We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilmington SKi Club SKi Trip”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Greenville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wilmington SKi Club SKi Trip”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Hotel Bären is very nice and well located right on main village bus route. Rooms are all a little different but spacious. Some have a balcony. Beds were soft with a fluffy down comforter. All have great views. Staff was very very helpful. Breakfast was typical continental buffet of meat, cheese, fruit , yogurt, soft boiled eggs, and fresh baked breads. Dinners featured local fare and were simple, delicious, with beautiful presentations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    48
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here one night while on a tour of Switzerland with Cosmos, so there were quite a few of us staying at the hotel! I absolutely loved it! It was such a cute hotel - not your typical cookie cutter hotel. Clearly an older building that is very well-kept. My room even had a small balcony! The room itself had the bed plus a separate sitting area! And a very large bathroom with double vanity sinks! Way more than I expected! Everything seemed extremely clean as well. There is a pool but we didn't get a chance to check it out. There are some shops and restaurants about a 10 minute walk into town from the hotel. Not too bad. Unfortunately, most things were closed since it was the evening in the fall - not yet ski season. Everything is fairly expensive, but very cute town! There's an amazing view of the lake with the mountains not far from the hotel!
Breakfast was very nice and well organized. With all of us on the tour there at the same time, they handled it very well! Typical continental breakfast - nothing too special there.
Overall, I loved this hotel and would definitely return! There's even a very cute dog behind the front desk who greets you and then runs back behind the desk on his own! Very homey feeling with a wonderfully smelling fireplace in the lobby! Free wifi in the lobby as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have been told not to expect too much of the hotels in Switzerland. The Hotel Baren proved to be an exception to this. It has good sized bed, bath and sitting rooms and a balcony with beautiful views of the mountains behind St. Moritz.

The food was OK but not what I would normally order (Broccoli soup, ham and turkey and fruit salad).

There is no internet in the room but it is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Unless you like carting your luggage up stairs then I suggest that you ask for a room that is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melboutne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel was dated , rooms need renovating. Fridge in room. Staff were pleasant. Bed was too soft. Pillows to flat. Carpet was very old & worn. Breakfast was very poor. They need to go to coffee making school, it tasted like dirty water. Free wifi in reception area only. As for the area I think this was the 2nd last building at the end of st moritz. But bus stop is outside hotel. 10 mins walk to centre, if you want to call it a centre, nothing but a few very expensive shops which were all closed. A few restaurants, also very expensive. But if you are coming here I suppose it's for the amazing mountains & scenery, which were spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed as part of a Cosmos tour and no doubt from other reviews there are some lovely spacious rooms but ours was not. It was tiny and the bathroom had the smallest shower possible. We found the room safe in the wall at the end of the day, we'd looked everywhere around the wardrobe as usual. There was no air conditioning but we were high enough to safely leave a window open, which overlooked a construction site. Wifi worked only in the lobby and dining room.
We did have a good dinner in the restaurant. The first morning we had breakfast which was just cold selection, the other area of the dining room was sectioned off and occupied by another tour. The next morning we noticed the other area had hot food so don't know if that was available the first morning and no-one bothered to tell us or it was meant just for the other tour.
The hotel is located at one of the furthest points from town, uphill, although there is an escalator half way down to take you to the lake level.
If we were visiting again ourselves we would definitely look for a hotel closer to town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RNP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthAfrica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautiful hotel, quaint and with picture-perfect views of snow-capped peaks. Huge indoor swimming pool with the views of the snow-capped peaks. Pure relaxation and bliss. Fast, efficient internet. Great breakfast. Spacious, comfortable room and bathroom. Nice children's play area. Lovely quaint bar and entertainment area which must be great in winter with the fireplace. Living room complete with books. Beautiful marble floors. Walking distance to shops yet quiet and a pleasure to sleep at night. Reception staff and friendly, helpful and fluent in English.

Only minor issues that I experienced were a hair in the bath that wasn't mine and a coffee stain on the breakfast table- cloth. Other than that, a magical place and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a ways up on steep road and that caused us to skip the walk down to the lake. Our room was nicely updated with granite counters and dual sinks in the bathroom, toilet with its separate door, wood cabinets, doors and paneling throughout.
Being part of Cosmos we were offerred three 3 course dinner options, the ones we tried - penne pasta (vegetarian) 19F, and chicken 20F were nice. Service was fast. Credit card was accepted for over 40F total. Cold breakfast was ok, vegetarian options included milk and cereal, bread and fruit salad.
The hotel has a nice big pool and sauna area, for some reason it didn't appear to be in active use as many of the lights were out and several showers were non functional.
Wifi was available but signal strength was a bit weak to work consistently in our room or dining area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Corvatsch
Hotel Corvatsch
#24 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing