We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place”
Review of Hotel Stille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stille
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We rented two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The price was quite reasonable for St. Moritz. The rooms were nice with a view of the mountains. Jorg and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful. Jorg came and picked us up at the train station and also dropped us back on the day we left. We had some doubts after reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor but our experience with the hotel and its staff has been very good. We had a happy and comfortable stay. Value for money is quite good and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

"Hotel Stille" in St Moritz Bad suggests - perhaps - a charming hotel surrounded by woods on teh lake. The reality is a concrete block overlooking a builders yard. It started badly when we arrived as three minutes from the station by taxi cost 25sfr! Bus was 3sfr! There was no one at reception and the contact number simply rang and rang. Off-putting notices "we will not give you keys after 930pm" "do not take food from the breakfast" set the tone. When we did get checked in we stayed in an appartment which was - admittedly - spotless if 60's! Breakfast was OK. St Moritz is - of course - fabulouly expensive and this just shows what happens if you do not read tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

What you get are 2 twin size beds, lamps, a table and a closet in a room. TV is in a common area. They don't provide any soap/shampoo. They claim to have a laundromat, but it is very small. There is no dryer and no place to dry your clothes. They don't change the linen on a daily basis. Linen and Breakfast sucks. The hotel is far from the station as well(25Euros). They charge you for credit card use. Bathroom latch was broken. Room was very musty. There is no elevator either.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PnqHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you can stay in a dorm style room on vacation,
this is for you. There are 2 twin beds and a lamp
on a desk. That's it! Very depressing place.
Old bathrooms, no toiletries, soap, glasses, nada!!
Breakfast was sparce, with a couple of hard-boiled
eggs, and when they were gone, TOO BAD. We were
not happy here at all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nan95gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Pros:
* Very friendly, considerate reception staff
* Room rate was very affordable for St Moritz, and included simple breakfast
* Within fairly short walking distance to the lake and trails

Cons:
* Room felt like a summer camp dorm, very musty and terribly dated decor (i.e. drapes were from the 70's, linoleum floors/counters, no top sheet only a comforter)
* Bed sheet had a blood stain on it
* Balcony-type door opened onto a view of the industrial yard below
* No phone and only stairs, no elevator (this was no problem for us, but may be for others)
* No private bathroom, shared bathroom with the room next door
* Only one towel provided, no washcloth or hand towel

*** An alternative budget option to Hotel Stille may be the hostel next door. We visited it briefly and it seemed like it had a lot of perks, though we did not look at the rooms.
*** We found the surroundings and accommodations in the Interlaken area to be superior AND much more affordable than St. Moritz.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonestar_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

---nice place to relax
---stayed in a one bedroom appartment with the view of the ski slopes
--loccated in a residential area,safe
---no supermarkets in the locality..need to take a bus..
---hiking routes are there close by
---suitable for those on a budget trip

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

In a town full of little else but high-priced hotel rooms, Hotel Stille was very reasonably-priced and run by a very helpful friendly staff.
It's a bare-bones ski lodging, in the less fancy St. Moritz Bad (vs Dorf) part of town, but only a pleasent 15min walk to the center of the action in the Dorf. At the height of winter, this can include a shortened walk across the frozen lake, which is certainly a thrill whether approaching the shimmering town lights at night or under the big sunny sky by day. Oh, and wild deer stroll the forest edge a few meters outside our window!
Our narrow double room included 2 single beds end-to-end, plus small table and 2 chairs, with a bathroom shared with the neighboring room, including a shared shower that resembled a youth hostel shower. Included breakfast was basic, but standard for Switzerland. (granola, yogurt, fruit, cold cuts, bread)
I mistakenly booked the wrong dates, but the friendly man at Reception found us a place, even during a busy winter weekend! Very appreciated!
Most important is the low price for a hotel within walking distance (or one can use the bus) of everything in St. Moritz.
Restaurant Sonne, just down the road, has GREAT pizza in a casual atmosphere and casual prices!
150chf/night - double room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#27 of 33 in St. Moritz
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stille

Address: Surpunt, Via 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: £86 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Stille 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stille Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing