We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Moritz Youth Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Schweizerhof(St. Moritz)
US$351
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soldanella(St. Moritz)
US$165
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laudinella(St. Moritz)
US$228
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Steffani(St. Moritz)
US$330
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Languard(St. Moritz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
48
60
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
60
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentire roomyogurtsingle bedfamily roomminute bus rideclassic swisscross country skichfstmoritzlakeskiswinterskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

It was quite a distance from the town centre. During peak period, the bus 3/9 goes all the way to the youth hostel entrance. You can find the bus station just next to the train station. there is a panel that tells you what time the bus is coming. If you use a swiss /flexi pass on the train for that day, you can use it on the buses.The hostel is right at the end of a road near the forest. This makes the place a very nice, peaceful and quiet place to stay in. The place is more like catering to swiss famillies' weekend getaways. There do not seem to have a lot of backpackers staying there like me.

I stayed in a 4 female room all to myself for 3 nights.In the room. There are individual wardrobe plus lockers to use. it uses a 2francs coin to lock and it is refundable. Rooms, toilets and public areas are really clean. Breakfast and dinner included. There have good varieties. Please keep your own plates after meals. Bicycle rental available.

If you stay 2 nights and more, you are given a free unlimited engadin st moritz cable ride card to use. You have to put a refundable deposit for this card. At the cable car station, you do not need to purchase tickets. Just go straight to the gantry and Scan the card on the yellow portion at the cable car gantry entrance for every segment.

For free wifi, you need to get a code on the notice board to login, then you just need to enter your mobile number with your country code to get a verification code that will be sent to this mobile number. use this second code to login the website and you are good to go (for my country, any incoming sms is free, outgoing is chargeable, not sure about your country but check the roaming policy before you leave your country).

If you explore a little, you can find a shortcut through the apartments and walk to st moritz lake in just 5mins. you can save a lot of walkings up or down the slope instead of passing through hotel sonne to walk to the town centre which is the long way. Very friendly and helpful staff. This is one of the best hostels i ever stayed after backpacking to many places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

St. Moritz overall is extremely expensive, so we were thrilled to find this option rather than spending two or three times as much for a standard hotel room. We booked a 4-bed room for our family of 3 and also ate dinner and breakfast at the hostel. The hostel is very modern and clean and the meals are an enormous buffet so you definitely won't go hungry. As others have commented, the food is fairly institutional and one of the kitchen staff also chastised us for taking vegetarian food "without telling the desk that we were vegetarians." But the people at the desk are very friendly, multilingual and energetic and can get you whatever you need (towels, shampoo, etc). Definitely the best option if you're in St. Moritz and don't have an unlimited budget!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The room are well layed out. In the 4-bed-rooms, there is a basin.
The toilets and shower are quite old. There is nothing to put the stuff in the bathroom (and if anybody has already had its shower, there is a lot of water on the floor....).
The modern part of the hostel is the lounge: big and comfortable sofas.
The drinks are expensive: 5 CHF for 1.5L of water !
The location is not very central.
The breakfast is various.
It's the first hostel where the staff required my id-number

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Segorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We're family with 2 kids and stayed for 2 nights here. From train station, we can walk on the side of the beautiful St Moritz lake. We stayed in a room with 5 beds, sharing shower and toilette. My kids were very happy to stay there, because there is trampolin in the garden and big TV flat to watch the football match in the common room. The breakfast was good, and the dinner was delicious. The only one negative is the carpet in the room. It was old and smelly, it makes me hatchi-hatchi.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennyreinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Compared to the Hi-hostel back in Geneve, I would say this is little bit more expensive than the Geneve Hi-hostel. However, we got a very good breakfast (ps: it was very good to me for a hostel standard), pretty good dinner, a very good room and a great social lounge area. Seriously, I never thought this is even a hostel~!! I think it's even better than a lodge or even a budget hotel~

For the room, we booked a private 4-dorm with shared bathroom, however they upgraded us to a private 4-dorm with private room. Upon enter the room, there was an area with clothes hanger (like half of the cupboard) with some racks for us to place towels or so. Followed by a separated toilet and shower (pretty spacious as well) and the basin was just next to the clothes-hanger area. There was 2 single beds and a bund-bed which were very comfortable as well. I think maybe because this is a pretty-new building therefore everything seems so "new" like just purchased. From the moment we entered the room, only "IKEA" came across our mind, it was so IKEA-style and makes us so comfortable with the spacious room~~! Even the hallway itself seems like a budget hotel too, you'll definitely not think this is a hostel at all~!

The dinner (which included with the room) was pretty good too. It comes with a pretty good selection of salad bar, 2 types of soup, a main and a side (or two, well I can't remember), and a dessert. I can't remember if bread was served or not, but drinks are basically chargeable except for water.

The breakfast was superb to me. It has bout 4 types of cold meat, 3-4 types of cheese, different types of jam/honey/nutella, 4-6 types of cereal, 4 types of yoghurt and 2 types of oat congee, 2-3 types of bread, few types of fruits and 1-2 types of juice (well I can't remember)..... You may think why am I so focus on the food, but yet, again as I keep mentioned "THIS IS A HOSTEL"~! The Hi-hostel back in Geneva was just served with 1-2types of bread, 2 types of jam, 2 types of cereal and 1 type of yogurt, that's it~! You will definitely won't expected to have good selection (ps: well, at least you got 4 choices) of cold meat, cheese or even cereal~!

As for it social lounge area, it comes with lots of very comfortable couch or seating area. The whole building was more like an graduate-program university hostel rather than a social-hostel.....

Trust me, you will definitely not regret to book this hostel~~!! As for St.Mortiz, even though it is pretty small, but this is a very lovely town. The only thing that makes this hostel not so convenient is the transportation, you gotta take a bus from the main train station. However, the bus stopped in front of the hostel itself (ps: not sure for other time, but yes for summer time). It just located next to a hill area which is a very good place for sports and cycling.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvenracquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews