We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel is fantastic, especially considering the price. It is about $100 less than any others I found in all of St. Moritz. It is located south of the lake, but there is a bus (the #3) that stops right in front, making it insanely easy to get to.

The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was positively ginormous for European standards. There was actual room to turn completely around in the shower and they provide Dove brand soap and shampoo.

There are signs up in several places asking guests to keep the noise down after 10 pm. After several days trying to sleep through busy street sounds from other cities and noisy neighbors, this was greatly appreciated.

Breakfast was also free. There is a small buffet in the attached restaurant offering pastries, cereals, a few meats, cheeses, and fruits. We sat down and ordered coffee and it was brewed fresh and delivered with a small pitcher of steamed milk. It was so delicious and incredible that it was free!

The wifi is also free and the connection is great.

There were other little amenities as well that were not in the previous rooms we stayed at on our tour across Switzerland- an alarm clock, art on the wall, a mini bar, kleenex. Just little things that made the room seem much more "homey" and comfortable. Our room also had a balcony and we got great views of the sun rising onto the Alps in the morning.

We went to the hotel's restaurant for dinner and the food was very good and reasonably priced. We had pizza and ravioli and neither of us could finish our meals. The waitress was a little grouchy pants, but other than that it was a great dining experience.

If I'm ever back in St. Moritz, I'll stay here for sure. No question.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    52
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
26
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I found this hotel in which I stayed in one of the buildings next to the main hotel was excellent. The staff were most helpful and offered to lend me an extra large umbrella when it rained and an electical adaptor. Information about activities was available and I really appreciated the daily free salon music concert which was within walking distance from the hotel. As a solo traveller I found dining in their restaurant very sociable. They offered a reasonable dish of the day at around 20 Ch F.
One could walk to the nearest ski lift which by using the hotel's coupons is free this summer.The hotel is at the busstop and the main shopping area of St Moritz is within walking distance via the beaurtiful lakeside walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a very good family owned business. The food is great and you will get a gret selection and big portions. The rooms in the Casa del Sole are very comfortable and the free wifi is great. There are as well computers available.
There is ample free parking, which is rare in St.Moritz. Near the lake, very quiet.
There is overed parking and other facilities for motorcycles, when you re wet, ask to hang the wet stuff into the heater room, washing service available for a good rate.

Room Tip: Have a dinner or two, the pizza is great but the weekly specials are great too. Ask to hang your we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We've been visiting hotel Sonne for the past 3 years for a week to spend New Year's. The location is very convenient (bus stop right in front taking you to Signal- the lift to the slopes), the rooms are decent and clean with complimentary Dove Shampoo and Shower Cream (we are staying in the main building in the rooms overlooking the lot), the front desk is always helpful and the hotel's restaurant is absolutely amazing as it serves the most famous pizza in Engadin. You need to book a table for dinner as it is always very crowded. Also, for those that enjoy walking, the hotel is 15mins walk to St. Moritz Dorf (you can also walk through the frozen lake). Make sure your clothes are warm though.
All in all, it a good choice if you cannot afford the 5* hotels of St. Moritz. The ski experience is rewarding. However, if you're a family of a group of friends, you may also consider looking for an appartment somewhere in the village. It is a super saver choice as you can prepare your own meals etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froufrouathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a great value hotel - particulaly if you are visiting the White Turf as the prices are very resonanable for that time of year. Rooms are spacious and warm. The restaurant is exceptionally busy and they recomend you book. WE did and when we arrived we could see why - it was packed out with skiers, families, friends, couples - the food is really nice (although they don't understand why you would want to share a big pizza) and portions are large. Ice cream is divine and we ate here every night..throughout stay. Service is variable but I think that is because they are so busy...

Room Tip: Book well in advance for a good rate and if you can get a suite and there are a few of you - it is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

One of the oldest budget hotels in a very expensive town. A short bus/ taxi ride from the train station but right next to the famous st. moritz lake.

Nice clean, basic rooms and showers, a good option if you are looking for value in st. mortiz. The on site restaurant Sonne servers some amazing pizzas.

Nothing outstanding but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is a very friendly family run hotel, The rooms are average size, but I can't complain, lovely clean towels, and nice hot showers.I didn't see any lift in the hotel,but this did not bother us.
The food was excellent for dinner and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Great choice,
staff very efficient,work hard always on the go, and and very helpful willing to have a chat.
The bust stop just outside,although we did not use it. Great location for a walk into the
"town"Can't fault this hotel, best value around the area and would come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MossyMossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corvatsch
Hotel Corvatsch
#25 of 33 in St. Moritz
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Sela, Via 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne St Moritz
Sonne Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing