We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Old St. Moritz”
Review of Soldanella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soldanella
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Best of Old St. Moritz”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We also ended up in St Moritz because of booking the Bernina Express
train(see review of BauldelaPiquer), otherwise we probably would not have chosen St Moritz as a place to stay.....too glitzy and without much
architectural character.We called the hotel when we arrived at the train station and they sent a small mini-bus for us....we walked downhill through the town to the station the next day. We were very pleased to have reserved a room over-looking the lake in this fine older hotel. Our room was light and airy,quiet, and was well equipt with reading lights at the bedside, and a good sized bathroom. We are non-smokers and did not notice even a hint of any cigarette smoke thank goodness! (see wsmcbrc review) We enjoyed exploring all the public rooms, which are well maintained and full of character. We had
dinner in a beautiful small dinning room over looking the lake. While the food was not anything special it was served by a polite and caring
staff. The breakfast was huge, and served in a dinning room with cream and pale green walls....a real beauty! We felt as if we had made a really
good choice when we saw the other options available, and highly recommend the Soldanella.

Room Tip: Lakeside if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    75
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
86
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We ended up in this hotel as a result of booking the "Bernina Express" train trip. We received a great room with a view to the lake, quite charming. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was great -maybe a bit limited in quantity, but delicious. The hotel has some kitsch decoration with old sledges and tons of color carpets, but somehow it fits. Bathroom was renovatd -something that doesn't happen necessarily often in Switzerland, specially in a 3-star hotel. To summarize: if I ever go back to St. Moritz I could definitively go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BauldelaPiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Every room used to be smoking rooms, and they did NOT do any refurbishments after they switch to non-smoking, so rooms still reek like cigarette smoke. There is no AC, but they claim you don't need it, and that would be true if you could keep the windows open. However, St. Moritz is surprisingly loud, and even if you could sleep through the noise, you would not be able to breathe well. The hotel has a bar and patio on the first floor that is open to the lobby and stairwell, so the entire hotel fills with cigarette smoke. If you try to get a nice breeze off of the lake, you are inundated with smoke from the first floor patio. We tried two different rooms (one being the farthest away from the patio as possible and it was no good in either room. The staff is very nice and friendly and it has a nice view of the lake, but it doesn't make up for the SMOKE!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsmcbrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Soldanella is a lovely family run hotel, which operates in an entirely different way from most St Moritz hotels: it is small, charming and staffed by helpful and friendly staff. You might be justified to criticise the staff in some other St Moritz hotels for being too proud or the hotels themselves for being too swanky.
At the Soldanella what you see is what you get: low key, relaxed, informal, welcoming.

Room Tip: Second or third floor overlooking the lake, corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We arrived from Zurich by train, and the hotel sent their van to pick us up - nice touch as it is quite an uphill walk. The hotel is on the edge of town, but has a nice view from its large deck of the (frozen) lake. The staff are all fantastic. I had a small double room (44) as I was on my own (although visiting with friends to try the Cresta Run). Fairly comfy bed, desk, minibar, wardrobe with safe. Small TV and tiny shower room. The shower itself was amazing (one of only two in the hotel I was told). As a previous reporter says - multi shower heads, LCD screen with temperature and so on. Really fantastic and worth booking this room for this alone. However the room was far too hot and I left the window open for the duration of my three day stay. The breakfast room is spacious and the food spread was yummy. The centre of town is a 5 minute walk on level ground, with the Cresta Run a further 5 minutes up the hill. In the evening, the Soldanella's bar comes alive with that days Cresta Run activities being shown on the TV. The place is packed and the atmosphere is wonderful, whether you've been tobogganing or not. Price was fair. If I could, I'd give this 3.5 score as it is slightly better than 'average' but not quite 'very good'!!

Room Tip: 44 has a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
409 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a place you can relax and enjoy a fantastic view of Lake St. Moritz. You can walk to the local Co-Op, and enjoy good shopping at reasonable prices. From this hotel, you can walk to all the sights of downtown St. Moritz. Their morning buffet's are very good and the management is very supportive of guests and friendly.

You may enjoy the personable lounge at night and this hotel has a lot of "Regulars", who frequent this fine place a lot. The rooms are comfortable and peaceful, the prices are not as high as many of the famous places in town. You can park free in a nearby parking lot and enjoy many interesting places close by!

Room Tip: Book in advance, if going around Christmas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place is a bit dated decor wise in the lobby and public areas, but it had updates where it counted in the guest room. Mine had an updated bathroom with an awesome shower with an LCD screen control and 7 shower heads; 6 along the sides and 1 large one on the ceiling. It was nice to take a long, hot shower after a day of snowboarding.

The included breakfast was good and was standard European buffet breakfast. The concierge was friendly enough and helpful when I needed them.

Overall I had a nice time and would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intl-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldanella

Property: Soldanella
Address: Via Somplaz 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#14 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Soldanella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Soldanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soldanella St Moritz
Soldanella Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing