We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stille
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our experience started with arriving late in St Moritz on train. An email from the hotel said call us when you arrive about a pickup - when we called the response was sorry we are too busy - get the bus. Next bus was 35 minutes, it was snowing and very cold so we took a taxi (20 Euro).
Reception was very rude at check-in, and then we found our studio unit was down the other end of the road, another 15 minutes walking and dragging heavy luggage through the snow in the dark, trying to read a vague map in the dark to find the building (Hotel reception refused to take us to the room).
At the least the room was clean, and the restaurant at Hotel Sonne was across the road (good service there).
The advertised WIFI was not available either.
With facing walking up the road and back for breakfast each morning we skipped this, so cannot comment on the quality.
What we did find on our last morning trying to check out at 7:45am before catching our train, was that that the hotel door at reception was locked, and we had no way to get in to hand back the key or make payment (let alone have breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is nice if you get the chance to stay in one of the new apartment. The only negative point is the sofa bed if you are sleeping in the living room as the mastress is really hard.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julien_hess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Unlike the hotel, there is an elevator provided for the apartment of Hotel Stille.

We were pleased that we got our studio room upgraded to one-bedroom apartment. It is very new, fully equipped and nicely decorated. As it is located near the end of the road, it is quiet.

Furthermore, it is close to the hiking paths and not far from the lake. It is around 10 minutes away from the supermarket on foot. The closest restaurant is at Hotel Sonne which is within walking distance. Although the hotel is not in the city centre, it can easily be accessible by bus. The travelling time is about 15 minutes.

Its breakfast is basic and nice. There is a nice lady preparing the food. Both Thomas and Andrew are very friendly and informative.

The only imperfection is that we could smell the odor of paint like substance in the corridor of the apartment. It probably came from the publishing company on the ground floor. As we only stayed there for a few days, there shouldn't be much harm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We rented two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The price was quite reasonable for St. Moritz. The rooms were nice with a view of the mountains. Jorg and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful. Jorg came and picked us up at the train station and also dropped us back on the day we left. We had some doubts after reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor but our experience with the hotel and its staff has been very good. We had a happy and comfortable stay. Value for money is quite good and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

"Hotel Stille" in St Moritz Bad suggests - perhaps - a charming hotel surrounded by woods on teh lake. The reality is a concrete block overlooking a builders yard. It started badly when we arrived as three minutes from the station by taxi cost 25sfr! Bus was 3sfr! There was no one at reception and the contact number simply rang and rang. Off-putting notices "we will not give you keys after 930pm" "do not take food from the breakfast" set the tone. When we did get checked in we stayed in an appartment which was - admittedly - spotless if 60's! Breakfast was OK. St Moritz is - of course - fabulouly expensive and this just shows what happens if you do not read tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

What you get are 2 twin size beds, lamps, a table and a closet in a room. TV is in a common area. They don't provide any soap/shampoo. They claim to have a laundromat, but it is very small. There is no dryer and no place to dry your clothes. They don't change the linen on a daily basis. Linen and Breakfast sucks. The hotel is far from the station as well(25Euros). They charge you for credit card use. Bathroom latch was broken. Room was very musty. There is no elevator either.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnqHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Moritz hotels

Irvine, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you can stay in a dorm style room on vacation,
this is for you. There are 2 twin beds and a lamp
on a desk. That's it! Very depressing place.
Old bathrooms, no toiletries, soap, glasses, nada!!
Breakfast was sparce, with a couple of hard-boiled
eggs, and when they were gone, TOO BAD. We were
not happy here at all.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nan95gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#28 of 33 in St. Moritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reine Victoria
Hotel Reine Victoria
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#26 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#22 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stille

Property: Hotel Stille
Address: Surpunt, Via 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Stille 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stille Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing