We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in character!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A hotel run very efficiently even by Swiss standards, when we booked we knew it was a distance from the town centre and was told the shuttle bus runs a lot - this was not correct. This is a very large hotel ,exceptionally clean but with no character and quite modern so lacking in any alpine character. Lobby bar is nice but overpriced - staff are very efficient, would not stay there again on another visit to St Moritz.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

My company stayed recently in the Kempinski Grand Hotel in St.Moritz executing our strategic kick off meeting. We were pampered left right and center with outstanding service, delicious coffee breaks and not to forget a breakfast buffet which was enormous in terms of choice and quality. Please try the very thin sliced tried beef called "Buendnerfleisch" a local specialty yummy.

We stayed for 3 nights with time for relaxation in the evenings. You can go to the Casino, unwind in the huge SPA area or just chill at the Lobby Bar with a drink out of their outstanding beverage selection.

Definetly I will be back with my family for Skiing later on this winter.

Room Tip: Choose a room on he top floor with the great view towards the mountains. Had a spacious corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have stayed at many 5-star hotels around the world as a journalist for a luxury magazine and for private travel and this is one of my favourites in St. Moritz. The place is much more modern than many of the other St. Moritz grand hotels, and so it feels more fresh, young and chic without sparing the details one expects from a grand hotel. The staff are wonderful, very attentive. St. Moritz has many old musty hotels, many in the city centre which is quite busy in winter. I prefer the location of Kempinski, out of the city centre, but a short walk around one of the most scenic lakes brings one to the city centre in only 15 minutes - or about 5-7 minutes by car. its also only 3 minutes walk to the Corviglia lift, which is also very convenient. Across the street is the famous La Baracca - a must for drinks or dinner (and dancing on tables after 11pm)

Overall, a charming, family friendly place. Avoid if you can at New Years, when Russias wealthiest families book all the rooms - not that I blame them - but for a quieter stay, choose any time other than New Years or Easter.

Room Tip: It looks just like the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were there at a wedding during June. It's a pleasant enough hotel, very grand, very large. A bit impersonal one could say. Our room was fortunately a very large double one, brand newly refurbished.
The breakfast provided by the wedding couple the next day was very sumptous, in the large dining hall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank imajesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We wanted to treat ourselves and booked 3 days at Kempinski in St. Moritz, paying over USD 2000 per night. Normally you would imagine to get high quality in return but unfortunately not at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz. I can only recommend anybody who seeks a romantic stay to NOT book this hotel UNDER ANY CONDITION if you like to receive an appropriate service for the following reasons:
1. We arrived by car and parked as you would expect in the main entrance to get our luggage unloaded. However, instead of a friendly "welcome", he looked at us confused, almost questioning why we even parked in the main entrance to get our luggage unloaded. I had to explain in two different languages that we are guests and will be staying at this hotel and whether he can unload the car. Very unusual way of greeting their guests in such a apparently high standard hotel.
2. We booked a king-size bed. I explicitly called 4 months ago and requested it. We arrived and were given two single beds. We asked nicely and apparently it was impossible to get another room. Only when getting angry they apparently "tried". So, even if you call and book a specific condition like a king size bed, Kempinski is not able to fulfill their guest's request.
3. While waiting for the lady to sort out our room for 20 minutes, which in the end was not successful, we got offered a glass of champagne. Nice gesture you would think. But problematic was that both champagne glasses had sediment in it. We made a joke whether the hotel wanted to now poison us. Pity that this is Kempinski.. You would expect at least for them to get champagne right..
4. We were not successful to have a king-size bed room, although we booked it way in advance. To make amends, they offered to place a king size mini mattress on top to give the feel of a king size bed. After they told us they could not find a room with a king size bed, they forgot their offer so we walked into a room with 2 separate beds. We asked the person who walked us to our room to arrange to have the king size thin mattress placed on top, so a few minutes later the maids came…..when we returned to our bedroom after dinner, we realized that the maids had only placed a king size duvet but under that there were 2 separate mattresses without anything on top! So we went down to the front desk, told them for the 3rd time now (!!) to do what they offered to do, and that we would take a walk for 15 minutes to allow them time to do this. We return to the room later and a few minutes later the phone rung…They told us that all their maid staff had left for the evening! We insisted they take care of that….after all a romantic evening with beds that resemble being in camp is not exactly what we had in mind….eventually a maid showed up and she simply put a king sized sheet on top! We tried to tell her that it was not what we had been promised or described, but she unfortunately did not speak English or German…only Italian.
5. We were required to book half board and were told at check in that dinner is until 11pm. This was not a misunderstanding as we made a joke with the front desk member how both breakfast and dinner were from 7 to 11 (am for breakfast and pm for dinner). We arrived at the restaurant at 10:25 to a surprised hostess who told us the restaurant was about to close! Bad communication error? Again you have to get upset at them to get any effort to accommodate you and finally after a lot of negotiation they offered us to sit and eat
6. I wanted to open one of the steam food warmers to serve myself some pasta. They must have let it come to an end where it became dangerous, because when I opened the lid the steam came out so strong that it burned my hand so much that I screamed in the middle of the restaurant. I have little blisters and my fingers are swollen. How can something like this happen?

All in all, it is only our first day (more like 2 hours!!) but we both have stayed in many expensive hotels, including the Baltchug Kempinski in Moscow. But we both have never come across such poor service on the first night.

So to conclude: don't stay there, rude staff who is not able to fulfill basic requests, you might end up burned and really, it is not worth it !

We will keep you posted…with 3 days to go we are bracing for more and at least we can get some catharsis by sharing our experiences…

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 296Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski M, Manager at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Mr 296 Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains.

I was extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and I apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience caused upon arrival and at the restaurant.

I can assure you that your stay was by no means representative of our usual high levels of service and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Thank you once again for the time during our phone conversation, I know this cannot change what you have experienced but I hope you can accept our honest apologies.

On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz in the near future.

Yours sincerely
The General Manager
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Outstanding hotel on all levels, staff are the best assett with no request too much trouble, extremely attentive and conciencious.

Little wonder the breakfast has been voted tops in Switzerland for three years.

The hotel fabric is immaclatly clean and well presented, the Swiss tapas restaurant is too expensive even for a hotel of this status, ie; 1 plate of cold meat and 1 rissoto with two drinks 110 euro! unfortunately cost forces the practical guest to venture out to the local restaurants which again only enhances the St Moritz experience, (try the Mongolian restaurant 500yds away).

Room was large and well appointed with bath and shower on suite.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We did stay at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz for one night. We arrived quite early and had therefore as GHA Black asked before for early Check-In, which was no problem at all. The room was ready, check-in fast, friendly and very smooth. At the room, a very nice tray with some home-made cake and other sweets were arranged to welcome us. The room as well as the bathroom were very nicely decorated with old black-and-white fotos of the area and very clean. We even got an upgrade to a better room.

We then headed out to the SPA, where we were welcomed very warmly. The Spa is definitly one of the best in St. Moritz, it has a huge pool with a perfect, not too cold temperature. The variety of steam baths and Saunas is huge, there are several relaxing rooms with refreshments as teas, sirups, fruits and magazines, newspapers, books etc. A huge private spa area is provided for ladies only, which is not standard in Europe and done beautifully. The spa and pool area was superclean and very well maintained, the spa supervisor as well as various employees checked it often, dirty towels were replaced immediately, refreshments refilled, wet zones dried. When we left, we spa supervisor asked us if we had a good stay and said good-bye in person to all of us. A really superbe experience!

Since our friends arrived very late in the evening, we decided to have dinner at the hotel. Again it was no problem to eat late, even after the official closure time of the kitchen. Since the restaurant was already quite empty at this time in off-season, we were offered to eat from the full menu in the bar. The bar had live music by a talented pianist and is a extremely warm and cozy place with a huge fire place in the middle. Service again was excellent, since some of our friends are smokers, we were even offered to eat in a seperate lounge where smoking was permitted.

The food was excellent, all in all a very nice dinner again with a perfect, caring waiter.

When coming back to the room, the turn-down service was already there and did a nice job, leaving again chocolate - yummy!

The breakfast buffet in the morning was huge, even Asian food was offered. Again the service was superb, all wished were fulfilled with a friendly smile and within minutes.

When we checked-out, the luggage was picked up quickly and the bill was ready, took us no longer than 5 minutes although a huge bus group left at the same time.

We will definitly come back again soon, this place is also perfect for skiing as the ski lift is only a 3 minutes walk away.

The hotel is very well managed, the staff extrememly friendly, helpful and trained very very weill. A big compliment to the hotel manager, this place was outstanding, there was not a single negative or even neutral remark to leave. BRAVO!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: £242 - £1,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing