We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in Saint Moritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ski in Saint Moritz”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first experience of a Club Med Holiday and we were very impressed. The hotel is well placed to ski from with only a short walk to the lift (15 min) which can be avoided if you wish to wait for a shuttle bus. The hotel itself is spacious and well maintained with good rooms in the bedrooms. The food and drinks part of the all inclusive is of an incredible high standard comparable to a top cruise ship. There is really no need to pay for any extras. The children's facilities were really good and our 14 year old son was totally engaged in the teen club. The skiing at Saint Moritz is incredible and as good as we have found. If I had one reservation it was the standard of ski instruction that was poor and less profession indeed I have examples where they had poor regard for the safety of those in their care. I feel that the swiss ski schools have grown complacent since leading many years ago and have failed to improve and improve standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LavendonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    207
    102
    44
    29
See reviews for
232
142
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a week in Club Med St. Moritz last February 2014 (family with kids of 9 and 4 years)

It's a great place if you go to ski or to learn to ski. I wouldn't recommend it if you want to party/relax.
The club itself it's not of great luxury, but rooms are confortable, clean and relatively in good shape. It would be probably good to "refresh" toilets, but not big deal.
Food is great. I was surprised to read some comments about the food. Unless you want to have 3-star Michelin meals everyday, you will enjoy the food variaty and quality.
Lunch at the mountains was good. I read some critics about it, but think how difficult is too bring food and cook in difficult conditions...so well done to the Club Med.
The ski was just outstanding and extremely well organized. We went to ski every single day, and the little one enjoyed the min-club. If you want to learn or improve your ski, this is the place to go...great mountains and great teachers.
You need to walk a good 10-15 min to get to the lift, but it's OK.
Mini club was great...kids love it and the Chef de village, was very present.
Book a parking place, it will make your life easier.
If you can bring your own Equipment is also better (renting is a little bit expensive).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pintoejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

So actually, I've never been on a cruise. But this is exactly how I imagine it if you replace the sea with snow, and skiing instead of excursions.

There were masses of staff all helpful and speaking many languages (although preferring French, as one would expect with Club Med's origins). The food was full-board and of a very high standard at dinner and breakfast. Lunch is included, even up the Corvatsch mountain!! It's a pretty big deal to be able to break up your day skiing with a nice private (but crowded) lunch without paying Swiss mountain prices. Although, it was pretty obvious by day 2 that lunch consisted at least partly of yesterday's dinner leftovers. Bottom shelf alcohol was also included and unlimited, but the red wine originating from "red grapes" was pretty poor, as was the Swiss beer. You can of course pay extra for the top shelf. Some things were oddly not included in the price, e.g., internet access, and they push you to buy t-shirts, photos, and other souvenirs.

The facilities were clean and well kept, but dated back to the 90's and everything is fairly plain, especially compared to some of the grand hotels in the area. The sauna, pool, gym areas were all nice, although by the end of the season the womens Sauna had packed it in and the men's sauna was being time-shared.

The evenings entertainment was pretty strained and it must be enormously repetitive for the staff and demoralising when only a few people turn up. But there does seem to be a lively dinner and evening drinks scene in the hotel.

The hotel provides 3 morning busses and 3 evening busses back and forth from Corvatsch. The nearby Bad Moritz gondola serves the other ski area in peak season (when there is plenty of snow). This is really convenient and comfortable, but there's also the public busses for other times. I like the black run off Corvatsch that leaves you a 10min walk back to the hotel. The main town is about a 15 minute walk.

So finally, apart from feeling like you're stepping back into the early 90's, this hotel represents excellent value for weekly packages, and is very family friendly. The all inclusive packages including full board and ski passes seem really good family value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the wings, e.g., x52, should be quieter, away from the activities in the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just had a fantastic week at Club Med St. Moritz. Arrived by train but engine broke down at Samedan. After about 45 minutes a "free bus" took us to St. Moritz Bad. Short walk through the snow (5 mins) to Club Med. Check in took about 15 minutes. Lots of staff around. Room OK. 3 star I'd say. Enough room, just. Very warm, bathroom nice, toilet a bit small, twin beds comfortable, double safe, limited hot drinks in room, bottled water provided (nice). TV, one English channel - news. Lounge area busy and noisy but festive. Difficult to find a "quiet spot" but we went downstairs and used the "Bridge Room" some evenings to check email etc. (CHF25 internet on up to 4 devices for the whole stay - good deal). Food very good and plenty of variety and heaps of food. Free drinks great too. Club Med team tried to sell extras like single malt whisky and cellar wines but we didn't bother as house alcohol was good. Nightly shows great fun - we saw them all. Not always that slick but some individual gems and the cast put their hearts and souls into every production. We also had a dance or two in the lounge at the dance floor end. My wife used the sauna and pool - enjoyed these. Neither of us used gym, stretch class, aerobics class, massage or garage car park so can't comment on these. Staff were all great and worked incredibly hard to ensure all the guests had a fantastic stay. Patrick and Basile (his St. Bernard) were up to see us off skiing each morning. Patrick also "saved" us with a spray of schnapps half way through our trip to Diavolezza! All staff were excellent but two others who really stood out were Ramona and Christine. The ski hire was efficient and professional. The ski storage was tight but we managed to squeeze all our hired equipment in. The skiing was absolutely amazing - late season but we had 70 + cm on the day we arrived! Our guide Jordi, was very friendly, fun and gave us all individual tuition and tips. We toured all over the mountains with him and we were in a fun and well balanced group in terms of abilities, The mountain dining in the Club Med restaurants was good in terms of the food quality but the Corviglia restaurant was too small, crowded and rushed with inferior, crowded toilets - also too few toilets for the numbers of guests. The Corvatsch restaurant was much nicer, newer, larger and nice toilets. The "last" day Club Med Ski Boutique sale was genuine and we got some fantastic bargains. Only other (minor) gripes - few "shuttle bus" options so a bit of walking at the start or end of the day also lack of first aid at the hotel "village" - e.g. no medication for upset stomach on site when all the town chemists were closed. Also having wifi in the rooms would be a nice addition. Overall a fantastic trip, made many new friends, improved our skiing hugely and would definitely come back. Well done Club Med. Our first visit but not our last!

Room Tip: Single rooms share bathrooms, if that is not for you stump up for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Much might be said in praise of Club Med but first and foremost the skiing arrangements are excellent (based on 10 holidays in various resorts). Skiers are graded from levels 1-6, and divided up further among gradations of ability within that, also often by language. The instructors are the local ski school, but don't be put off. This is not group lessons - more ski leading with occasional tips. It lasts all day, often with a good lunch at one of their two mountain restaurants. I am a very experienced skier and group 6 is off-piste whenever suitable - sometimes doing all day excursions to quite remote areas. Great for groups of different abilities.
My wife is no longer able to ski - but at some resorts Club Med provide a 5-day snow shoe/walking group, with lift pass, leader and even whole days out. Some French and German is probably helpful to get the social benefits.
Many, many other benefits of winter sports Club Med holidays and the Roi Soleil in St Moritz in particular - swimming pool, sauna, steam, stretching classes, all drinks free except champagne and some whiskies. Everyone we spoke to is a great fan and most were repeat visitors. Speaks for itself? Unfortunately the web site and brochures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 1 week at Club Med from the 9th March, as a group of 17.
I was very sceptical given all the negative reviews, but the hotel was great.
The rooms are clean, large and very light, with unusually for Club Med, coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The bar area is large with plenty of seating, even for a group of 17. The bar staff were, in the most, very pleasant and friendly. The entertainment is very European but unlike some Club Meds, it is in a seperate theatre, so you dont have to watch it.
The restaurants are great, the food was great all week, on the Seafood night, there were other options, as i am not a fan of seafood.
As we were in Ski classes we were automatically booked into the mountain restaurants, lunch was served in shifts, but there was space outside to sit after lunch in the sun, have to say not sure what you would do if the weather was bad. On the last day when you dont have ski lessons, we booked the restaurant for us at recepetion without a problem.
The ski lessons, were in the main, very good. One member of our group who was a beginner had a bad experience, but this seemed more to be down to the instructor himself. There were 7 of us of a similar level who wanted to ski together and the instructors were very acommodating.
The only downside to the hotel is the distance to the lifts, 2 of the ski areas are a coach ride away, which is provided by Club Med if you have lessons and the other is 500m away which is quite a long walk in ski boots. Coming back there is a shuttle bus, but this does get full easily. This isnt a complaint as we were aware of it before we went, but makes you realise how lucky you are with the Ski to the Door hotels.

The hotel is excellent value given the cost of the food and drink in St Moritz, for example a Vodka, Lime and Lemonade at one of the bars on the piste cost 17Fr, which is approx £11.70!

I thoroughly enjoyed our week as did the rest of the group, i probably would not go back to St Moritz but that is my preference to do with the disjointed ski areas and not Club Med. Having said that the area is stunning, views are amazing and the skiing great.

Room Tip: Book into the free ski classed as transport and restaurants are organised for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My son in his 20's and I searched for a European skiing location and spent hours and hours looking for a perfect location with good food, at realistic prices, bars and veining entertainment not forgetting accessing great skiing.
He found Club Med Roi Soleil. I admit I was very concerned about his choice especially where I have been very fortunate and spoilt experiencing some of the best there is on offer. On arrival we were handled as 'expected' and was not that in amid with the first impressions. I felt ..."Yes I knew that this was what to expect" for the very reasonable price pre paid for the week. I must admit, that, with my stress level on arrival, negative attitude and in need of a proverbial chill pill and kick up the backside I loved every thing and everyday thereafter. Everything was taken care of and I at no stage had to prepare search check or plan a thing. It was WONDERFUL. For a family holiday no matter the age groups it was faultless. I even got used to the rug rats ripping the place apart and the fun they ALL had.
The staff were all fun, the food buffet were massively impressive and the we were spoilt for choice. The sea food evening a knockout! For those travellers who love good home type grub Roi Soleil was fantastic and met everyones choice and whim. Beer, wines, booze, free, on tap and unlimited, coffee, snacks afternoon high tea it was ALL there. My eating habits took one hellova smack between the eyes. It was great.
We were shipped transported taken entertained fed away from the hotel up mountains all for free and un- expected. We were taken to "local" places via luxury bus where needed. Taken to places and areas one would normally never access let by the local expertise and experience of the ski instructors. Not normal in this day and age.
JUST FANTASTIC.
Rooms were average and bathrooms generous size. TV channels selection was not great and could be uplifted in terms of more channels however it was no big issue to us. Wi Fi bandwidth was effective and efficient.
For those cost conscious families here is the sure way to know exactly what your budget is and not one penny more, no hidden surprises or unread small print. The only extra cost was a mere CHF 25.00 for high speed internet connectivity I needed for the week for two devices.
The experience/ offering is generous, very generous in terms of value for money, and I am not very easily separated from my hard earned cash.
I left this hotel having had a great holiday de-stressed and very satisfied in every respect.
I however would have loved to have tripped up one of the brats that thought the lounge was a playground. Maybe I should have targeted the parents who let their kids run riot instead.
Book it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th Floors town facing have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#5 of 33 in St. Moritz
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil

Property: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Address: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#17 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the snow-covered mountains, Saint-Moritz Roi Soleil stands at an altitude of 1750 metres, near the lake that lies alongside the town. Tucked away in this cosmopolitan and select resort, the Village effortlessly combines luxury and tradition, and offers you the unique spectacle of horse and greyhound racing, polo matches, or the famous cresta runs on the nearby frozen lake. After a day in the snow parents and children can meet up in the play area for a sledging session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Roi Soleil Hotel St. Moritz
Roi Soleil Club Med
St. Moritz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing