We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Option for St. Moritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Moritz Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Budget Option for St. Moritz”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

I booked the hostel mainly for the inclusion of the ski pass for the local area. You also get a good breakfast included where you can eat as little or as much as you like. Dinner is extra if not booked in advance, it was good overall but you get want you pay for given the price of it compared to eating out in St.Moritz. They sell snacks and drinks at the reception. The staff were good and so were the rooms which were cleaned daily and had a locker for each guess. Showers were good and clean. There is a big lounge area with fire which was good for relaxing in evenings. If your used to hostels with lots of backpackers and young travellers then this is far from that. During my stay there were many mature couples and familes so don't expect your typical hostel atmosphere. Overall I had a good stay but I would consider another area like Potressina or Celerina for my next stay as both have hostels in the hope of a younger, fun crowd.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    54
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
22
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Great hostel, impeccably clean and maintained, great facilities incl. parking, coin operated laundry, ski room and even ski waxing room and very family friendly, super location.

The whole things however is ruined by the lack of facilities to make your own food. This becomes an issue considering that the hostel serves expensive German inspired fast food of very low quality (tried twice).

The management does not want people bringing their own food to sit in the common dinning room. Made us and others we talked to feel like we were being pressed to buy their junk, and this does not fit with their efforts to be ecological or fair trade.

Buy your own food at he local Coop. everything else is expensive and the quality generally poor, and makes no sense when you Coop is stocked with excellent quality food.

The hostel has a bar which is probably good for a drink and socializing after a hard day, but I think we were there during a dead period so there was no social life.

Beautiful nature all around you for all fitness levels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

It was quite a distance from the town centre. During peak period, the bus 3/9 goes all the way to the youth hostel entrance. You can find the bus station just next to the train station. there is a panel that tells you what time the bus is coming. If you use a swiss /flexi pass on the train for that day, you can use it on the buses.The hostel is right at the end of a road near the forest. This makes the place a very nice, peaceful and quiet place to stay in. The place is more like catering to swiss famillies' weekend getaways. There do not seem to have a lot of backpackers staying there like me.

I stayed in a 4 female room all to myself for 3 nights.In the room. There are individual wardrobe plus lockers to use. it uses a 2francs coin to lock and it is refundable. Rooms, toilets and public areas are really clean. Breakfast and dinner included. There have good varieties. Please keep your own plates after meals. Bicycle rental available.

If you stay 2 nights and more, you are given a free unlimited engadin st moritz cable ride card to use. You have to put a refundable deposit for this card. At the cable car station, you do not need to purchase tickets. Just go straight to the gantry and Scan the card on the yellow portion at the cable car gantry entrance for every segment.

For free wifi, you need to get a code on the notice board to login, then you just need to enter your mobile number with your country code to get a verification code that will be sent to this mobile number. use this second code to login the website and you are good to go (for my country, any incoming sms is free, outgoing is chargeable, not sure about your country but check the roaming policy before you leave your country).

If you explore a little, you can find a shortcut through the apartments and walk to st moritz lake in just 5mins. you can save a lot of walkings up or down the slope instead of passing through hotel sonne to walk to the town centre which is the long way. Very friendly and helpful staff. This is one of the best hostels i ever stayed after backpacking to many places.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

St. Moritz overall is extremely expensive, so we were thrilled to find this option rather than spending two or three times as much for a standard hotel room. We booked a 4-bed room for our family of 3 and also ate dinner and breakfast at the hostel. The hostel is very modern and clean and the meals are an enormous buffet so you definitely won't go hungry. As others have commented, the food is fairly institutional and one of the kitchen staff also chastised us for taking vegetarian food "without telling the desk that we were vegetarians." But the people at the desk are very friendly, multilingual and energetic and can get you whatever you need (towels, shampoo, etc). Definitely the best option if you're in St. Moritz and don't have an unlimited budget!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The room are well layed out. In the 4-bed-rooms, there is a basin.
The toilets and shower are quite old. There is nothing to put the stuff in the bathroom (and if anybody has already had its shower, there is a lot of water on the floor....).
The modern part of the hostel is the lounge: big and comfortable sofas.
The drinks are expensive: 5 CHF for 1.5L of water !
The location is not very central.
The breakfast is various.
It's the first hostel where the staff required my id-number

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Segorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We're family with 2 kids and stayed for 2 nights here. From train station, we can walk on the side of the beautiful St Moritz lake. We stayed in a room with 5 beds, sharing shower and toilette. My kids were very happy to stay there, because there is trampolin in the garden and big TV flat to watch the football match in the common room. The breakfast was good, and the dinner was delicious. The only one negative is the carpet in the room. It was old and smelly, it makes me hatchi-hatchi.....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennyreinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Compared to the Hi-hostel back in Geneve, I would say this is little bit more expensive than the Geneve Hi-hostel. However, we got a very good breakfast (ps: it was very good to me for a hostel standard), pretty good dinner, a very good room and a great social lounge area. Seriously, I never thought this is even a hostel~!! I think it's even better than a lodge or even a budget hotel~

For the room, we booked a private 4-dorm with shared bathroom, however they upgraded us to a private 4-dorm with private room. Upon enter the room, there was an area with clothes hanger (like half of the cupboard) with some racks for us to place towels or so. Followed by a separated toilet and shower (pretty spacious as well) and the basin was just next to the clothes-hanger area. There was 2 single beds and a bund-bed which were very comfortable as well. I think maybe because this is a pretty-new building therefore everything seems so "new" like just purchased. From the moment we entered the room, only "IKEA" came across our mind, it was so IKEA-style and makes us so comfortable with the spacious room~~! Even the hallway itself seems like a budget hotel too, you'll definitely not think this is a hostel at all~!

The dinner (which included with the room) was pretty good too. It comes with a pretty good selection of salad bar, 2 types of soup, a main and a side (or two, well I can't remember), and a dessert. I can't remember if bread was served or not, but drinks are basically chargeable except for water.

The breakfast was superb to me. It has bout 4 types of cold meat, 3-4 types of cheese, different types of jam/honey/nutella, 4-6 types of cereal, 4 types of yoghurt and 2 types of oat congee, 2-3 types of bread, few types of fruits and 1-2 types of juice (well I can't remember)..... You may think why am I so focus on the food, but yet, again as I keep mentioned "THIS IS A HOSTEL"~! The Hi-hostel back in Geneva was just served with 1-2types of bread, 2 types of jam, 2 types of cereal and 1 type of yogurt, that's it~! You will definitely won't expected to have good selection (ps: well, at least you got 4 choices) of cold meat, cheese or even cereal~!

As for it social lounge area, it comes with lots of very comfortable couch or seating area. The whole building was more like an graduate-program university hostel rather than a social-hostel.....

Trust me, you will definitely not regret to book this hostel~~!! As for St.Mortiz, even though it is pretty small, but this is a very lovely town. The only thing that makes this hostel not so convenient is the transportation, you gotta take a bus from the main train station. However, the bus stopped in front of the hostel itself (ps: not sure for other time, but yes for summer time). It just located next to a hill area which is a very good place for sports and cycling.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvenracquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stille
Hotel Stille
#32 of 33 in St. Moritz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Youth Hostel

Property: St. Moritz Youth Hostel
Address: Via Surpunt 60 | 7500 St. Moritz-Bad, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Moritz Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top modern youth hostel with a dazzling location: a holiday paradise for summer and winter. Breathtaking panoramas, a valley of seemingly endless vistas, fascinating contrasts and unique skies. St. Moritz is a world-famous, glamorous centre of attraction amidst the ancient, harsh natural environment of Upper Engadine. And at its centre the Youth Hostel. The building, positioned on the edge of the forest in St. Moritz, has an open and uncomplicated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Moritz Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge St. Moritz Bad Hotel St. Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing