We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Super hotel with access to ski lift right next door. Staff very attentive and a good spa and gym. We had to leave early so staff packed us a breakfast package to take which was really thoughtful. Cool downstairs drink bar. Free wi-fi, shuttle to town, and other amenities. They even have a kids goodies table at breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    131
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
155
352
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful four-night stay at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz, and we could not have been happier with our experience! We chose St. Moritz as our destination for a ski trip over a U.S. holiday weekend as an alternative to our favorite U.S. ski resorts, which are typically very crowded over winter holidays. The outstanding Kempinski facilities and service exceeded our experience at U.S. ski resorts of a similar high quality, and our room there actually cost us less than similar lodging at top U.S. ski resorts over the holiday weekend. In addition, the fact that the Kempinski has an on-site ski rental shop and is a very short walk from the Signalbahn gondola (which provides access to a vast array of trails on the Corviglia mountain) enabled us to maximize our time on the slopes. When we weren’t on the slopes, we enjoyed the Kempinski’s relaxing and beautifully maintained pool and spa facilities and its complimentary breakfast, which was far and away the best breakfast either of us has experienced at any other hotel in Europe or elsewhere. The hotel housekeeping was also the best either of us has experienced anywhere; they and the other members of the Kempinski staff (as well as staff of the on-site ski shop) were consistently helpful and welcoming. We left the Kempinski after four nights feeling so incredibly pampered, relaxed and happy with our ski experience that we felt like we’d been on vacation for much longer. The Kempinski’s complimentary shuttle service to and from the St. Moritz train station was another benefit that helped to simplify our travel logistics so that we could focus on skiing and enjoying our vacation. We are already looking forward to returning to the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains and skiing at St. Moritz again – it was truly the perfect winter wonderland ski vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

i had a junior suite which was nice and big incl. a walkin closet. Although the bathroom was big as well the shower was super small and i kept hitting myself when washing my hair.

spa and swimmingpool are ok. unfortunatelly there were quite a few children that decided to take over the pool and there was no way of relaxing.

i booked a massage and it was lovely.

food is good and the breakfast serves a large variety of common morning food. was nice.

only the barman in the evening seemed to be very annoyed and couldnt be bothered....

otherwise service was very good. everybody was always keen to read your wishes before you would ask for anything still a very expensive experience for the rooms you get....

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank veve2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

upon arrival at the hotel until leaving, everything was just perfect. the staff were one step ahead all the time, when they noticed I was travelling by myself they suggested an iPad or newspaper with my dinner. there also was a free limousine service from the Polo world cup tournament back to the hotel.
breakfast was also very pleasant
certainly will come again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank private pilot l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

There is no point of talking about the location, style, rooms, luxury etc... You can get them in many of the 5* hotels with similar price tags. What makes this hotel superior is the people who works there. The service was exceptionally good. Specially the concierge team and the reservations team. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alican S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Location, size of rooms, comfort of beds, can be compared at length between 5* hotels, but when it comes to service, that's where you make the difference.

And Kempinsky is different. I have rarely experienced such superior quality of service, charm, poise, and unwavering professionalism with every single member of staff throughout my stay. My congratulations to all.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building, well located with a variety of amenities ranging from a top quality SPA, large swimming pool, adjacent casino, and high level restaurant.

Buffet breakfast is varied, fine quality, and served in a lovely and quiet atmosphere.

If I were to make only one comment, that would be the absence of a kettle in the room with complimentary tea or coffee. But the efficiency of room service counterbalances that small detail.

In short: Pure bliss

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

From check in and meeting the fantastic room manger and concierge to the beautiful room we have been truly spoil!...
My husbands wish for our 9th year together was for me to ski and the hotel have done everything to look after us and make this come true... i am writing this whilst still here and after my first day of learning to ski with an amazing instructor from the hotel (MEDI).
The manager at breakfast knew it was a special day for us and had prepared a card and a bit of bubbly!
we have stayed at the best all around the world and we will be back with our kiddies to check out the kids club.
One small thing the sushi in the hotel is unreal but more expensive than Nobu or a similar restaurant , it wont stop me ordering but should be noted for all those sushi lovers , its worth it!!
we cant wait to return
Thea kalms

Room Tip: i should have upgraded to get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londongirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#5 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Property: Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing