We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in expensive Switzerland”
Review of Hotel Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arte
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value in expensive Switzerland”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A lovely small hotel with great service. We only had one night, but Suzie made us feel like valued guests. We wanted to try authentic Swiss fondue and she recommended a lovely little restaurant within walking distance. Our room was comfortably appointed even though a bit small. Breakfast was varied and delicious. Susie even stored our luggage overnight while we took the Bernina Express train to Italy. This hotel was a good value when compared to the other accommodations in St Moritz.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
59
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel did not disappoint. We were very well accommodated. Suzie was great. Her staff was great. We had to leave by 8am and breakfast does not start until 8am. Suzie changed the breakfast to start at 7:30 to accommodate us. SUPERB! She made sure we traveled with a full stomach. The recommendation about the food in the hotel restaurant is very true. We did not go anywhere else to have dinner, but at the hotel restaurant. Pizza and salad was Delicious, and of course, with a bottle of wine. We even chatted with next table, they are form Argentina. It feels so comfortable staying at this hotel.

PS: Not a negative, but, our TV was not working and we were staying in the Australian Room. We did not mind, this gave us a chance to read and have a quiet relaxing evening.

PSS: Towels: we place our used (face and medium sized) towels on the sink, instead of on the floor to indicate it was used. When we returned in the evening, the same towels was placed on the rack. We still have the two bath towels so we did not asked for replacement. Are the towels not meant to be replaced?

I totally recommend this hotel, but I just to make sure the towel problem we had does not happen to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peace733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our room was very nice and comfortable, but it was (as is the norm in Europe) VERY small. The person who checked us in, came to the room with us and showed us every little detail - not neceassry if you have ever stayed in a hotel before. WE felt a little 'hovered over'. The pizzeria downstairs was nice for our dinner and the breakfast the next morning was great. They even suggested that we take things with us for our train ride that day - wonderful! It was expensive but this was St. Moritz during the Christmas season. The town was decorated beautifully for the holidays. We only stayed one night but it was fun.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'll start with " a 2 star hotel with 4 star prices" BUT this was St Moritz in high season. Lovely little hotel, great staff, great pizza restaurant, funky rooms, immaculately clean and a great location.
No parking on site and rooms a little small for a long stay but that's nit picking. Stayed with a group of friends and we all thought it was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We never stayed at the hotel but did stop for a fine evening. We were pleased with the nice surroundings and kind server. The meal was simple- Mozzarella d' Buffala and tomatoes (Caprese) and a Gorgonzola pizza. They were very tasty and with a nice Chianti, a pleasure to enjoy.

Only one little thing- the d' Buffala part is 6CHF additional on top of the regular Mozzarella Caprese price.

Room Tip: Access to the dining room is easy from the rear up the stairs on the right- turn to the left at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent one night in end of September, a very nice and elegant hotel despite it need some time to locate the hotel! The hotel manager Susie is extremely helpful and provide many useful information for planning day trip in St Moritz. The breakfast included is exceptional good, the variety and taste is out of my expectation.The restaurant at the ground floor provide good pizza with a reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMel613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Although the hotel is quite a hike uphill from the train station, it's in a great location if you are spending time in St. Moritz. It is close to all the high end shops and many restaurants. The rooms are on teh small side but they have all the conveniences and are well designed so there is plenty of closet/storage space and still room to sit and watchTV or write a note home. Free Wi-Fi, nice bathrooms with real hairdryer and plenty of BIG towels. The shower was a "car wash" style with multi shower heads but not a lot of room.

Each room is decorated in a theme, ours was Venice, and so all the art and wall hangings were scenes of Venice. The hotel is very compact and includes a pizza restaurant (which was closed during our 1 night stay) that also serves as teh breakfast room. Breakfast was modest - fruits and yogurts, breads, boiled eggs, coffee etc.

The staff was very friendly and the Susan the manager is a lovely young lady who greeted us upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed before she left for the evening. The hotel is in a quiet area so you don't have to worry about street noise and it's in the middle of the town so there are no great views to dictate which room you might want.

The hotel was very convenient for our 1 night stay, however, given it's smaller size, it might not be as comfortable for a week stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Property: Hotel Arte
Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Moritz, the enigmatic address in the magnificent mountains of the Upper Engadine, stands for cosmopolitan diversity. This is the standard that we have also taken up at our Hotel Arte. Each of the nine rooms has its own history. The rooms individual interiors represent a country or a part of the world. Take a little trip around the world - one click on a picture on the left picture rail will take you directly into a room of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing