We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The Kempinski is one of the 5 5-star hotels of St Moritz. It's the less formal compared to the others. The rooms are large, so are the bathrooms. Some rooms lack some colour but the hotel started renovating 2 floors and added some colour :-). Breakfast is really great. There are 3 restaurants at the hotel and the quality is good. They also have the Chesa Chantarella, a restaurant on the ski slopes which is open for lunch and dinner. The service is really great. We stayed there with 2 groups in March 2010 and just EVERYONE liked it! It's also perfect located very close to the ski lift (300 metres). The wellness (High Alpine SPA) is one of the best in Switzerland. The Sankt Moritz casino is also directly connected to the hotel and the best après-ski bar (La Baracca) is also on walking distance from the hotel. Love it!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    131
    34
    21
    15
See reviews for
155
354
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

A truly magnificemt experience....I suprised my wife with a 5 day ski / leisure holiday to STM with stay at the Kempinski for her 40th - safe to say that I have brownie points to last me until her 50th. The hotel is pefectly located for skiers and is only 20mins walk from the centre of town...free transfers provided too of course. The architecture of the building is quite special and must stand as one of the most impressive land marks in the area. The dining and particularly the 5 course menu in the evenings completes the day perfectly, not to mention the live and classy music at the bar for afters. The only one thing I would watch out for is the bar bill, but to be honest I expected highly priced beverages which in fairness comes with exceptional service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyLGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The Kempinski was perfect. If I could find any fault at all it would be that it does not overlook the lake, and is a walk into the town but that would be all. (Hotel will also transport guests to & from the hotel to a variety of locations so, not a problem)

The room was elegant and stylish, with all the facilities to be expected, and a lovely view over the slopes and to the front of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have experienced with a huge variety – I could have stayed all day... The gym & spa are worthy of special mention. A very large space, with an extensive ‘wellness’ area of saunas & steam rooms with relaxarium within the complex. The wellness area is mixed gender & naked, which seems normal in Switzerland & Germany, but somewhat unusual for the British traveller! However, as long as this is not a problem for you, the wellness area is very very good indeed.

One evening we ate at the hotel's mountain restaurant, which was charming. The staff throughout the hotel & restaurants were excellent.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel & would return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparklerhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Everything you expect from a trip to St. Moritz comes to life at the Kempinski. Fantastic facilities, the SPA is superb, great decor, and location to the lift could not be better. Spoil yourself with a horse carriage trip at night to their mountain restaurant - you will not be disappointed - great views over St. Moritz at night, food, atmosphere and service are outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorianWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed over for a skiing weekend. Exactly what you would expect for the price. Staff very welcome and professional, very organised with good ski storing facilities. Ski lift is just 2 mins walking from the main entrance.

Highly recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
181 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Tried to check in after at 12.30pm after an overnight flight to be told that no rooms were available. We had to wait in the bar until after 2pm. With hindsight I think the unfriendly reception staff were just making a point that rooms are not available until 2pm, because we found the hotel (and St Moritz generally) very quiet in the week before Christmas. This attitude was not appreciated as we were keen to shower and rest after a long journey.

That was the bad first impression we had of the Kempinski but fortunately things did improve.

The rooms were well proportioned and very comfortable. The food in both the restaurant and bar was excellent, although predictably expensive. Apart from the cold reception staff the other staff couldn't do enough to help us and made a great atmostphere in the hotel. Its a shame the reception staff work so hard to create a bad first impression!

It was very cold during our stay (-20c) and at times I would say that the hotel was not particularly well heated. The area around the swimming pool was particularly chilly. We tried the spa which consists of a series of saunas and steam rooms with a lounge to relax. Bizarrely, for us, the whole area is a "fabric free zone" i.e. swim suits are not allowed although towels are. Why this is considered necessary was beyond us!

The hotels is convenient for the ski lifts but is otherwise in quiet a remote position 30 minutes walk from the centre of Davos. We had a car so only walked into the town once.

Overall the Kempinski is a good hotel with (mainly) excellent staff and facilities but it is a little out of the way and you pay heavily for what you receive.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

A delightful experience - rooms superb, staff welcoming and friendly and the facilities leave very little to be desired - all in a stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Property: Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing