We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a very upscale town”
Review of Hotel Languard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Languard
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights prior to taking the Glacier Express train to Zermatt. The hotel was very comfortable with very attentive staff. It felt like you were staying at a small inn instead of a hotel. Knotty pine room decor. The room was very spacious with windows facing the mountains and the lake. A nice breakfast buffet was served in a cozy eating area. We used the free WiFi. It was fast and did not disappoint. The hotel is on top of a hill so you walk down to the main shopping area of St. Moritz, so lace up your walking shoes. As part of a two or more nights at the hotel, we were presented with a tourist card for free public transportation and free rides up the funicular railway and gondola. A great view was had from Piz Nair which is about 3,000 m or 9,000 ft high. This card saved quite a bit of money as the ride up and back is quite expensive, as most attractions and restaurants in this town. A great hotel if you happen to be in St. Moritz.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

From the moment one walks through the door the innkeeper (Enrico?) seeks to ensure your comfort. An extremely warm welcome is followed by being taken to one's room. Any questions are well answered and helpful advice offered.
Since I was traveling alone I had a single room which was most adequate in size. The bed was quite comfortable, with lots of closet space, a desk, bedside table and lighting, and a small TV. The bathroom was quite adequate even though the shower was a bit unusual even for a European hotel. The view from my room was unbelievable--overlooking the lake with the mountains in the background.
Free wifi is offered in each of the rooms.
The innkeeper supervised the lovely continental breakfast, again ensuring that each of his guests had what they needed/wanted along with some very pleasant morning conversations. Breakfast is served in a room with several tables overlooking the lake.
This was a most pleasant and memorable experience. My only regret is that I had not planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livin_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in Dec 2009. It took a little bit of searching to find the hotel, it is not in an obvious location situated on some little back streets about a 15 minute walk uphill from the train station, you should get a taxi rather than walk. The hotel is pretty central to everything in St Moritz Dorf. Very close to the ski train, maybe a 3-4 minute walk. There is a Ski rental shop 20 metres from the hotel.

We were upgraded to a suite on arrival due to staying Sunday - Thurs, and the hotel having low occupancy mid week. Very helpful reception staff providing dining advice and suggestions.

The hotel has a alpine feel with a wooden walled rooms. The breakfast room has a great view over the lake. Breakfast was basic, but nice and included in the room rate.

Excellent service, comfort, cleanliness for a reasonable price in a town that is very expensive.

The best thing about St Moritz is the skiing. The town was fairly disappointing with a lack of street bars, restaurants. Everything seems to be located in the major hotels which are very snobbish and for the rich and famous.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwade77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Good size room, very clean. The young man at the reception desk was extremely helpful - personally took us up to our room and explained everything. He also provided recommendations to two excellent, reasonably priced restaurants. The hotel's buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice, and the two-day travel pass was real bonus. It was a long steep uphill walk from the train station to the hotel although not too much of a probem for us as we are keen walkers and had backpacks rather than suitcases. However, it would helpful for people to know about the elevator system mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I had to agonize over whether to give this rating 3 or 4 dots. It really deserves 3 1/2 dots. W which kept falling down its "pole." The rooms are well-insulated from each other and from hallway noise, although the hotel is next to a clock tower which chimes every 15 minutes from 8 AM to 6 PM, if you happen to be in the hotel during those hours. There is free internet service which worked quite well. There is even a surprisingly nice selection of channels on TV--even a Russian channel (which kept fading, though--the other channels worked well). Also, a great benefit, is a free local transit card, which really makes for a great value.
On the negative side, the room was so small I hardly knew where to keep my suitcase. The towels were really cheap and thin. Couldn't they spend CHF 20 for some decent towels? The soap provided was so tiny it almost fell through the bars of the soap holder (and there is only a tiny shampoo packet instead of a mini-bottle). The cold cuts were rarely replenished during breakfast (mostly cheese sandwiches and muesli). I asked for espresso, having read about it on this website, and it was given grumpily (and wasn't very good). Also, the front desk is completely unavailable from 8 PM to 7 AM.
I will certainly agree that the positives outweighed the negatives. In an expensive place like St. Moritz, one has to be satisfied with what one needs rather than what one wants. Nevertheless, I think this place could be an even more pleasant place to stay with little extra effort or cost.
By the way, the 1 km taxi ride up from the station will set you back CHF 17! (But it will be in a Mercedes driven by a man in a suit...). It's fairly straightforward to drag one's luggage back down to the escalator on the way to the station, though. If you don't have luggage, go left and through the garage as you exit the train station, then head up the series of escalators or the elevator which takes you close to the main plaza.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A lovely hotel and right in the centre of St Moritz; a far better position than I had expected. Our host Sasha was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, although I couldn't press my shirt. But that's the European average. Our standard room was very pleasant, lots of cupboards, nice bathroom with shower over bath. A wall safe, plenty of radiators, TV and phone. Good free wi fi.No aircon but didn't need it. No fridge, kettle or hairdrier. Near restaurants (we ate in one with two kangaroo dishes on the menu) a supermarket on the mains street (tiny and of course very, very pricey) bakery not far from the hotel - in a chocolate shop. Easy to walk to from the station, just go to the left and you go up a series of three escalators in a car park building. They are easy for cases as the base stays flat as you get on. Take note of the huge photos of rockclimbers as you climb. Outside, walk to the left and across the road there's an elevator between shops; take this to the next level, walk to the left up a bit of a hill, the hotel is on the right.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 28 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Languard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Languard

Address: Veglia, Via 14, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: £191 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Languard 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Languard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Languard Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing