilled.

Sadly it's the wrong time of year for this hotel. There's nothing printed in any language but German, the breakfast room was understaffed, we ate amongst tables that had not been cleared and were shown a place we could cook our own fried eggs!(this is a first for us in a 4 star hotel) also it sounded pretty dangerous depending on the cook. I would suggest you check out the building at the station too, as it's just near this beautiful hotel, the works can be heard into the night.

I hope to go back one day when it's really busy and there are plenty of staff. The whisky bar I was really looking forward to trying had people smoking cigarettes and drinking beer, more a pub than an exclusive bar, despite the hundreds of fascinating whiskies, we couldn't get passed the first table of smoke.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the lake view, it will blow your socks off every hour when the light changes. And don...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Suemike
Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate it as we can always learn from it. We are very unhappy about the constructions going on at the train station, special as we cannot prevent our guests from the noises. The experience you had at the breakfast should not have happened. Every guest has to have a nice fresh done table. We are a 3* Hotel and therefore we do not have a breakfast-chef who prepars warm dishes. Nevertheless we want to offer some warm dishes so we decided many years ago to let our guests do their own eggs. This is kind of a tradition and some like it and some not. We sorry that you did have some bad experiences in our hotel even though hope you keep the visit here in St. Moritz in good memory and to see you again some day.

Kind Regards S.Bernasconi and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is well positioned on the lake away from the glitzy centre of St Moritz. Our room at the front had a lovely view over the lake. The staff were very friendly and the facilities were fine but not exceptional. The whisky bar is absolutely sensational and reason enough alone to plan a visit. The restaurant was good with an excellent and varied ( price and style) choice of wine. We would happily return in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jpt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and are looking forward to welcome you again here in St. Moritz.

Kind Regards
Sandro Bernasconi and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The complete experience started with trying to find a parking place for the car in the snow covered parking lot: difficult! Then it seemed that we were bothering the receptionist from other work during our check-in at the hotel: not very friendly! The room was OK but really needed a work over. The cover of the ceiling lamp was missing. The way to the balcony was through a window in the room with steps inside. The only really nice thing in the room was the bath room: totally new and very functional!

The so called biggest whisky bar in Switzerland turned out to be extremely small and cramped; more then 10 persons did not really fit and all persons accessing the main dining room needed to pass through this small and cramped bar. The selection of whiskies was really large.

The main dining room was extremely large und decorated sometime in the late 50's or early 60's. The welcome there was also not really friendly and one did not feel welcome! The variety on the menu was extremely large and the food was OK.

Check-out was no better then check-in but we only stayed 1 night anyway. There are better hotels in the area and at a better price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWaldhaus7500, Manager at Hotel Waldhaus Am See, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sponi

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate you honesty and are glad to be able to learn from this experiences. You are right we did have lot of snow this December and on some days we could not keep up the cleaning of the parking as we wanted to. The time over xmas is fortunately very busy but therefore sometimes also a bit chaotic as everything happens at the same time. Never the less we are very sorry you did not get the warm and helpful welcome we intend to give our guests.

Our rooms were partly renovated in November but we did not get the chance to renovate everything. Therefore we still have this funny access to the balcony in some rooms like they were built many years ago.

Our whisky bar is the largest in the wold concerning to large choice (2500 different Whiskies) but as you saw not in m2. We would love to have more space for all our Whiskies and guests who like to taste these "Water of life" but as the hotel was built in 1885 the space is given and we cannot change this easily.

Even though we hope you keep the vacation in St. Moritz in good memory and would be happy to welcome you again here in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Sandro Bernasconi and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.5 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus Am See

Address: Dimlej, Via 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: £151 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldhaus Am See 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing