We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but comfortable”
Review of Chesa Spuondas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesa Spuondas
Ranked #1 of 8 St. Moritz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Converted 1920s villa, so has all the grandeur of a small palace but none of the expected finesse of an expensive hotel.
No soap in bathroom, only liquid soap dispensers.
No TV so wasn't able to watch the winter Olympics.
Wonderful duvets saved it for us.
Located on hillside overlooking the town, about 4km out. Great views, although we were there is really heavy wind and snow, so couldn't see much due to white out, but I imagine the view to be gorgeous.
Staff most helpful, friendly and efficient.
For the same price, we could have booked into a hotel in the town, with full hotel facilities.
Not our best, but adequate for an overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been staying at Spuondas for 10 years now and it is better than ever under Patrick and his staff. Fantastic food service and comfort. Very well placed close to the Suvretta. Can't wit to be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

stayed here one night and was put in the former 'servants' quarters downstairs which resembled a dormitory. not happy that Bathroom was across the hallway as no mention of this when booking. Horrible musty smell in upstairs dining room and lounge. On the plus side the food was excellent and breakfasts brilliant.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have stayed at Chesa often, I think that this was our 5th visit. It has a new manager called Patrick who is fantastic. Good value, fabulous location and really good family experience. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had no reservation. Our journey from Lauterbrunnen had wound over several (beautiful) Alpine passes and the wonderful Vorderrhein valley. We had to find somewhere to flop. St Moritz was going to be expensive but fatigue outranked budget. Rather than beat ourselves up by trying to find a bed in the main town we headed for Champfer, an adjacent village.
A small sign pointed down an lane off the main road - it might have said 'gasthof' but we stumbled on a gem.
The Chesa Spuondas was built as a private house in the twenties and converted into a small hotel in the sixties. It had a touch of Hansel and Gretel about it, even a smidgeon of Hogwarts. 220CHF for a superior room seemed pricey even by Swiss standards especially as the exclusive bathroom was across the hall and who carries bathrobes on a touring holiday?

The experience was the room and the view. Out balcony faced west over the water of Lej Champfer (the local language is Romansch) and the mountains beyond. It was sensational. The room, practically untouched since the place was built, was redolent of old Swiss aristocracy with a valuable Persian carpet too large and bulky to fold up into a suitcase. Curses!
The vintage sleigh on the landing conjured up a whiff of ponies in winter and fur-wrapped children. Everything creaked.
We slept like babes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was a unique and beautiful, wonderful, experience for me and my family. We only stayed one night......which was not enough. The staff, the walks, the scenery, the beautiful Villa--it was all memorable. There was a bus to St. Moritz dorf, which you really need to check times on. I regretted going and missing out on time I could have spent at this property. Slept wonderfully on the very comfortable beds and pillows. I didn't need the 4 Star St. Moritz experience or even long for it when I got here. I know this still seems expensive, but compared to what is around, it really wasn't. Breakfast was good/typical. The staff did everything they could to help us. Book this place and enjoy it.

Room Tip: There is an "old" part of house and a newer part. I stayed in the newer part and other fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I am giving a poor rating because the last day our hot shower failed to work. I went down to inform this to the lady at the reception Ms. Christine and she said will look into it. Even after half an hour the hot shower was not working. I had to go down again in my night dress to ask and she tells me the heater is in repair and they have called a mechanic. I wish she had been a little proactive in letting us know herself. But she did tell me she will give me a rebate on the rooms. But when we checked out a couple of hours later there was no rebate because the shower had started working by then and we had to rush to get ourselves showered and end up loosing our train on time as well! I was really disappointed that day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Kandravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
482 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#22 of 33 in St. Moritz
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesa Spuondas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesa Spuondas

Address: Via Somplaz 47, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Moritz
Price Range: £141 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesa Spuondas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chesa Spuondas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing