We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel and SPA Internazionale
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellinzona
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location right next to the train station and a short walk from the city center and castles. Very clean and nicely decorated basic hotel. We had a room under the roof, which was okay size and very bright. My only complaint is that the hotel only provided soap and no shampoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMK8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    159
    39
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
108
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed 1 night on our way back from Italy. This hotel is almost opposite the railway station and a short walk from the centre of the old town, and the C13 Castelgrande which is accessed from the main street. Parking is a short walk to the left of the station. We looked at a 2 * hotel first and, although slightly more than our usual budget, this one was far superior for another 30 Euros. We had a choice of 2 rooms and chose the one on the 4th floor with the angled roof, velux window with electronic blind and small round window at knee height! The room and ensuite are modern and well appointed though minimally furnished. The only criticism I had of the en suite was that the hair dryer had no nozzle. The toilet doubled as a bidet. There is air conditioning but the controls are not the usual kind and could be missed but the unit is plain to see above the doorway. There is a restaurant with outdoor seating, a good vantage point for people watching. It was a Saturday evening, the station was busy but not noisy and the town was buzzing with life. We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant and also breakfast the following morning. We paid 230.91 Euros for dinner and B&B; fairly expensive but this is Switzerland. The receptionists and waitresses were friendly and helpful. On Sunday morning the town was very quiet with barely a cafe open, surprising.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable and nice. The interior is very modern and our room had a really nice bathroom/shower, a small desk and a comfortable bed. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a fairly low/angled ceiling with a skylight and the only window was a small round window near the floor that you couldn't really see out of, so not much of a view. Both the skylight and window could be opened and the skylight had a cool electronic shade on it, so that was pretty nice.

We only spent one night here and didn't spend too much time in our room other than to sleep, so I wasn't too concerned about the lack of view. The hotel is right across the street from the train station, and right next to a movie theater, so it was a little noisy on the street at night. I live in a city so this wasn't an issue for me, but others may want to request a room on the backside of the hotel that might be a little quieter.

Bellinzona was fun for a day, and this hotel is ideally located close to the train station and easy walking to the castles.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have low/angled ceilings. Rooms facing the street and train station may be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msu2001la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A modern-designed hotel located across the train station with clean, comfortable and equpied with all the necessary rooms. The staff really friendly can inform you for everything- about the monuments or the best restaurants and bars- . The breakfast is good. In general, it is an expensive hotel, as the most hotels in Bellinzona but with very good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

In comparison to other hotels in Switzerland of the same quality this hotel is too expensive. The breakfest buffet was mediocre for this price, and when one came too late one found only the left overs. If on likes to sleep with the window open, this not the place to visit. The plus points are that the personal are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean and decorated in modern taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internazionale_e_Spa, Direttore at Hotel and SPA Internazionale, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took to share your experience with other people.

We are happy you appreciated the quality of service, the staff at the reception and the housekeeping department. For us it is very important that the client feels very welcome.

The Hotel is situated in front of the train station, so that during the renovation, it was decided to install soundproof windows. If someone desire to sleep with the open window, during the reservation he/she has to make a request to have a room at the back of the house. We will do our possible to assign it but we cannot guarantee it. I would like to point out that all Single Rooms are located at the train station side whereas the Superior Rooms are all at the mountain side.

As for the breakfast, it closes at 10:00am since we need to prepare the Restaurant room for lunch. The breakfast is a cold Mediterranean buffet, where you can find: 2 types of cold cuts, 2 kind of cheeses, different kinds of jams, breads, croissants, little pastries, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and juices. Unfortunately is not possible for us to serve hot dishes.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you during your next visit in Bellinzona.

Best Regards
Michele Santini, Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Directly across the street from the train station, the Hotel International is better than expected. Thanks to a recent refurbishment, the historic hotel is ultra-modern, sparkling clean, and comfortable. Check in was fun and efficient with the enthusiastic front desk staff. She gave us an overview of Bellinzona, its castles, and her pick for a pizzeria.
The sleek elevator wisked us up to the fourth floor. Our room was neat and makes efficient use of the limited space. The slanted ceiling encroached into the room but the furniture placement turned it into a positive. The bed and sheets are nice. There is ample lighting and electrical outlets. As we were only staying one night, we didn’t unpack…but there seemed to be plenty of storage if you were staying longer.
The small bathroom makes good use of the limited space. The towels are good. The shower stall has strong water pressure and the temperature remains constant.
The window in the ceiling offers a limited view but it does bring in nice crisp fresh air. We booked the cheaper room. The higher priced rooms boast of view of the castles.
There is a carafe and drinking glasses encouraging guests to drink the wonderful Ticino water. It was ice cold right out of the tap. There is a too small for my 13-inch laptop safe next to the bed, ample lighting and electrical outlets. The wifi works well and it is included.
The breakfast is average. There was a big group of soccer players who took up most of the room. Also, several locals stop in for their morning cappuccino and pastry. So it was quit bustling. Still, we had plenty and enjoyed the Italian culture contained within Swiss efficiency.
Check out was easy. Due to the proximity to the train station, we stayed comfortably in our room until our noon time train.
Bellinzona is an interesting location to absorb the delightful mix of Swiss and Italian cultures. The Hotel International is a great choice because of their delightful service and outstanding location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Internationale for a night in September 2012 and loved it. The hotel has been fully renovated to a very high standard. Rooms and common areas are modern and fresh. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast buffet is very good. The location is top - right across from the train station, but still very quiet. If Bellinzona is where you want to stay, then this is the only choice for those looking for a quality hotel. I found the price to be a bit high, but this is Switzerland, and this is the only nice hotel in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellinzona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Unione
Hotel Unione
#2 of 3 in Bellinzona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
13.7 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Tureta
Hotel La Tureta
#1 of 2 in Giubiasco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
Gamper - Albergo Ristorante-Pizzeria
13.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and SPA Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and SPA Internazionale

Property: Hotel and SPA Internazionale
Address: viale Stazione 35, Bellinzona 6500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Bellinzona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bellinzona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and SPA Internazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & SPA Internazionale is situated conveniently opposite the main railway station in Bellinzona, only a short distance from the historic city center. This unique location makes it an ideal base for business or tourist trips. There are 60 completely renovated rooms as well as 3 suites available for our guests in the building dating back to the early part of the 20th century. The rooms are comfortable and furnished in a modern style. Air-conditioning or heating, sound-proof windows, free of charge internet connection as well as a flat-screen television set and a programme range of more than 30 channels are all part of the standard offering. The structure of the building was laid out in line with the international safety standards and the latest fire prevention methods. An incomparable view to the castles or the neighbouring valleys, as well as the essential furniture, in warm colours ensures that the hotel is the ideal location for your stay, whether you are here on business, enjoying a holiday or part of a group. The reception is open round the clock 24 hours daily. The restaurant Internazionale with which we are working together, is located in the same building as the hotel. It was also completely renovated and is open 7 days per week. The Wellness-Center of Hotel Internazionale receives his guests in a world which makes every stay an unforgettable experience. Characterized by the antiques arches, the center covers an area of 250 m2 and offers a Finnish Sauna, a Turkish Bath, a hydro-massage, aromatic and chromatic sensation-showers, a comfortable relax area, a fitness equipped by Technogym machines and a room with walls covered with Himalaya salts.In the Beauty Center with two massage cabins - one of them for couples, dermatologically tested products are used offering innovative methods of treatment covering all demands in a relaxed atmosphere. The swimsuit is required in all SPA area.Smoking is not allowed in the whole building complex, pets are not allowed. Reserved parking for hotel guests is located in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel and SPA Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bellinzona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing