We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski weekend in a pricey station”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great ski weekend in a pricey station”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

St. Mortiz is an expensive place to visit, but the ski is great and the area gets a lot of sunshine, so it's worth checking for hotel deals. I got such a deal on a single room at Schweizerhof for an extended weekend (Saturday-Tuesday) and I wasn't disappointed.

I was picked up at the train station along with my gear which was stored for the in the ski room. My sunny single room was as big as many double rooms in large European cities (say, Paris...) and had plenty of storage space. The design may not have been the most modern, but everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was Swiss chocolate as a welcome gift. I also appreciated the carafe with the little card indicating that the local water tastes very good, there is really no reason to drink bottled water in St. Moritz. The bathroom was small and, again, perhaps not very modern (fabric shower curtain in 2014?), but it was clean and the shower offered good water pressure, a must after a day on the slopes.

The excellent breakfast buffet is served in the main restaurant which has a grand, classical air to it. I only had dinner there on the second night, and I regret not having taken the half-board for the entire stay as the food was excellent and the price was good value compared to what can be found elsewhere in St. Moritz. Next time, I'll know better! There is also a nice bar by the dining room where you can enjoy a prosecco before dinner. There is at least one other bar and another restaurant, but I haven't tried them. There is also a souvenir shop. Of all the wellness facilities I only used the massage service, which I can recommend to soothe sore muscles after an active day.

You get your own locker in the ski room which is in the basement. On downside of the hotel is that you're not directly by the lifts; the funicular is not that far, but it's an uphill walk and with ski boots on and skis on your shoulder it's not that comfy. I wouldn't do it with my 5-year old. I couldn't see any racks to lock my skis by the lifts like in Zermatt, so I had to carry them back and forth every day.

Everyone at the hotel was courteous and friendly, and I felt welcome in this beautiful setting even when I came back all sweaty from my day outside. Given that far from all the guests are there for skiing, this is actually significant, as a solo traveller I could easily have felt out of place but thanks to the staff I didn't.

Overall an excellent stay, and I will gladly stay again at this hotel if I go back to St. Moritz, the only exception being if I was to travel to ski with the little one, because of the distance from the lifts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    94
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
110
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Perfect location for end-of-season ski trip. Front desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were well appointed and we enjoyed sitting on our second floor balcony enjoying the view of the lake. Our only criticism is that the double bed was not very comfortable and one of us would always end up in the gap between the two mattresses pushed together to form a double/queen bed.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAmericatoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

One word to describe Schweizerhof hotel SUPERB,We stayed Easter weekend before boarding the Glaizer Express,The staff were friendly and polite and the rooms and food excellent,breakfeast on Easter Sunday was magical in the panoramic dinning room over looking lake St Mortiz and snow capped mountains,it was like being in a snow globe,we had presents of Easter eggs on our table What a wonderful hote right in the heart of St Mortiz,they also provide a free shuttle to and from the station

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is lovely, friendly and sophisticate place. We stayed in the junior suite - bright, roomy with big windows and beautiful view on the lake and mountains. Bed is comfy and big, bathroom comfortable and clean, equipped with bathrobes and even a scale. There is complimentary mini bar (water, beer, soft drinks) and espresso machine (nespresso) as well as tea making facilities. Good size wardrobe. Breakfast was delicious with eggs cook to order and nice selection of cold cuts. Dinners very tasty and not repetitive, good wines. There is a smoking room next to the bar - good option for smokers. All staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. There is also good restaurant for lunch on-site and surprising roof terrace with perfect view. Very, very good hotel owned by a family - not a chain hotel and you can feel it.
We recommend this place and will be back.

Room Tip: Room 509 is very good and has great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zawsze-w-drodze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel from February 11th until February 19th!
The hotel's location is excellent!!! Right in the center of St. Moritz! Just 5 minutes walk slightly uphill to the corviglia lift! All the shops are close! It is 5 minutes walk to the escalator down to the lake. You can leave your car just outside the hotel's entrance and it will be taken to the garage!
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious, clean and warm!!! Water and chocolate for free in the minibar! The view is breathtaking!!!
There is a fireplace in the lobby bar! The restaurant Acla was great! Delicious tartar!
The breakfast was very good with lots of choices both warm and cold!
The only thing that was lacking was the jacuzzi!!! It would be great to soak up after snowboarding all day!! They have a small spa with sauna and a terrace!
The reception staff could be a bit more friendly!
Overall everything was very high standard!

Room Tip: rooms with the lake view are better of course! We stayed on the 5th floor with amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very well placed hotel in St Moritz with a really good dining room, nice hotel bar and good nightlife in the basement.

Everthing was like you expect it to be in Switzerland - high standard - but stil with a lot of charm and personal tuch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent location in the middle of St. Moritz Dorf. Only 3 min away from the St. Moritz - Corviglia cableway station. The view from the room over the lake is amazing!! Perfect place to stay with the family. The food is good but not over the top. There is no Spa but a small Sauna and relaxation area with the most incredible view over the lake and the swiss alps.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpino2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bagn, Via dal 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Schweizerhof" is located at the very heart of St. Moritz. Open all year, with a superior ranking and it is family-owned. Our guests are seeking relaxation, they are nature and golf lovers, like to bike and hike as well as business travelers. Our 82 rooms and junior suites are modern, bright and friendly on 5 floors with a fantastic view. The seminar and banquet rooms offer contemporary comfort and feature the latest technology and equipment. Our specialty restaurant, "Acla" and the garden terrace, "Acla Giardino" are the place to go for gourmets and lovers of the classic Wiener Schnitzel. Good entertainment and nightlife are guaranteed at our very popular bars with live music. And our mountain cabin Clavadatsch provides you with a delightful view and local dishes during the day in winter and can be turned into the party location for you all year round. All our rooms are non smoking rooms. Smokers are welcome at the smoking room "Library", the "Piano Bar", the "Stübli" and in winter at the "Muli Bar" as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel St. Moritz
Schweizerhof St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing