We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arte
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'll start with " a 2 star hotel with 4 star prices" BUT this was St Moritz in high season. Lovely little hotel, great staff, great pizza restaurant, funky rooms, immaculately clean and a great location.
No parking on site and rooms a little small for a long stay but that's nit picking. Stayed with a group of friends and we all thought it was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
59
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We never stayed at the hotel but did stop for a fine evening. We were pleased with the nice surroundings and kind server. The meal was simple- Mozzarella d' Buffala and tomatoes (Caprese) and a Gorgonzola pizza. They were very tasty and with a nice Chianti, a pleasure to enjoy.

Only one little thing- the d' Buffala part is 6CHF additional on top of the regular Mozzarella Caprese price.

Room Tip: Access to the dining room is easy from the rear up the stairs on the right- turn to the left at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent one night in end of September, a very nice and elegant hotel despite it need some time to locate the hotel! The hotel manager Susie is extremely helpful and provide many useful information for planning day trip in St Moritz. The breakfast included is exceptional good, the variety and taste is out of my expectation.The restaurant at the ground floor provide good pizza with a reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMel613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Although the hotel is quite a hike uphill from the train station, it's in a great location if you are spending time in St. Moritz. It is close to all the high end shops and many restaurants. The rooms are on teh small side but they have all the conveniences and are well designed so there is plenty of closet/storage space and still room to sit and watchTV or write a note home. Free Wi-Fi, nice bathrooms with real hairdryer and plenty of BIG towels. The shower was a "car wash" style with multi shower heads but not a lot of room.

Each room is decorated in a theme, ours was Venice, and so all the art and wall hangings were scenes of Venice. The hotel is very compact and includes a pizza restaurant (which was closed during our 1 night stay) that also serves as teh breakfast room. Breakfast was modest - fruits and yogurts, breads, boiled eggs, coffee etc.

The staff was very friendly and the Susan the manager is a lovely young lady who greeted us upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed before she left for the evening. The hotel is in a quiet area so you don't have to worry about street noise and it's in the middle of the town so there are no great views to dictate which room you might want.

The hotel was very convenient for our 1 night stay, however, given it's smaller size, it might not be as comfortable for a week stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Arte one Sunday night toward the end of September after taking the Bernina Express from Torino to St Moritz. The hotel is a bit of a distance up hill from the train station and we were advised by Tourist Information (at the station) to take the #3 bus which dropped us off at the main plaza; it was still about a 3 block walk uphill to the hotel--it is up near the Prada store. (Note: the bus driver did not charge us; said the price was included in our train ticket.) It is definitely worth staying at this hotel: the price was right, Susan, the manager, warmly greeted us and not only showed us to our room but showed us how everything in it worked, including how the Venice skyline on the wall lights up. Bathrooms are new with plenty of towels and all necessary supplies; there was a tub and shower. There is plenty of storage in the room, free wi-fi for all of our devices and a lift. At night there is a restaurant (pizza, pasta and more) on the ground floor and we recommend that too. I would definitely go back although we are finding that all of Switzerland is very pricey so maybe we won’t go back for awhile!

Note: It was a little hard charging our electronics because the European plug extender would not fit in the electrical plug by the bed due to the mattress being in the way. There was only one other plug under a curtain; that worked but if we had to charge two things, it would have been hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Two things that bring the rating down:
1. Location - it required quite a hike from the train station to get to the hotel (and it was very tough for us because we had heavy luggage). Could have taken a bus to get closer to the hotel, but we didn't know.
2. Price - but this is St. Moritz after all, so given the venue, it is quite reasonable.

Otherwise, the room was comfortable and clean. Thick plush carpets, nice firm beds, and those "multi shower heads" shower. We stayed in the "Australia room" which was nicely done.

Susan, the staff that greeted us, couldn't have been more helpful. Upon knowing that we were on an early train ride to Tirano (and hence can't have breakfast), she packed us some cheese sandwiches, yoghurt, fruits, muesli bar and orange juice.

We stayed in St. Moritz after a day long ride on the Glacier Express. Maybe it is the season, but to us the town was "dead". Having taken a few train rides, we also found the Glacier Express underwhelming - the Bernina Express we took after was much better.

Tips to get to the hotel (wish we had known this before we hiked up with our heavy luggage):
- Bus #3 gets you to the square in front of the town hall. From there it is a walk uphill towards the hotel (perhaps 250m)
- If you want to walk there, do this - upon exiting the train station, walk left towards a ramp that leads into a multi level carpark. From the carpark, you can take escalator/lift up the hill (wish we had known this). Once you're up on upper level, you can take another lift (a bit hidden) across the road, but it still requires some steep uphill walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Myself,my husband and my father stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in August and we would highly recommend this hotel. It is modern and comfortable and in a good central location in St Moritz. All the staff were very helpful especially Susan the manageress who went out of her way to ensure we had everything that we needed during our stay and was most helpful with organising activities that we wanted to do. The breakfast every morning was always a good selection and we ate in the pizzeria several times during our stay and can highly recommend it also, some of the most delicious pizza and pasta dishes we have ever tasted. I would not hesitate to stay here again, it was fab!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Property: Hotel Arte
Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Moritz, the enigmatic address in the magnificent mountains of the Upper Engadine, stands for cosmopolitan diversity. This is the standard that we have also taken up at our Hotel Arte. Each of the nine rooms has its own history. The rooms individual interiors represent a country or a part of the world. Take a little trip around the world - one click on a picture on the left picture rail will take you directly into a room of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing