We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Grand Hotel des Bains Kempinski St.Moritz truly lives up to its heritage and standards.
It is a very nice and luxurious property and provides a cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are great. The shower has a lot of water pressure. There are small balconies with chairs that invite to spend some time in the sun.
For breakfast there is a large buffet with all kind of delicious things and the bar at night is stylish and create a sparkling environment
The Spa is one of the best and nicest I know. There is a variety of different saunas which are all uniquely and beautifully designed with a lot of wood that gives it a traditional mountain resort touch. The swimming pool could be better though and a whirlpool is somehow missing. The location of the property is good, it is only a 5 minutes walk to the Signal cable-car that takes you right into the ski resort.
The staff is efficient and mostly friendly. While F&B and Front Office staff is very helpful, staff in Guest Services (Door, Valet, Luggage) could improve slightly in their attitude. Maybe even some guests who do not look like a tip, will give something extra if service exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel after we spent a week on Lake Como in Bellagio, Italy. While I figured that Lake Como would be a hard act to follow, the Kempinski in St. Moritz was an incredible hotel in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen. The hotel is very beautiful, the service was impeccable, and I would list this hotel as "the" place to stay in that part of Europe. Everything about the hotel was superb; we were there in June and the views and the weather was outstanding, as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawyerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife, our three children and I have stayed here twice now. The hotel itself is excellent, we really like the more contemporary style. But we have had a few glitches with the ski school.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in Kempinski St. Moritz based on an event from our car dealer. The prices are very reasonable, but the concept is different in regard to the expectation of a five star hotel in St. Moritz. The location is not very attractive. In wintertime you will hardly catch some sun overthere and the hotel is surrounded by ugly looking buildings. The walking distance to the center of the village is 25 mintues, by very quick walk. Most of the time the individual transfer was not possible, even when we offered to pay for it. There is a huge fitness and SPA area but it was not possible to relax as the pool was fully crowded by children in the later afternoon. The design of the swimming area is extremely cold and there is no whirlpool for at least some massage pipes. The rooms are nicely equiped, the bathrooms are too small for such a hotel category, but it fits to the reasonable price. In comparison to the other five star hotels it is for sure the one on the end, we stayed in all of them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski M, Manager at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear guest

First of all I would like to thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. Regrettably, I have learned that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

You are absolutely right; our concept distinguishes itself from other 5 star hotels in St. Moritz by its sportive, elegant and not so traditional ambience, yet a 5 star luxury hotel. I can certainly understand that our location might not be of advantage for you but for most of our guests. The Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains is one of the few hotels in St Moritz, with direct access to the ski area. We are only 3 minutes walking distance from the cable car that takes you to the top of the beautiful mountains within few minutes. To visit the village centre the hotel gladly and regularly provide a shuttle service, nevertheless individual requests are not always possible.

As a resort, many families chose our hotel for their vacations, especially during the school holidays. Hence in order to fulfil all guests’ needs and wishes, children are welcome in our pool every day until 7 pm. Here I must appeal to your understanding towards the “little guests”.
I can guarantee you that normally the SPA is not as crowded as it was the last weeks.

Last but not least I have to say that unfortunately I don’t know in which room you have stayed, but I can assure you that we have different categories as well as different room sizes.

Thank you once again for your time

With kindest regards

The General Manager
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We (myself, wife and 19 year old son) have just returned after a 6 day snowboard/ski holiday based at this wonderful hotel. Everything was brilliant - the three restaurants are out of this world and the breakfast has to be seen to be believed. The fitness room is well equipped and large, as is the sauna area. There is also a decent sized swimming pool. Best of all was the service - every single staff member in this hotel makes you feel welcome and works professionally and efficiently, but in a relaxed manner as if nothing is too much trouble. The team in the ski room/shop had our boots (nicely warmed up) and boards ready for us in the morning. Forget the cold and damp ski rooms that you usually get - this is luxury! When we left, the porters took all 10 pieces of luggage from our room as well as our winter sports equipment and packed it all into our car whilst we enjoyed lunch in the bar. Amazing service! We paid about Fr. 5900 for a Classic Junior Suite for 5 nights including breakfast. The suite was easily big enough for three people. In a nutshell, if you are going to St. Moritz, try this hotel, you will definitely not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karate_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Kempinski for 3 nights when we participated in a car event on one of the surrounding ice lakes. I have stayed in a lot of hotels but this one tops them all. In splendor, ambiance, food, drinks but most of all: service.
Everyone greets you with a smile and is very helpful in any way they can.
Our 3 day stay always ended in the hotelbar. You just can't help yourself but order another cocktail from the 56 pages menu!
So indulge yourself and stay in the Kempinski. Hotel is expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and had excellent view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbarellAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

So I recently found myself "stuck" in St Moritz for an evening (terrible dilemma I must say) I chose to stay at the Kempinski for the evening, and it looked like a nice place to stay.. I made a last minute booking and walked in. It took a couple minutes to check in as most guests plan their arrival unlike me.. Nonetheless this was no inconvience, I got to enjoy the warm, spectacular lobby, and I was even treated to a drink (Something you wouldn't expect in Europe) I was finally escorted to my room. I honestly booked the standard room, and had low expectations. What I found was an oasis of comfort in this vast city of -10 temperature. The room was just what I needed and more. I can say the web site, and some other reviews can't do justice. I was very satisfied, and I have stayed at a few grand hotels in my day.
On to the pool/spa.. Flawless, I could go on and on about what you get when you stay here. I am sure you all get the picture. On the day of my departure, went to breakfast which is comped for all guest. Again I have stayed at decent hotels worldwide. What I came to was a buffet that would rival the great breakfast buffets of Asia. The grandeur of the dining room rivaled the St Regis in Bali with of course snow outside instead of Sun and Ocean. Although not a massive selection of this and that, what you have is a fine selection of the best. Lets just say when I went to get blackberry jam for my toast, I had the inconvenience of having to choose from about 4 different blackberry jams! There was a table just for jam, and honey! The service was top notch. Of course you would expect this from a hotel which averages around $1000 a night or so in the winter season, but what I experienced was the staff at breakfast, and in general going above and beyond their jobs. There was also a kids table which was pretty cool.
I didn't want to leave, but all great experience must come to an end (well I guess unless you are a billionaire lol) After checking out, I had a hickup or two ([--] happens of course) When I got in contact with the hotel for a resolution the General Manager Rupert Simoner (not some desk jockey) got in touch with me right away, and like all his staff went above and beyond his duties to make sure I was a happy guest after I checked out. I have to give it to Mr Simoner, he does a hell of a job running this hotel, and all I can say is A+++ Stay at the Grand Hotel des Bains, and you will have a hotel impression which will last forever.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangkokRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: £232 - £1,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing