We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful third stay”
Review of Hotel Languard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Languard
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful third stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel three times and each time we were so pleased with the accommodations and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms are just beautiful with wood trimmings and gorgeous views. The breakfast room is stunning as it overlooks the lake and mountains. The breakfast buffet is quite diverse and filling. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrigirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    43
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
68
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I made a hotel reservation for the hotel Languard through booking.com. I got a special smart deal price for 35.-- Swiss francs for a double room. A day later the hotel director called me to inform me that they put a false rate in the computer and he wanted to renegotiate the price. After all I contacted booking.com. They wrote back to me and started lowering the rate. At the end I gave up and cancelled the reservation. Unfortunately, I am very disappointed with the way they handled the whole case. I really cannot recommend this hotel. Now I start to realize why the Swiss hotels are not doing well. As a Swiss you should avoid St. Moritz. Shame on St. Moritz and the hotel Languard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California (San Francisco Area)
Level Contributor
121 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed two nights here with our Swiss friends. Normally they stay at the more higher end hotels which are more costly but chose the Hotel Languard since we wanted a mid-price hotel since the hotels in St. Moritz can really get expensive. They chose this hotel was because they wanted to give us a "Swiss Mountain Experience."

We took the Bus up the hill and it dropped us off quite close to the hotel. I do not recommend walking up the hill with your luggage - the hill is quite steep. If you choose to walk instead of taking the bus I recommend that you walk all the way to the end of the train station, through the in-door parking lot and through the huge glass double doors that will take you to an elevator that will take you to the mid-point of the hill so you don't have so far to go up hill (we used this several times during our wanderings). Taxi's are available but we didn't use them since the public transit is very efficient and comes every few minutes or we walked.

Upon checking in the hotel they gave us a transit pass that got us on all the buses, trams and local trains for free during our stay. It didn't matter to us since we had purchased a Swiss Pass before leaving the US but it saved our Swiss friends a bit of money since we used it to get to a number of hiking locations around St. Moritz.

Location of the hotel is great! Close to the town square and to shopping, resturants, movie theatre, etc but far enough off the main streets that it was quiet at night. I was amazed that they actually turned off the church bells at night so you can sleep but it did ring every quarter hour, half hour and on the hour during the day. Views from the breakfast room is specatcular! The hotel did have balcony rooms (and our friends said that they plan to stay here again the next time they are in St. Moritz but would book a room with the balcony instead) which over looked the lake. Our rooms had the street view instead since it was more inexpensive. This was a great place to use as a base and go hiking, come back for a late afternoon nap and then go out to wander and eat at the end of the evening. I really had fun looking at all the high end stores (furs everywhere) and listening to my husband gag over the prices - grin! I was told that it was very acceptable to wear your furs here at St. Moritz and they outdoor events where everyone wore them to show them off. This was a novel concept to me since we are from San Francisco and you only saw fake fur.

I suggest taking a walk around the lake - close by and beautiful with lots of benchs if you need and a hotel/resturant or two along the way if you want to stop for something to eat/drink but flat all the way around with a well paved flat path if your handicapped.

The hotel was quite charming and all in beautiful handcrafted wood. Lots of interesting items in the lobby / foyer to look at such as ski metals, sleds, etc. Lots of very helpful free maps and brochures which helped figuared out ones day/evening. The rooms were quite spacious and a very good size. Beds were large and comfortable, flat screen TV, etc. and the room had a safe but the old kind that you had to use a key - loved it! The whole hotel was orderly and quite clean and had a cozy feel about it. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The only problem is that I could not find a hair dryer and should have asked but kept forgetting too.

Breakfast was included with our room and it was the usual Swiss continetal breakfast, - crossants, variety of bread, cold cheeses and meats, yougart, hard boiled eggs, ceral, fruit, coffee, tea, juices -etc (all you can eat) but I have to say that the quality of the breakfast was quite high and was one of the better ones we had during trip to Switzerland.

Would I stay here again - most certainly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Could not fault anything with this hotel. We had room number 24 which was large with spectacular views. No problems with towels and hair dryer was in room. Breakfast was great, typical European continental and plenty of variety. Service and cleanliness was excellent. Location near transport, shops and funiculars. Would be a great place to stay in winter as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicamustang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Many good things can be said and some areas of improvement. Hotel Languard reception is manned by a member of the family which owns the hotel and he was hospitable and generous with information regarding trails and walks and general assistance could not be faulted.

Our lake view room had a breath taking view of the lake and the mountains with huge windows. The hotel is well located, central and near the shops and restaurants, lake etc Free WiFi worked well as did car parking.

A couple of areas for improvement though: towels were majorly small and thin i.e. a hand towel and only slightly bigger than hand towel each, but surprisingly when we asked for an extra towel we received a large (but still thin) bath size towel. My husband queried why we weren't given the bigger ones in the beginning but were told the smaller ones were 'normal'....?

No hair dryer in the room, we had to ask for it and then were told that yes it was available but we needed to come down to reception to get it.

Breakfast: flies loved the salami which sat open outside any cover. The fruit salad was solely made up of bits of cut up apple and lonely pieces of watermelon, our second morning in the hotel this only got worse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed for one night with my parents after finishing the Glacier Express train. We caught a taxi from the train station, but really we could have caught Bus No. 3 and it would have been much cheaper.
It is located in a great spot, with fantastic views of the lake and within walking distance to the main street.
Rico the owner was lovely. So so friendly and happy. He gave my parents an upgrade to a lake view room with a balcony and my Dad was over the moon!! My room was a superior single, and i also had a view of the lake.
My only complaint would be that the towels were a little old and thin. My towel didnt even wrap around me, and the hairdryer was so tiny that it cut off every minute or so because it got too hot.

Other than that a really charming place. Breakfast was really nice. Bed was comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Languard, a B&B Inn during the Carnavals week 2013.
The hotel is clean, service very attentive and breakfast good with excellent bread and all you can ask for.
The room was very big and had plenty of space for 2 adults and two pre-teenagers plus plenty of skiing stuff.
The central location is very good to get around St.Moritz by foot, something you want to do as easy as possible after a day on the skis. The train up the mountain is as well very close.
The architecture outside and inside is traditional local Engadine style which is very authentic and charming.
Over all a very good experience.

Room Tip: call and ask for the type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Languard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Languard

Property: Hotel Languard
Address: Veglia, Via 14, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Languard 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Languard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Languard Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing